Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok on a budget, but don't expect a lot...

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: The location was good. There was a little cafe in the lobby. The room wasn't dirty.
Cons: Improve the internet situation, have someone who can communicate with guests, more amenities, more modern interior
Location: The Forbidden City is not too far away. The hangout district is the large alleyway right by the hotel.
Once inside, it does feel a bit like a dormitory. I liked the location and the fact that it was close to the hangout area. Unfortunately, the internet did not work. I was also surprised that no one spoke English. They cater to a lot of guests that speak English, and a lot of hotels in Beijing have English-speaking staff.
3 out of 5
by Anna

Good value for money

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed in December for 3 nights with my boyfriend. Easy checkin considering that staff doesnt speak english. All hallways stink of cigarette smoke Small room but sufficient Excellent location..steps away from famous Beijing shopping street. Metro is right around the corner which was very convenient. Cheap foods, close to attractions. Make sure you visit the pearl matket if you like to bargain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's about the location

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Room isn't amazing but the location is. Wifi is rubbish in your room but good in the lobby. I would stay there again!
3 out of 5
by Wai Keung

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Jun 8, 2015
The only good thing is the location near from the subway and a tourist pedestrian street. Their staff doesn't know English and they were very rude. The most terrible in the hotel was the beds because they were like a stone. It's more comfortable the floor than their beds. They have the hardest mattresses.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"Location, Location, Location"

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels
Right next door to the subway, and steps from a hutong. The neighborhood is funky, with little shops and places to eat. The hotel itself is clean and OK, but very Motel 6. They don't even provide drinking water in the rooms. You can do better for not much more money.
4 out of 5
by Dave from New Zealand

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
This is an unpretentious and friendly budget hotel with very adequate services. Internet is straight-forward to access and very reliable, and the small travel agency in the lobby can arrange everything from travel bookings to day tours. But mostly this is in an excellent location for night life and sightseeing, and very good access to anywhere in Beijing with the subway station outside the front door.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, walking distance to nightlife

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel was real easy to find. Location is not exactly where hotels.com map says it is. It was located right next to a subway station and that was real convienent. Rooms were nice. We barely spent any time in there, but it was an ok place to rest your head. WE had a really nice hutong close to us. Also a few blocks away was the nightlife. The hou hai area had a lot of "beer bars" as the locals scream out and food places to choose. We had agreat time and could easily walk back to our hotel. 7-11 was close by as well. While forbidden city was a little bit of a walk it was still close enough that we decided to walk to it. Overall I would recommend this place if you are only going to stay for a couple days.
2 out of 5
by Amanda from San Francisco

Bad service

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels
Location is convenience if you take the train for your site seeing. Otherwise, skip it because it is on a big street and dusty due to construction and many cars. Receptionist at the service desk has bad attitude. Bed felt like just the spring and cover (bad for back)
3 out of 5
by BigD from Canada

Great Location

Posted Nov 23, 2013 on Hotels
Located right across from a subway stop you are near everything that you would want to do in beijing. All within a few subway stops. If you are used to the conditions of most Chinese hotels (hard bed, smoking, and small spaces), this hotel will be no problem at all for you. They have hot water. They clean your room and change the towels daily. Would recommend this hotel to others if they are spending a few days in beijing