Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok on a budget, but don't expect a lot...

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: The location was good. There was a little cafe in the lobby. The room wasn't dirty.
Cons: Improve the internet situation, have someone who can communicate with guests, more amenities, more modern interior
Location: The Forbidden City is not too far away. The hangout district is the large alleyway right by the hotel.
Once inside, it does feel a bit like a dormitory. I liked the location and the fact that it was close to the hangout area. Unfortunately, the internet did not work. I was also surprised that no one spoke English. They cater to a lot of guests that speak English, and a lot of hotels in Beijing have English-speaking staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's about the location

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Room isn't amazing but the location is. Wifi is rubbish in your room but good in the lobby. I would stay there again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Jun 8, 2015
The only good thing is the location near from the subway and a tourist pedestrian street. Their staff doesn't know English and they were very rude. The most terrible in the hotel was the beds because they were like a stone. It's more comfortable the floor than their beds. They have the hardest mattresses.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel close to subway station

Posted Oct 11, 2013
We didn't pay much for this room, so we weren't expecting much. It is basically a college dorm room with it's own bathroom. The room we had was nothing like the photos show. The bedding was clean but had tears in them. The pillows were very flat. The bed is very hard (standard for Asia). Many older buildings in Beijing don't have u-bend traps in the plumbing to keep the sewer gasses from coming up the drains, so we kept the bathroom fan running with the door closed so we didn't have the smell in the room. We didn't spend much time in our room--we were out exploring, so we really just needed a place to sleep and store our stuff. One big plus: it is just across the street from a subway station, so it was very easy to get to by train from the airport with rolling suitcases.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Norman from Sydney NSW, Australia

Excellent value and location

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Pros: See above
Cons: None
Location: See above
Good location, helpful staff, excellent value for money, would stay again at this hotel, wifi works in rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jakoline from Copenhagen, Denmark

Good location, value for money, hard beds

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Hard beds and communication with staff
Location: Was very convenient, directly opposite a subway station and very central
We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights and would do so again under the same circumstances. It's a budget hotel in a very good location with a subway station across the street and a 7-11 a few doors down, along with the Houhai Lake a short walk away. Staff did not speak much English, which made communication hard, however they did help us book taxis. The beds are extremely hard, so be prepared to be aching! Other than that it was all that we needed and good value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not awful. Not great.

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Location: Convenient to a great hutong. Can walk to forbidden city but this takes a while.
The rooms are not as good as the pictures suggest. Some staff speak limited English. Bed uncomfortable (I could feel the springs pressing into my body when I lay down). Window would not close but thankfully we were saved by central heating. Room was cleaned satisfactorily. The hot water was barely hot enough to have a comfortable shower. Otherwise OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jay from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Great value

Posted Mar 28, 2013
Great for the money. Room was in good shape and big enough with lots of amenities and bathroom was fantastic. Considering the location and the price I would certainly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from USA

Excellent Value, Excellent Location

Posted Dec 6, 2012
Pros: Nice people, convenient location, simple and cheap
Cons: Noisy at times, but not too bad.
Location: The hotel is directly outside of the entrance to Nanluoguxiang, and is surrounded by fascinating hutongs. Houhai and Beihai are also a short walk.
Showing up with low expectations, I found this hotel to be perfectly acceptable for the price. The staff does not speak English that I know of (I speak Chinese), but they are very friendly and eager to make one's stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms are very simple and quaint, but things are in working order (i.e. internet has worked great for me thus far). The location is superb and you can't beat the price! I would definitely stay here again, however I would expect prices to go up after the new subway line is complete.
2 out of 5
by kinkstat from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Beijing Xinghaiqi Holiday Hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2012
I was disappointed to find out from a fellow participant in a great wall tour group that he paid much less than i did it seems that in China different hotels charge different commissions for the same tour. My hotel is a rip off. Also they had no ice to take for drinks in ones room. A hotel with no ice! Dark ages. Good location though for walk to forbidden city and T square.