Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and everything

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels
My whole family stayed at the apartment building, we really enjoyed the stay. Would definitely stay stay in the future. Highly recommended!
3 out of 5
by Russell from New Zealand

Yanshan Apartments

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Renmin University and local subway station made getting around really easy. The Holiland Bakery just around the corner is awesome
Cons: Cleanliness of room, provide guests with English room information.
Location: There is a lovely park with a Lake nearby for jogging etc. Just take the subway to the National Library station. Park opens at 6am, awesome.
A bit disappointed with the apartment in terms of cleanliness, walked around the room barefoot for about half an hour and afterwards my feet were black, not exaggerating, they were black. There was no in-room information about the hotel or apartments so difficult to know what facilities were available. Also, although there is a kettle and mugs in the room there is no complimentary tea or coffee, so make sure to get your own. The staff at the front desk were super friendly and helpful especially in terms of sorting taxis etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ronald from Singapore

Good service from staff.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Huge room size. Good staff service.
Cons: Sound proofing the bathrooms.
Location: Good location in Zhongguancun. 5 mins walk from Renmin University station Exit A2. Convenient if you are coming from Tianjin high-speed rail.
The hotel staff are friendly, reception and service desks personnel. The apartment rooms we stayed are quite old, but clean room though. Plus point is the room size is extremely huge. Be careful that the bathrooms are non sound proof, I can clearly hear my neighbours talking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dieter from Winnipeg, MB

My stay at the Yanshan

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Location, friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Cooler AC at night, though not a huge problem. Wider WiFi bandwidth.
Location: large shopping complex, by a university, many places to eat, a large superstore.
Overall, was a good experience. The location is good - near subway, university and in the Haidian district where many technology companies and institutes are located. There are many restaurants nearby as an option to the typically high priced hotel restaurant. The street in front of the hotel is one-way, so a bit of a challenge for taxis, but the rooms are quiet without the sound of traffic. Upon exit, go left down the street a bit and there's a lady who has a shop that sells fresh fruit - really handy! The AC runs well, but I wonder if it is turned down a bit at night since the room seemed a but warm. Internet is broadband to "Network 10" and worked well, and there's WiFi but disappears a bit when there's lots of guests. Overall, good value for the money. I did not stay in the apartments, which I hear are lesser quality, but in the newer building in the deluxe rooms, and a few times in the standard rooms. From Beijing Capital Airport, about 130 RMB by taxi, 1 hour at best.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pH from Edmonton, Calgary, Kamloops

Good value

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Price, big room.
Cons: Water temperature, internet speed/reliability.
Location: Close to the subway in a small commercial and residential area. Fifteen minute walk to any retail or restaurant you could want. Busses and subway away
The rate was hard to improve upon and was an excellent value, so I hesitate to be critical. However, two things caused me to remember on a daily basis that I was getting a good deal. One was the insistent, but generally unwarm water temperature. Showers were rarely hot. The second was the sound proofing. I didn't need an alarm for the mornings as the door between the room and the corridor blocked none of the sounds. In fact, I wondered if it amplified the sounds, sometimes. Staff was great, the room comfortable (chilly at night) and I'd stay again. This was my third stay there, and this time it was for a month. I had one of the apartment rooms.
2 out of 5
by Choo An

Poor design

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on HotelClub
We stayed at the apartment building,the room are ok. since we only need place to sleep and shower. the staff are friendly since I speak Mandarin.But the bath room need improve a lot. It's narow long, when you open the door ,it's the shower head then it's the hand basen. toliet is in the back. there is no room for shower curtien or screen. so when ever one of us have a shower, water is everywhere. the bathroom be come a dangers place.it's 4 star hotel,but it's not even 3 star.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by L C from Waterford, Ireland

Close to Remnin University

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels
Very friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by Shifu

The room is very outdated.

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Orbitz
It is not like a 4-star hotel. The room is very outdated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by TravelFun

Good Location for a visitor

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on HotelClub
The hotel is close to the subway and this is its main advantage. Nevertheless, besides the regular hotel rooms it has appartments, which are quite old and not as confortable.