Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by ping

Posted Jan 17, 2013 on Hotels
The value/price ratio is excellent. The rom is large and clean. Very fun area with local endless cheap eats. will definitely stay there for short trips. The facility is functional, by no means fancy.
2 out of 5
by bryan

nyehhhhhh

Posted Dec 17, 2012 on Hotels
non-smoking room was actually a smoking room. front desk seems quite lazy. english is a challenge.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good overall

Posted May 12, 2012 on Hotels
For a 3 star rating hotel, it is quite bad. the hotel very old. Morning breakfast quality is not good. location is not so good too...the neighbourhood area is not near shopping mall...front desk looks ugly and old.....overall maintenance of the hotel is poor for the price that I pay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2011 on Hotels
This hotel was simply satisfactory. The staff speaks almost no English and the neighborhood is totally Chinese. It's not in a tourist area. It's only about a 10-minute walk from the subway, but the opposite direction from where the tourist area is.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

If you know what you want.

Posted Mar 22, 2011 on Hotels
Fairly standard cheap hotel, big rooms, clean, comfortable and everything you'd expect for the price bracket. Make sure you find out where it is on the map independently of the booking websites as it's between two stations - not a big walk but if you don't speak Chinese it might be tricky to work out where it is. Nothing special, but I was expecting a very basic room and I got a very big basic and comfortable room. It could do with an upgrade in a year or so but it's a lot better than some other places. English speaking front desk was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boston

Good hotel for late night eats, night outing, and quick access to/from airport

Posted Dec 22, 2010
Main attraction (for me) for staying at Qianyuan Hotel is that it is in the middle of the only area in Beijing for late (like 1:00-4:00 am) night dining and shopping (minor items), and there are many such establishments, not just one or two, especially restaurants. There are many many restaurants almost all night with many customers staying up late. I didn't want to have to check in a hotel elsewhere and then take a taxi here, so I decided to just stay at Qianyuan and all the restaurants are practically right next door. This is particularly useful if you flight gets in after 11 pm or close to midnight and you want to get something to eat in a sit-down place after checking in. Head for this disctrict called Quijie, where this hotel is on. The other advantage is that it is in town (Beijing) but in the corner of town that is closest to the Beijing airport, right off the Airport Expressway as you get into town. So, it is only a 20+ minute taxi ride versus 30-35 minutes to other parts of town. Hotel is reasonable although it wasn't of 5-star quality. Furnishings are spartan but adequate. Small things, such as having more mirrors (please) in the room, etc., would have been nicer but I guess the mangement didn't want to work towards being a 5-star property. They even gave me free breakfast for the two nights, although it wasn't included (some sweet talking to the front desk helps too, in Chinese, in my case). Good deal overall. Location so so, however, for sightseeing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

CBD Qianyuan Hotel Dongzhimen

Posted Nov 10, 2010 on Hotels
Pretty good value for money Only glitch was housekeeping "forced open" the door on a rainy Sunday morning. Good thing I latched the door!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv, Israel

Good hotel, rooms and reception need to freshen up

Posted Oct 26, 2010 on Hotels
Location is great, 5 min from two different subway station. A lot of local restaurant just beneath. Close to raffel shopping center where you have free wireless at several coffee shops. Rooms nice but small. Maintenance below expected. Rooms are a bit noisy since the hotel is located directly at a pretty heavy traffic road. If you get a good deal go for it the main advantage is the location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2010 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, Alabama

This is a very run down hotel that is totally operated by local people

Posted Aug 18, 2010
Despite all the negatives, there are certain charms to this hotel. It is in the heart of Beijing (within Second Ring Road) and right next to the Hutongs. So immediately you are transported 300 years back in history. Despite what others travelers described as conveniently located "near" subway stations, it is a good 10 minute walk to the two closest stations. Where I needed to go daily was three trains away, so I totally gave up on the subway idea. The hotel needs a renovation badly. The drapes in the rooms were torn, the sofas were dirty, and the carpeting was dingy, but the rooms are very large. The staff in the hotel do not speak any English, and I speak very little Mandarin, so I resorted to writing in Chinese (common among different dialects) to communicate with the staff. It was frustrating, but I could tell these people are trying their best to help. Would I go back, probably not. Would I recommend it, may be to the very adventurous who want to see "old" China.