Ratings based on 819 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

AC Did not work

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Working AC
Location: Near Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven
Nice facility, however few of the staff speak any English, and none speak it well. Tour staff were not very helpful. AC did not work, I complained and they sent somebody to "fix" it. I complained again and they changed my room. No improvement.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, terrible wifi

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location is good and the buffet was quite good.
Cons: Main issue is the wifi and second issue would be training the staff to a higher level.
Location: Close to metro and the Tiananmen square and the forbidden city.
The hotel is nice but the bed is very hard. The staff were very mediocre. They would help a little but did not seem at all concerned about our issues and could not even call a taxi to pick us up. The wifi in the room may as well be non existent. It sometimes took 5-10 minutes of tying the various available connections before being able to connect at all and once connected the speed was incredibly slow and often cut out. It was difficult to check email or do basic web or map searches.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old hotel but nice location.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Old hotel and too old furniture but nice location, close to some attractions. Front desk staffs attitude is just okay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Is this really a 4 star hotel?

Posted Jun 17, 2017
Pros: Location? - But I guess many hotels are close to sub-station and very convenient to get around
Cons: Service
Location: Sight seeing
In my last trip to China, I have visited several places – Beijing, Hangzhou, Suzhou, and Shanghai. I have to say my experience in Beijing is the worst. And this in part has much to do with this hotel. I know Chinese like to decorate their hotel and make it look grand. But when it comes to service quality, this hotel cannot compare with typical 2.5 to 3 star hotel in the US. Also, during my last night stay in this hotel, two new guests in the room opposite to mine made very loud noise in the middle night and woken me up. I called the front desk and made a complain. This happened three times in the same night. The last time this happened my wife became angry and opened the door to see what is going on. She saw the people in the other room and made an angry eye contact (they left their door open – purposely to disturb other guests with door open?). Maybe this made those people felt a bit of shamed (?) and they made no more noise that evening. At check out the second morning, hotel manager said they cannot control the manner of their guests. Really? You cannot ask your guests to behavior themselves when I called the first time, and even the second time? Did you actually respond what I called you in the evening?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plano TX

Somewhat Disappointing

Posted Jun 17, 2017
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Service quality
The hotel overall is mediocre. The furniture is dated. The edges between floor and wall look really dirty. Foreign guests must be cautious of this hotel. They will give you dirty sheets and claim it’s your fault for not checking the room and bed sheet before you use the room, and over charge you for that. This happened to one of our party. We believe the bed sheet was pre-stained with what we assume to be spray tan, and given to members of our party to sleep on. Then a day before we were scheduled to check out the hotel staff “discovered” that, and accused our party for the stain. They charge the amount that is enough to buy at least three brand new sets of the cheap bed sheet. The sad thing is that they did not even replace the sheet until our party member requested a replacement.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Not my next choice in Beijin

Posted Jun 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Be kind to your guest
Location: TianAnMeng, Forbidden City
At check in, my taxi was allowed to drive inside the hotel court for unloading luggage. After check out, my taxi was not allowed to go to the same location for loading up luggage. The only difference is that, at check in, the hotel charge has not been paid. After check out, they got all the money. But should this make a difference? Do not use any service that is solicited in front of the hotel. I used one of those service to Great Wall, thought these people in front of the hotel might be more trustworthy than other people random in the street. But No No No! Once you get into the car for a short distance, the driver asked if we want to use high way or slow way. To use high way, you need to pay more .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Cons: The quality of staff at the front desk.
Fantastic spot. Huge hotel with plenty of restaurant options, very clean and spacious rooms. Downside the front staff weren't very helpful and a bit rude.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Not recommended

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Use better quality Mattress
Location: Food and sight seeing
The first night I felt chilly on my back. The second and third night I made certain that part of the quilt is under my back. I guess the mattress must be very cheap quality. I have no idea how this hotel is rated 4 star. In China people tend to make building look grand and nice on the outside. But when comes into details, sometimes / some place its inside is as good as its outside. I guess this hotel is one of those places.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Excellent location if you can walk. Close to the tourist spot. Need to walk 10 min to closest MRT. Hotel is under renovation and expanding, as such most of the facilities are shut down. Think it should be better in future. Hotel Staff are helpful and excellent, offer to borrow me a wheelchair when saw old man travel along us. Overall are excellent, Think will stay again in future if travel to Beijing again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017
The hotel front part is under construction, taxi could not stop there, a little inconvenience.