Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good!!

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: The rooms are big, comfortable, and clean. I like that it is NON-smoking.
Cons: Everything was good! If they have more restaurant options, that would be nice.
Location: There are government embassys nearby so it's peaceful and secure.
Nice hotel at city center, very comfortable & safe. The area felt very safe as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Close to 2 subway
Staff very unhelpful with problems from taxi drivers, didn't know much English and not patient with translation app. King bed was two mattresses pushed together, housekeeping comes early 9am, asked to come back latter but didn't, even asked at front desk - more communication trouble, only came once in 5 nights stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Central and near tourist attraction. Poor Internet

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Central Location
Cons: Renovation to the room as it is very old.
Location: Great location. Walking distance to Tianmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven.
The hotel is old, but is near Beijing tourist attractions, mainly naming Tianmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven. Room is old and internet is not working well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice, walking distance to major attractions

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Walking distance to Tienamem Square. If know how to take local bus, bus stop is just in front of hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Pleasant surprise

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Wifi could be better
Location: Well located. Close to subway station and easy walking distance to Tianmenn square and forbidden city
As a 1st time visitor to Beijing I was unsure what to expect. Boy was I surprised on our arrival at the Capital Hotel. The entrance was what I would expect in any western five star hotel. Having arrived early we were grateful that the friendly staff allowed us to check in early plus upgraded us to a higher quality room. On arrival at the room we were taken by its size plus also having a massive bathroom which included both a shower and a separate bath. In addition toothbrushs / razors/ combs etc were provided in a very decorative box. The room was very clean. As others have said the wifi was not particularly good unless you sat near to router. The hotel was in easy walking distance to the Forbidden City and Tianamen square plus was only 500 metres from Chongmenwen subway station. The price on Expedia was also exceptional. The foyer of the hotel also has a great display of all the nearby attractions and the best way to reach them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C.R

Perfect Location

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Only a 15 minute walk from the hotel to the Forbidden City, good breakfast
Cons: The building is a little bit old, but with excellent maintenance
Location: Forbidden City, different restaurants and shops
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Staff here are pretty nice. The location is okay. The room itself was good, clean and had everything we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Stayed for 6 nights rooms were comfortable, a very pleasing stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to Tianamen square is only good featur

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Staff are terrible Many shops / restaurants closed Staff do not speak english room service via TV is not operating the doormen do nothing there are no porters The foreign currency ATM to change money takes notez
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

CLOSE TO THE CITY FEATURES WE WANTED TO SEE

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: LOCATION, FACILITIES, ETC
Cons: I DID LIKE THE BOWLING ALLEY WHEN IT WAS THERE. THE NEW GOLF FACILITY CATRES FOR RIGHT HAND PEOPLE ONLY, I'M LEFT HANDED.
Location: LOCATION CLOSE TO THE SUBWAY SO EVERYTHING IS CLOSE
HAVE STAYED AT THIS HOTEL SEVERAL TIMES. THE HOTEL IS PLEASURABLE TO STAY, STAFF FRIENDLY AND ASSISTIVE