Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A truly dirty place of hell!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Very dirty - carpets, corridor, chairs, tables, beds, toilets etc are so broken and old to be humanely recommendable. Room sells, so does the whole hotel. It is smoke-filled filthy, though smoking is already banned in Beijing. It is not cheap and with the same sort of price, one can easily find a much better hotel. It claims to be a 4 star and even 5 - star as displayed in its reception. That is totally misleading! It is not even a 2 star hotel. In fact, it is hard to call it a hotel as it is located in a office building and even the taxi driver could not find it. The staff except the luggage staff are rude and unhelpful. It is the most low efficiency hotel, whereas in Beijing hotel staffs are usually very efficient. The hotel's restaurant is so dirty, the chairs are so dirty and broken to sit on. It does not have a menu, only laminated sheets. Such a filthy experience never again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Free upgrading to suite room
Cons: Breakfast included in the rate for convenience.
Location: Close to antique shopping, short taxi distance to Tien an gate tourist center where one can book one day tour easily.
Nice hotel, close to tourist attractions. It is reasonable rate yet the hotel provides a lot luxury and services.
3 out of 5
by Expedia Relocation

A decent hotel next to Panjiayuan Station.

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
The mattress was one of the hardest I'd slept on, the carpet was dirty and the bathroom had patches of mould. The room itself was big and the water pressure in the shower was great. The service was good and all the people at reception spoke English.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Cons: The carpets need to be cleaned or changed
Location: Bank of China
It was ok, but the carpets need changing. Other than that the facility is nice, but the carpets made it not so good. The bed was a bit hard too. I got a chance to stay in two rooms because I was moved and it was the same
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose ca

hotel ok out of the way no wireless 3.5 stars

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: was ok
Cons: wireless in rooms
Location: lack of nearby restaurants,
NO WIRELESS IN ROOMS, Despite the name this hotel IS NOT ON CHANG AN BLVD.but in the south east part of the city. Bit distant from subway, no nearby restaurants, Next to giant "antiques " mall.
4 out of 5
by Cho In from hong kong

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
Satisfied with the service, enjoy the stay here =] The hotel is a 5-10mins walk from the subway.
2 out of 5
by Richard from Los Angeles

First time in BJ

Posted Jun 7, 2015 on Hotels
ChangAn was a Grand Hotel maybe two decades ago. No worthy sites within walking distance from hotel. Wasted time in traffic jam as the hotel is far from major BJ sight seeing locations. Neighborhood is a working class, felt unsure but didn't experience any problem at all. Stayed in two rooms because of the packaged tour for three nights but we added two nights before the tour to start so we would have more time in BJ. Front desk speaks little English and not attentive. Rooms were comfortable but had issues with shower head, hot water pot air-cond. Had to change one room after they couldn't repair AC the second time. Breakfast (included with tour) was good but crowded due to InterInternational study group. Nice mix of Western and Chinese choices. But had a few dinners at some restaurants just east of the hotel. Wifi was good but must ask for a wireless router.Did not try other hotel amenities. Wouldn't recommend for first timer in BJ.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bra business hotell

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
Ligger i bra område, kan dock vara svårt att få taxi tidig morgon
3 out of 5
by Danny from seattle, us

a grand hotel had it's glory days.

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels
it is a grand looking hotel, it had it's glory days, age has caught up with it, a little renovation will help a lot. I wonder where the slippers were, they are almost a ubiquitous item in all hotels in china, after two days stay and not seeing them, it makes me wonder if it is cost saving measure or simply a negligence on the service personnel, little things tell a great deal of a hotel's operation philosophy. Good location, near the famous antique market known as panjiayuan, and the subway station is right around the corner. Good mom & pop restaurants near by with good food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oro Station, ON

Good location

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly
Location: several restaurants (didn't try them) close by and antique markets. I'm not sure how you verify the antiques but they were interesting to visit
Close to the subway and some interesting shops. Very hard beds but they provide a thick mattress pad on request which made the beds comfortable.