Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Old Beijing

Posted Oct 24, 2016
A terrific hotel in the heart of a fabulous historic section of Beijing. Feels like you've gone back in time, and the old courtyards in the hotel are a quiet respite from busy Beijing. The hotel amenities are very comfortable, though not luxurious, the hotel staff friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was fine. Best part is that it is not some big anonymous marble clad hotel that you could find anywhere, this looks and feels authentic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, United States of America

Perfect! Don't let the star rating fool you.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Nanluoguxiang hutong alley with tons of shopping & restaurants, within walking distance to Bell & Drum tower (5 mins), Lama Temple (25 mins) and even
This hotel is absolutely amazing and far superior to 2.5 star rating listed, it is more like 3.5 star. If you are looking for a traditional & charming hotel with THE BEST location in old Beijing, this hotel is for you! It is directly off of the main Nanluoguxiang hutong alley with tons of shopping & restaurants, within walking distance to Bell & Drum tower (5 mins), Lama Temple (25 mins) and even the Forbidden City is walkable (if you like walking, about 40 mins). We could not have picked a more perfect hotel for our stay in Beijing. The staff was also great! They helped us coordinate a pick-up from the train station and were responsive over e-mail greeted us outside when we arrived at 12:30am. Courtyard 7 is the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Great location and lovely yard!

Posted Jun 28, 2016
This is a traditional Beijing house. I like it very much and enjoy the time I have spent there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great location and very comfortable

Posted May 25, 2016
The location is great - right off one of the main shopping streets in the hutongs, but far enough away to be very quiet, and about 15 min walk to the subway. The hotel staff were very helpful, and our room was clean and modern, though a bit small, and opened on to a nice inner courtyard. Plus they have free bikes which are a great way to tour the hutongs and nearby areas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

ants found in the hotel room; toilet never worked

Posted May 15, 2016
This hotel enjoys good reviews among all the courtyard style hotels in Beijing. However, our stay was not pleasant. They charge four times as much as a cab costs to pick us up at the airport but did not drop us off at the front door of the hotel. We had to march among a huge crowd to get to the hotel. The first night we stayed there, we found ANTS in our bedroom. In addition, the toilet was not hooked up right. We had to adjust the flush mechanism every single time after we used it. On the last day we stayed there, it even flooded all over the bathroom floor! When we complained, the front desk indicated that we did not use the toilet properly. Really ridiculous and unacceptable. DO NOT RECOMMEND IT!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from YOrkshire UK

Traditional Chinese Hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Pros: Situated in a Hutong, like stepping back in time and staying in a very old building.
Cons: Member of staff with reasonable command of English.
Location: Narrow alleys filled with shops of all types, eating places and close to the Drum & Bell Towers.
We wanted to stay in a more traditional part of Beijing off the the tourist trail. Courtyard 7 was perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Very helpful staff. I made a mistake with e booking, and they were only too happy to help fix it on arrival. Very easy to find, just as per their instructions on the website, and great location in the hutongs. Go for a room with a window. The private car tour to the great wall was fantastic too. Great driver. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location in the Hutongs.

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: There was a lot of character and once in the courtyard it was so peaceful
Cons: Nothing, the room was tastefully decorated with all amenities and well equipped bathroom.
The hotel is charming with great character. We checked in early and everything was explained and made easy for us. Maps, services, tours if required.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful quiet courtyard in the middle of Beijing

Posted Jul 12, 2015
The beauty of this quiet courtyard hotel is apparent only once you are inside - it is off a non-auto alley or "hutong" in the older hutong neighborhood of downtown Beijing. We had the luck to be there on some rare clear-weather days in Beijing, so the sun and blue sky above the traditional tiles of the roof and the courtyard trees were just beautiful. Hard to believe you're in the middle of the city - this is steps away from the NanLuoGuXiang older shopping street (filled more with Chinese domestic tourists than international ones), and a 10 minute walk from the subway or from the historic Drum Tower. The rooms are a bit small and the beds very firm - after our second night, we mentioned this and got another, much more comfortable layer on the bed. Very nice, new bathroom, and comfortable a/c. The restaurant is excellent - eggs to order for breakfast and a very nice inexpensive lunch menu. The staff's English is varied but they were all very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for experiencing Beijing

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Highly recommend this hotel; just be aware that getting to and from the hotel can be a bit of an effort due to its Hutong location.