Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2016
first thought it was tucked away and isolated in among the Hutongs but really excellent location and our room was quite OK. Would recommend based on location and terrific staff & even good coffee
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marysville, WA

Nice Chinese courtyard near drum tower Beijing

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Smell in bathroom
Location: Drum Tower, Forbidden city, Tian men square, Yonghe lama temple
Great cultural immersion than to live couple days in hutong, I love Beijing but first just drink bottle water you will be ok. If you visit China but you come from the West no matter your ethnic background stay away from the street food as general rule, in the restaurant when the menu is Mandarin and English the foods are usually good for westerners. Beijing is safe city but like anywhere in the world watch for tourist trap example in silk market( yonganli) high pressure selling so bargain have fun be aware of electronics on 4th floor for cellphone check IMEI before you make a purchase. Forbidden city don't spent your money private tour guy the automatic tour guide system ATGS is great for 100 RMB, be aware of teahouse scam...the Chinese people are very nice and polite
3 out of 5
by Sarah from Arizona

Solid guesthouse in great Beijing location

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard View Hotel. The hotel was nice and quiet and clean, and the location was unbeatable (close to Bell and Drum Towers, right in the middle of Dongcheng North). The price seemed a bit high for what you get, though we understand that Beijing is expensive, but the quality was fine overall.
1 out of 5
by Guennadi from Toronto

Complete disaster after 13 hour flight

Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
We came to the hotel after 13 hours flight from Toronto at 6pm Beijing time and found that we dont have a reservation. The clerk for 30 min looked thru emails and told us that they have not received anything from Hotels.com (even though I booked 3 weeks in advance) and suggested to come tomorrow to resolve the issue with a manager. We had to leave and find alternative accommodation without language, etc. I have made attempts to receive money back from hotels.com, but quite unsuccessful so far. General comments: It is rated 3 stars and 4 in reviews. It is gross misrepresentation. - Surrounding: It is located in a hutong. But even for the person who used to stay in hutongs, the surrounding are disgusting. I don think a middle age Westener can tolerate them - Lobby: dirty room 2x2m, which cant be referred as front desk or lobby - Rooms: all rooms were booked, so I did not have a chance to check them
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great cozy accomodation

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
We had an excellent stay at Courtyard View. It is a cozy local accommodation in a hutong which gives great insight to how locals live. The staff were AMAZING and made the trip, answering all our questions and giving us advice. They were so laid back and spoke English which helped, he even helped book a taxi for an early morning pick up and an amazing trip to the great wall (a further drive away) where we were 2 of about 20 people on the whole wall. It is a great location with local life all around from street food to Houhai Lake for a great night out and lots of local cafes. If we are ever back in Beijing we will be staying here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Courtyard view is not a hotel. It is a home

Posted Apr 26, 2015
I made reservation through Expedia and it was hard for the taxi to go in the narrow road in Old Beijing. So I had to use a three wheel bike to move stuff to the door. Manager told me that the standard room I reserved was not available so he will put me in a delux room then move me to the standard room. I was very tired and did not have a choice to argue about it. The room had no ventilation to outside except window of bathroom and outside door. There is an AC standing unit but it is basically circulating the air. I tried to open the window above the bed but it was sealed and could not open. The next morning manager told be to pack so that he moves my stuff to the standard room. I decided to call Expedia and they were prompt to cancel my reservations for the following three days. I moved to a hotel that was cleaner and had everything missing in this one and $10 cheaper. I strongly recommend finding a modern hotel outside old Beijing. The subway station or a tour company can bring you to the old sites so there is no need to sleep in Old Beijing. This area looks like refugee camp with dense populations and public bathrooms in the street.
4 out of 5
by Christopher from Philadelphia

Easy enough to find if you do the homework.

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels
This is not a cookie cutter western style hotel room that you'll find in any city in China. This is a quaint, homely, authentic Beijing feeling stay in an awesome neighborhood. The service is not over the top, but whatever you need the Team here will get it done. Laundry? No problem and no charge. Need calls made in Chinese to ask about tickets for an event? They'll grab their cell and call that moment. The breakfast doesn't really exist but there is an awesome bun place with a huge selection on the nearest corner where you'll struggle to spend more then $US3. It's not that modern, but it's very clean and the beds comfortable. The walk from Andingmen station is a good 15min but it is so worth it to spend time in this area. East Gulou and the surrounding hutong area are brimming with local cultural activity, but not overrun by tourists. Overall we had a fun and comfortable stay here.
3 out of 5
by Allan from Australia

Grass Roots

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels
This small hotel is ideally located for the tourist who wishes to walk out the door and be right amongst it. No taxi or metro needed here as ancient Beijing is footsteps away. Very family friendly and day trips to the Great Wall are easily arranged. The metro is about 500 mts away connecting you to "The Forbidden City" and "Tiananmen Square" within half hour. Any amount of restaurants are within minutes walking distance. Great value for money; great location; great people.
4 out of 5
by Daniel from MD, USA

Good base for Beijing trip

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
Decent hotel in a great area of town. It's hidden away down an alley (hutong). The alley is not particularly cute or charming but feels safe even at night does make it super quiet. The surrounding neigborhood is a hive of activity at all hours with good local restaurants and bars. Courtyard is small and right by all of the rooms so not a place to hang out for much more than a quick breakfast. Manager is always around and while not outwardly helpful is very helpful when you need / ask specific questions. About a 10-minute walk to the metro. Overall a good base and seemingly good value for Beijing.
2 out of 5
by CN from UK

Nothing like the pictues...

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels
The staff was really nice, but that was about it. the hotel is not in good condition and the room we got was nothing like the pictures. It was small and only had a bed and small table, not space for your bags and stuff. The bathroom is weird, the shower is right by the door so everything gets wet since there is no closure. Also the water leaks into the room! When we had a shower, water went into the room and our clothes and phone got wet. The staff was nice about it but it's just not ok (some silicone would do the job). Breakfast was a little weird but ok. We might have been very unlucky with the room, but overall, we would not stay here again and would not recommend it to others either. We are not fussy at all, but it was quite disappointing...