Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great service

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Pros: Excellent service and great location
Location: lots of things to do and see nearby
The staff at the hotel are super friendly and they helped us a lot in our stay there. The room was small and cold, but the bed was comfortable and the location is great: easy to move around and lots of things to do nearby (shops, restaurants, etc). I recommend this place, you'll have a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Nice hotel in old Beijing

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: The service is excellent and the location is great
Cons: Room was cold even if the heat was on.
Location: Beijing has lots of interesting places to visit: Forbidden City, Summer Palace, Temple of Heaven, Lama Temple, etc.
The hotel is a nice little place in old Beijing. At first it is somewhat hard to find and the rooms are small -and cold, but the service is excellent. Beds are comfortable and rooms are quiet. Sam the manager is really helpful: he helped us make reservations for a tour to the great wall, he booked taxis for us and gave us all kind of useful advice to move around. Since we speak no Chinese -and people hardly speak English in China- his help made the difference. Some days after we left Beijing we noticed that we had forgotten some items in the room, and Sam was kind enough to send them to us to our hotel in Shanghai. The hotel is located in a narrow alley, but it is very close to restaurants with very good food and to the hutongs (interesting place to go local shopping). Metro station is within walking distance and very easy to use even if you speak no Chinese. Metro will take you to all interesting places in Beijing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fint men kallt

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Hotellet ligger fantastiskt beläget men var iskallt i november. Vi fick heller inte sätta igång elementen. När vi lämnade rummet efter 12.00 en av dagarna blev det inte städat, vilket innebar att vi varken fick nya handdukar eller tömd papperskorg på toaletten. Väldigt fin gård och bra i övrigt.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ling Sha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JEAN NOEL

Quartier extra

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
Séjour de 4 nuits à Pékin dans cet hotel au coeur des hutongs. Quartier extra à 15 minutes du métro et de la tour du tambour. Quartier familial et sympa. Très silencieux hotel simple décor un peu dépassé. Chambres donnant sur petite cour et super services rendus par Sam à la réception.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah from Arizona

Solid guesthouse in great Beijing location

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard View Hotel. The hotel was nice and quiet and clean, and the location was unbeatable (close to Bell and Drum Towers, right in the middle of Dongcheng North). The price seemed a bit high for what you get, though we understand that Beijing is expensive, but the quality was fine overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great cozy accomodation

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
We had an excellent stay at Courtyard View. It is a cozy local accommodation in a hutong which gives great insight to how locals live. The staff were AMAZING and made the trip, answering all our questions and giving us advice. They were so laid back and spoke English which helped, he even helped book a taxi for an early morning pick up and an amazing trip to the great wall (a further drive away) where we were 2 of about 20 people on the whole wall. It is a great location with local life all around from street food to Houhai Lake for a great night out and lots of local cafes. If we are ever back in Beijing we will be staying here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Courtyard view is not a hotel. It is a home

Posted Apr 26, 2015
I made reservation through Expedia and it was hard for the taxi to go in the narrow road in Old Beijing. So I had to use a three wheel bike to move stuff to the door. Manager told me that the standard room I reserved was not available so he will put me in a delux room then move me to the standard room. I was very tired and did not have a choice to argue about it. The room had no ventilation to outside except window of bathroom and outside door. There is an AC standing unit but it is basically circulating the air. I tried to open the window above the bed but it was sealed and could not open. The next morning manager told be to pack so that he moves my stuff to the standard room. I decided to call Expedia and they were prompt to cancel my reservations for the following three days. I moved to a hotel that was cleaner and had everything missing in this one and $10 cheaper. I strongly recommend finding a modern hotel outside old Beijing. The subway station or a tour company can bring you to the old sites so there is no need to sleep in Old Beijing. This area looks like refugee camp with dense populations and public bathrooms in the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ystad

Perfekt läge i hutongerna

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Perfekt läge, mycket bra personal, mysig inredning, sköna sängar.
Cons: Kanske dags för nya tapeter.
Location: Det finns en mat och shoppinggata i närheten. Lamatemplet ligger ganska nära. Tunnelbanan ligger också ganska nära. Många hutongområden i närheten.
Läget är perfekt i en gammal hutong och man får det det riktiga Kina. Det är lite svårt att hitta för taxichaufförerna att hitta. se till att ha adressen utskriven på kinesiska och att ha telefonnumret om dom behöver hjälp. (det med lappar på kinesiska dit du ska underlättar även i övrigt då mycket få kineser kan engelska) Det är något slitet men det tycker jag att man får räkna med i de gamla hutongerna. Finns lite fukt men man har satt in fuktslukare. Jag var väldigt nöjd med rummet som var inredd i kinesisk stil och det kändes som att ha en andra hem. Vi valde deluxerummet och tycker att det var väl värt pengarna. Personalen var väldigt trevliga och hjälpsamma. Vi fick tips på matställen, dom fixade utflykter och tågbiljett då vi skulle vidare till shanghai. Det var en enkel frukost men jag tyckte det var precis lagom. Vatten fanns att ta fritt i en kyl på innergården. Sängarna var verkligen sköna precis som många har skrivit tidigare. Jag skulle verkligen rekommendera en vistelse här!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christopher from Philadelphia

Easy enough to find if you do the homework.

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels
This is not a cookie cutter western style hotel room that you'll find in any city in China. This is a quaint, homely, authentic Beijing feeling stay in an awesome neighborhood. The service is not over the top, but whatever you need the Team here will get it done. Laundry? No problem and no charge. Need calls made in Chinese to ask about tickets for an event? They'll grab their cell and call that moment. The breakfast doesn't really exist but there is an awesome bun place with a huge selection on the nearest corner where you'll struggle to spend more then $US3. It's not that modern, but it's very clean and the beds comfortable. The walk from Andingmen station is a good 15min but it is so worth it to spend time in this area. East Gulou and the surrounding hutong area are brimming with local cultural activity, but not overrun by tourists. Overall we had a fun and comfortable stay here.