Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, UK

Great Location and common areas, rooms a bit tired

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: Ambience, staff and location
Cons: Bedrooms need general update although not bad
Location: Central Beijing, say no more it is all on the doorstep
Great location and history to the hotel, staff very good but rooms starting to need a bit of work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Could not be closer to Sightseeing

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Having battled language problems for 30+ days in China, it was wonderful not to have this problem at this hotel.
Cons: I had a little problem seeing the light control device beside the bed without the table light on.
Location: This is the closest hotel to the Forbidden City and Tianimen Square.
I recommend this hotel to English speaking people visiting Beijing. There was no communication problems, they were friendly and helpful, and the facility was excellent. I would stay here again without question.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great location - great rooms

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: location and food
Cons: English on the iffy side
Location: Tianamehn Square and Forbidden City a short walk away
Perfect location for site-seeing. One long block walk to metro. Good food, nice service, English is iffy. If you're a gmail person, you need a cheap VPN to work in China
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midwest USA

Best location in Beijing for forbidden city.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: large, modern room w sm couch, 'old world' touches, marble bathroom with shower and separate tub. Public areas very clean and pretty. Staff pleasant.
Cons: An introductory layout of hotel, restaurants, gym etc; need livelier bar/lounge; more knowledgable staff re nearby restaurants. Map of neighborhood.
Location: Great SE corner of Forbidden City, tienanmen Sq, Wangfujing St (numerous malls, food stands), imperial huton, easy subway access-a real asset.
Though our room faced what is busiest street in Beijing, Chang An--11 lanes--our room was quiet with well sealed windows and cars don't honk much. The modern addition to this former palace is much like a Hyatt Regency atrium style hotel, with a fountain on the main level. It is attached to the 'Beijing Hotel' and Raffles, which make up most of the block. Two subway stations within 3-minute walk make access to extensive, user friendly, clean and cheap subway system very handy. Staff was pleasant and eager to please but my lack of Chinese skills and most staff speaking little English limited interaction. Concierge helpful in calling a taxi to go to Da Dong Peking duck restaurant; however a closer one of this well regarded chain is just 1 block N of hotel (discovered it walking by the following day). hotel wifi was pretty good: of course don't depend on Google or face book-blocked in China. public areas --cocktail/tea lounge unlively/quiet weekend and weeknights in April, but made decent drinks. Cafe restaurant with extensive buffet was popular but we didn't eat there. Gym is very small 3 treadmills, assortment of free weights and a few other things but neat; pool large and pleasant (a bit chilly); sauna was being repaired. a nice hotel not wow- location can't be beat. By going through the park across from hotel, one could enter forbidden city ticketing area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati

My room had a view to The Forgotten City!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The location and the size.
Cons: The Internet never worked,not in my room not in the business center, that was very frustrating. But the employees were very nice.
Location: Close to Tia a men Square and Wanjuging Street!
Generally speaking was a nice experience. But the internet never worked in my room or in the business center. But I loved the location walking distance to many things and to the subway!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Definitely NOT 5 star!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Location is good, right next to Tiananmen Square and the forbidden city.
Cons: The whole hotel needs a refurb - not a 5 star in its current state.
Location: Next to shopping district and Tiananmen Square.
First up, if you book this hotel, make sure that you take a print out of the hotel itinerary including telephone number. I took a map on my phone and the taxi drivers still did not understand where the hotel was - incredible given it is right next to the biggest attraction in Beijing! Anyway, onwards to the hotel - do not expect 5* service, contrary to its rating, this hotel is not worthy of more than 3 stars in my opinion. The hotel is very dated. The decor is circa 1980's - although they do state on their website the rooms have classic Ming and Qing style decor, so I may be being kind by stating the 80's! Anyway, the receptionist on the day was not very welcoming, adding to the cold atmosphere within the hotel. Once we got to our room I was just shocked. We had a forbidden city view room - the view was awful, and definitely not worth paying extra for. As mentioned previously, the decor is awful, so tacky. The bathroom has a bath and a shower, but when you have a shower the water escapes from the cubicle resulting in a very wet floor outside. Finally, the rooms do not have temperature control! Out room was boiling when we got back from some sightseeing and when I enquired as to what was wrong, they said they do not have air con, they will send someone to open the door at the rear of the room. Given the amount of noise on the road outside, this is not a solution a 5 star hotel should be offering. Overall, I do not believe you should spend your money staying at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

second-to-none location, friend staff..

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Location!!! Brand, and history!!!
Cons: Should arrange some taxi waiting outside of hotel....
Location: Well, it is easy to see them on google map....so many things and places in this area.
The location is second to none, right in the centre of Beijing. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The inner deco is a bit out of dated, having said that the cleaniness is spot on. Another small thing need to improve is: there is no taxi waiting outside of hotel....so it is a little bit unconvinience if you need one urgently.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterrey

Great location

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Very close to forbidden city, malls, subway station, and food chinese market. Cozy room and clean. I didnt try the food because everyday i ate outside, but the dinner buffet looks great. Staff very good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Argentina

Good for government corporation business

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Comfort and efficiency
Location: It is one long block from Tianamen Square and the National Museum; spiffy and other shopping 3 blocks away.
The Chinese government puts many international visitors in this hotel, because it is a one of a kind historical building that preserves traditional Chinese imperial furniture and furnishings. Internet is not perfect, but that is not unusual in China. Good choice of restaurants, excellent pool, barely acceptable gym. Rooms are spacious with luxurious appointments, but you can tell it has been in business for quite some time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kay from US

great location

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: The location is excellent. The staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms with a Forbidden City view are very nice.
Cons: The gym is limited and could be improved. A reasonably priced place for a la cart breakfast would be useful.
Location: See above.
This is a good hotel for people who have never been to Beijing, within an easy walking distance to the Imperial Palace, the Wangfujin shopping area and a street food market at night. There are many good restaurants on Wangfujin.