Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Fanstastic view, old facilities

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: View of the Forbidden City.
Cons: The hotel is old and smells bad
Location: The best of Beijing ( FB and TS)
I have been staying at this hotel on several occasions. The higher floors ( 8 and 9) offer a great view of the Forbidden City and this is the only place that you can see the sun setting over FC and T Square. The hotel is dated and needs a huge lifting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dhaka, Bangladesh

Great location.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Most of the staffs can't talk in English. Breakfast is so expensive. I went to receipts toon to change my dollar but they didn't have cash :-). Very funny. Location is very good and clean hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Ontario

Beware of a few issues

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Room was spacious and near attractions. Grand atrium.
Cons: Room needed refurbishment.
Location: Central to Tian'anmen square, Imperial Palace and near Wangfujing street.
Hotel is close to Tian'anmen square and Imperial Palace. Hallways smelled of smoke and room smelled a little musty. Bathroom had some water and mold damage visible. Beware of the buffet breakfast - my wife got food poisoning from it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel next to the forbidden city

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere, decor and service were great. The only reason why I didn't rate it excellent overall is the overpriced menu and services.
Cons: Our room rate was reasonable but everything else seemed overpriced- we paid more for a pot of coffee than for a nice copious dinner with beer nearby.
Location: the hotel is located next to the Forbidden City and Tiananmen square - it is within walking distance of Wangfujing street, a great place at night.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the grand hotel, our room was spacious. clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, bad staff

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Good: nice reception and internal yard/communal area Bad: rude staff, slow internet low quality furniture, horrible shower
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2016
Dated shabby hotel, you can sense the traditional Chinese decorations but Most of the time you only feel will be just old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal, canada

Very good location

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Very good location for sightseeing and restaurants. While it bears a traditional Chinese design, it may need some renovation to compete with 5 stars hotels. Staff is not fluent in English, but trying to help. Good hotel. Good price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great location, traditional feel + modern comforts

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: location and style
Cons: only food offered too expensive
Location: easy walk to Wanfujing shopping street and restaurants, forbiden city, palace gardens and Tiananmen square
3 day stay in very cold weather. easy walk to Wanfujing shopping street and restaurants, forbiden city, palace gardens and Tiananmen square
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and old world charm

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Overall comfort
Cons: Internet is always lousy
Location: In the best location for tourism - Forbidden City, etc.
I usually stay at the Grand Hotel Beijing when I'm in the city because of its charm, reliability and location. The staff is always helpful and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Classic hotel, great location

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Pros: Staff and location
We were able to walk to all attractions, including the Forbidden City. The claosest hotel to the square and sopping as well. Stop to buy some scorpions to eat at the market on the way!