Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Just ok, nothing great about it

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Hotel facilities are dated since 80-90s, plenty choice for breakfast but quality just not there. I won't stay here again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mercure Hotel in Beijing

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Mr. Shen, hotel manager, is very kind.
Cons: Front desk could be friendlier to those that do not speak their language.
We were greeted by the people in the front desk who did not speak much english. That did not bother me as much as their insistence that I needed a visa to enter China. This was absurd because I had already been to Shanghai before arriving in Beijing. The front desk was completely flabbergasted and confused that my country does not require a visa for entering China. To this day I am wildly confused why my Visa status is of any concern to the hotel. When we were asking to speak with the manager, they kept saying he was in a meeting...which was a lie. Instead of the front desk asking me to wait while they call the embassy or check the official website, I was told they were going to call the police. I want to give them the benefit of the doubt and say that things got lost in translation, that they were not going to call the actual police. That said, it does not take away the fact that this was my first impression of the hotel and its staff. After this debacle, we were given our room key but we were not informed about wifi passwords, meal times, meal locations, fitness center availability, or any other basic information you give your guests. It was disappointing, but the front desk's lack of friendliness stood out to me the most.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by 北京西单美爵酒店, Hotel Management
Thank you very much that you after your stay at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central took the time to write to us, and deeply regret that the services rendered to their expectations are not met. for the inconvenience caused, we ask you to apologise. The hotel of the brand Grand Mercure put everything to you with any of your stays optimal service offering. your opinion is thus of great interest. Please feel free to leave us a way of contact that we can assure you that the necessary measures will be taken, in order to improve the quality of the identified services are greatly improved on your next visit. Thank you once again thank you for your comments. we hope your confidence in your next nights back, and look forward to welcome you soon to welcome here. The Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ian from Yokohama, Japan

Good option for Forbidden City & Tianenmen Square

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Really nice hotel and a large room, great location
3 out of 5
by Angela from Staines

grand mercure, beijing

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
stayed at hotel for 7 days, good location but not good staff. Unwilling to help customers, unable to understand customers, not even a 'thank you for staying'
5 out of 5
by Courtney from Los Angeles, California

The Grande Mercure Goes Above & Beyond

Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Hotels
When I arrived I had been under the weather for several days. The check-in was quick and painless and the service desk arranged my transportation for the following morning. Upon arriving in the room the bed had been turned down, slippers laid out and there was a lovely plate of dessert & macaroons and a fruit basket. I will definitely be staying here on my next trip to Beijing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average Stay

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
The most average hotel of our 3 weeks in China, stayed at some lovely places this one wasn't great to be honest and cost more than some lovely little boutique hotels. First night there asked about nearby food places, went to discover they shut at 9.30pm (we were sent after then) and went back to the hotel to be told they stopped serving food but could order room service. Ordered room service to discover they were out of stock of what we ordered, got a cold pizza delivered an hour later still frozen. Leaving on the last day we asked for a taxi to take us to the airport and the hotel said no problem, however it was 20 minutes late and still no taxi so we walked outside and we flagged one from outside ourselves fine. Positives - breakfast, large room with huge bed and the gym!
3 out of 5
by Tepig

Completely unusable internet detracts from an otherwise nice hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Orbitz
The hotel is very nice overall, but the internet was unusable. The hotel location is nice, the room was clean and comfortable, and the swimming pool was good. The internet though, was completely unusable most of the time through my entire stay, with or without VPN. I have been to other hotels in China that have slow connection to foreign countries, but this is the first time in a long time that I had slow connection to Chinese sites. My VPN service (that works just fine outside the hotel) was cut off every few minutes, and when it was connected it was extremely slow. I hope the hotel can fix the internet issue because otherwise I cannot foresee myself coming back, nor recommend this hotel to my colleagues, despite the rest of the stay being very good.
1 out of 5
by Peter S.

Staying on a construction site

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Orbitz
This hotel brought in workmen on the weekend who spent the whole day drilling in the room right above my head. Calls to the front desk did not result in them stopping the drilling or moving me to another room, or apologizing, or refunding or discounting, or doing much of anything beyond shrugging. In short, not only are they trying to rent out rooms and refurbish the hotel simultaneously, management is indifferent to guests' comfort as a matter of general principle.
3 out of 5
by st from hk

good service

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels
generally ok. service is good.