Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ian from Yokohama, Japan

Good option for Forbidden City & Tianenmen Square

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Really nice hotel and a large room, great location
3 out of 5
by Angela from Staines

grand mercure, beijing

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
stayed at hotel for 7 days, good location but not good staff. Unwilling to help customers, unable to understand customers, not even a 'thank you for staying'
5 out of 5
by Courtney from Los Angeles, California

The Grande Mercure Goes Above & Beyond

Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Hotels
When I arrived I had been under the weather for several days. The check-in was quick and painless and the service desk arranged my transportation for the following morning. Upon arriving in the room the bed had been turned down, slippers laid out and there was a lovely plate of dessert & macaroons and a fruit basket. I will definitely be staying here on my next trip to Beijing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average Stay

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
The most average hotel of our 3 weeks in China, stayed at some lovely places this one wasn't great to be honest and cost more than some lovely little boutique hotels. First night there asked about nearby food places, went to discover they shut at 9.30pm (we were sent after then) and went back to the hotel to be told they stopped serving food but could order room service. Ordered room service to discover they were out of stock of what we ordered, got a cold pizza delivered an hour later still frozen. Leaving on the last day we asked for a taxi to take us to the airport and the hotel said no problem, however it was 20 minutes late and still no taxi so we walked outside and we flagged one from outside ourselves fine. Positives - breakfast, large room with huge bed and the gym!
3 out of 5
by Tepig

Completely unusable internet detracts from an otherwise nice hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Orbitz
The hotel is very nice overall, but the internet was unusable. The hotel location is nice, the room was clean and comfortable, and the swimming pool was good. The internet though, was completely unusable most of the time through my entire stay, with or without VPN. I have been to other hotels in China that have slow connection to foreign countries, but this is the first time in a long time that I had slow connection to Chinese sites. My VPN service (that works just fine outside the hotel) was cut off every few minutes, and when it was connected it was extremely slow. I hope the hotel can fix the internet issue because otherwise I cannot foresee myself coming back, nor recommend this hotel to my colleagues, despite the rest of the stay being very good.
1 out of 5
by Peter S.

Staying on a construction site

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Orbitz
This hotel brought in workmen on the weekend who spent the whole day drilling in the room right above my head. Calls to the front desk did not result in them stopping the drilling or moving me to another room, or apologizing, or refunding or discounting, or doing much of anything beyond shrugging. In short, not only are they trying to rent out rooms and refurbish the hotel simultaneously, management is indifferent to guests' comfort as a matter of general principle.
3 out of 5
by st from hk

good service

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels
generally ok. service is good.
4 out of 5
by Phillip from Australia - WA - Perth

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Located centrally in walking distance to Tianamen Square and shopping malls.
Cons: On a busy road with not much green space.
4 out of 5
by Bao Phan from Xidan, Beijing

Pretty happy

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels
I would come back anytime. The location is great; really close to the train station and nearby a lot of nice and cheap restaurants. I am quiet happy with the quality of the hotel service. I just subtracted a star because of the cleaning lady, that was not really nice. But I was very happy with all the other staff. They were very very nice and spoke good english. The condition of the hotel, is pretty new, but unfortunately people before me damaged some of the furniture. My room was very very comfy. I felt very good in it and could relax and take my mind off a lot of things. The price of the hotel is good as well. I loved the fact that I had my breakfast included. They also have a great working out place in the basement. I just can recommend this place to anyone. :o) Because I would def. come back. Thank you for the wonderful staying.