Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to Olympic park.

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Wotif
I was in Beijing for a conference at the China national convention centre at Olympic park. The Hotel was a 20min pleasant walk through the Olympic park each day. The Hotel was clean and neat, although most of the reception staff had limited english there was always at least one staff member close by who could. The closest subway station is also about 20min away again in the Olympic park. (The subway is a great & cheap way to get around Beijing. All the ticket machines can be changed to English, and all signage in the subway also has english on it. Overall had a gray stay at the Grand Skylight Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Good location adjacent to Olympic Park

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is in a great location relative the Olympic Park. Communication with the staff in english was challenging beyond the very basic. I requested a non-smoking room. While there were no indicators that the room was a smoking room (ash tray) there was a distinct odor of smoke. The room was comfortable but well worn in. The lobby restaurant was great for breakfast, many choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Adjacent to Birds Nest Stadium

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: It is nothing special -- just a decent hotel. Most desk staff speak English.
Location: Adjacent to Olympic Park. Note that the Olympic Tower is only open from 9 to 5.
Currently undergoing phased renovation. Executive room was large enough. Breakfast buffet is Asian and Western, so you'll be sure to find something that suits you. Need to get get back to the hotel and don't speak Mandarin? Draw a picture of the stadium -- it helped every cabbie, even when provided with the address in Mandarin. About 1 hr. and <100 RMB taxi to/from the airport.
3 out of 5
by Dino from New York City

Nice Hotel - Mediocre Service

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. The space was good and I appreciated the view. The staff had a limited command of English but I don't count this against the hotel (you're in the middle of Beijing after all) but I note it for non-Mandarin speakers. My main criticisms of the hotel are: 1. No 'do-not-disturb' signs. While I was adjusting to the time change, I was woken up several days/times by the maid service. I had no way to indicate to them not to clean the room and they were very persistent in ringing the bell. The first day, the maid argued with me and did not want to go away when I asked her to come back later. 2. On my final night, I spoke the concierge to arrange a cab to take me to the airport the next day. When I checked-out the next day, they had no record of my arrangements - it turned out not to be a big deal since I was able to get a cab in a few minutes but it could have turned into a real hassle.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

Nice hotel and near to olympic park

Posted May 12, 2016
The check in was fast. At first I stay at 8th floor. However, there is construction work at the hotel. I was very noise. When I complain, they change my room to upper floor. Overall the hotel and room was nice. But if you want to buy some item at convini store, it a bit far.
3 out of 5
by Guillaume from Tokyo

Balanced hotel with great view on the Olympic Stad

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed 3 night during a tradeshow at the nearby convention center. The location required a 20 min walk morning and evening but being located right behind the famous Beijing Olympic Stadium ("The Nest") this felt like going for a tourist tour although I was going to work. The hotel is clean and modern but is clearly aimed at Chinese business travelers. In my (business class) room, there was a full Chinese tea set, normally used when discussing business deals with customers! The TGI Fridays at the first floor makes it possible to eat Western food (for those with that type of craving) but you must walk or take a cab to find Chinese food. Finally, the only deficiency during the stay was the non-functioning air-conditioning... but I usually don't bother with it so for me it was a non-issue but could be an issue for others.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Visit on 16.04,2016

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Wifi signal is unstable in the room. No free breakfast is a bit pity for this trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qatar (UK national)

perfect location

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: friendliness of reception staff
Location: right next to the birdcage (Olympic stadium) very near Pangu 7 star hotel that does an amazing buffet deal
eating in the restaurants is a bit pricey, and service takes a bit too long for my liking; TFI Fridays adjacent is a good bonus for Westerners needing a taste of home location is great, I found I could get to where i needed very quickly Westerners tend to get given the smaller rooms; I have a Chinese wife and found on our second visit there she was given a much larger room (separate sitting area) at the same price (room) cleaners are really helpful and friendly - the reception staff could learn a thing or two from them
3 out of 5
by junmin

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
Attitude of receptionist was terrible