Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Days of Glory Past

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, courtyards
Cons: Overall state of repair, cleanliness, dirty carpets, no hot water.
Location: Great location, close to pedestrian shopping area, lots of restaurants
Beautiful exterior, worn out interior, friendly staff. Hotel has seen better days. In great need of an infusion of cash to bring it back to 4 or 5 star status. Carpets worn and dirty, little or no hot water. Never figured out breakfast, sometimes they had a minimal, and I mean minimal breakfast, more often than not, nothing. Staff was great though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, non-corporate hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Cons: The 'breakfast buffet' was extremely weak. I wouldn't even consider it a continental breakfast. Recommend not paying for it; go to Starbucks instead
The hotel staff was fantastic. Gave us a detailed map of the city, oriented us to the major tourist sites in Beijing, helped us with taxi rides, checked our departing flight for us and ordered food for us after hours. The hotel was actually a building for Qing Dynasty officials and retains the ambience of older Chinese architecture. That alone makes it worth the stay if you can tolerate being away from another anonymous corporate hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from cheshire, UK

Great location - hard to find, worth the effort.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Location , friendly staff and good quality accomodation.
Cons: The breakfast room is in the basement which is a bit gloomy. With a little invest,ement a restaurant/breakfast room could be created in the courtyard.
Location: Central location. Most attractions walkable. 5 mins walk to a metro station. Go anywhere for 20p!
If you are looking for a hotel in Beijing that is not the usual bland multi-national chain , then this is the place for you. An oasis of calm in the middle of the city and close enough to walk to many of the local attractions. For those further away it is close to a metro station. Staff were friendly and the accommodation of a good standard. The one challenge is finding the place! It is in the "hutongs" which are a sprawling area of old alleyways. The initial approach is along a busy, touristy, bustling hutong - after that it is a leap of faith to walk down a much darker, narrower alley with no clear indication that a top class hotel is situated some way down it. It is worth the effort, full of character with the rooms arranged around tranquil courtyards containing pools of carp.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by WWG from shanghai, china

Mostly very good

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: proximity to walking mall.
Cons: the western restaurant could definitely be improved.
Location: pedestrian mall
The room was beautiful. The hotel is beautiful. BUt you can't control the heat settings in the room. Only way to do that is to open the windows. The "western" restaurant is really just a bar with limited and not very good food, not very good wine, and a bartender who can't speak english. Be prepared. Or go out to the pedestrian mall to eat. Hotel is on a tiny street that isn't very accommodating to vehicles so don't be surprised if the taxi driver lets you off in the back of the hotel or down several streets or 15 minutes of a walk away from the hotel. Seems Beijing taxi drivers think its ok to drop you quite a ways away from where you actually want to be. Sucks in the cold. Again, being ably to communicate in Chinese helps when this happens. There is usually one hotel staffer who can speak english very well and she seemed to always be somewhere close by. However there isn't much room to negotiate with her regarding securing drivers to do the touristy things around town or to the Great Wall. It's one way, one price regardless of how much or how little time you have to spend out for the day. Again, not a criticism but be prepared that this is just the way it is. It's a convenient location, and the walking mall is great. I'd stay here again, but I know better how to do it next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Colorado, USA

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Was just great to wake up to the view of a quiet chinese courtyard. When we travel we try and stay in places that give you a real sense of place. Was fun to explore the entire hotel and all the different courtyards and common rooms. Beds and linens were very nice. Did not try any of their food, as there are so many interesting places to try nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Tokyo

Great. Simply great!

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: The setting.
Cons: The humidity.
Location: Fantastic!
So, we decide to splurge a little and make reservations for the last night in Beijing at Han's Royal Garden Hotel, and we were not disappointed! Right off the bat we are notified that we'd get a free upgrade to a suite (there were only two normal rooms available when we arrived, so I think they wanted to put us in a more expensive room to clear the way for any potential late night arrivals). To make it even better, the room was already booked at a 50% discount! The hotel is built around and inside an ancient (1450s) Ming dynasty general's residence, and is absolutely stunning. It is both quiet and secluded, despite being right in the middle of the bustling night life area of Beijing. The room itself was fantastic; living room and bedroom with plenty of space, and a bathroom spacious enough to host a Mongolian horde if they ever decide to invade again. The staff were super friendly and professional, including several westerners, making it easier to communicate if you should have any issues. The room service is affordable and the Cheesecake is absolutely to die for. Both delicious and juicy, it only sets you back $3.50 even when ordered at 1am. Fast internet comes with the room. The only issue is that in the middle of summer it can get a little humid. There is nothing really to be done with it though, as the air conditioning was working perfectly, and made it nice and cool. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vince from Manila, Philippines

A Different Beijing Hotel Experience

Posted May 31, 2013
Pros: Location, Courtyards and Decor.
Cons: Intergrated Bathtub/Shower Design and General Upkeep.
Location: Bring directions in Chinese if taking a cab from the airport or you will be going around in circles.
This is a courtyard hotel situated within walking distance of Nanlougaxiang Hutong, Yan Dai Xie and Hou Hai. Wonderful place to stay in Beijing if you wish to experience something different from the cookie cutter Marriots and Shangrilas. There is no gym or pool. What you get instead are several beautiful Chinese-themed courtyards and museum like decor. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but had a few drinks by one of the courtyards which was very enjoyable. It felt like I was transported back in time to an olden Chinese Mansion. Rooms are generally ok. Nothing to write home about, but comfy and large. The hotel quite honestly needs a bit of renovation. The carpets and room finishes are starting to show their age. And the integrated bathtub-shower design was impractical. (overflows when using shower) Not a 5 star hotel, but my wife and I still thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will recommend this establishment for those wanting a different and more authentic Beijing hotel experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ruth from New York City.

A Chinese Courtyard Hotel

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: The serene, aesthetic environment. The gracious and helpful staff. The privacy.
Cons: I think it deserves the 5 stars as listed.
Location: Nearby are wonderful small shops and restaurants. A nearby lake has boats and is surrounded by more shops and restaurants.
An authentic Chinese experience as the hotel has been fashioned from a royal mansion with single level rooms situated around four beautiful courtyards. In addition, the hotel itself is located in a hutong, a traditional "alley" neighborhood, of which few remain in modernizing Beijing. Being in a hutong is like living in old China with wonderful small shops and restaurants. A lake with boats is nearby and a renowned restaurant for Peking duck. The negative of the location is that taxis don't recognize the name of this boutique hotel as they would a large hotel and must search for directions to the location, The hotel provides guests with directions to give to taxi drivers. Also they don't like to go into hutongs which are congested but you can exit on an adjacent thoroughfare. Do not take rickshaw drivers -- only taxis. The hotel has no swimming pool but does offer massage service. There were two Western staff members who spoke English as well as Chinese staff whose English was limited but serviceable. The hotel arranged a private tour for me to the Great Wall and Summer Palace at a very reasonable rate. The buffet breakfast combines Asian and Western food; it is quite ample and good. Altogether I found this a lovely environment filled with greenery and objects d'art to delight the eye and soothe the spirit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Canada

a must experience

Posted Apr 20, 2013
Pros: The blend of traditional look with modern comfort
Location: Within walking distanve of major sights
Do not let the entrance to this hotel fool you. It is a rare jem. One of our best experience in Beijing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would recommend

Posted Apr 12, 2013
This hotel was hard for the taxi driver to find, but what a surprise when you went inside. It was like going back in time and staff couldn't have been nicer several speaking good English. A good location for several places of interest.