Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
My client just stayed there one night as paid 4 night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

authentic hutong experience

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: great to stay in traditional courtyard accommodation, excellent location for Tiananmen Square and all central attractions
Cons: basic amenities, décor in need of some care and attention
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hutong hotel, great location.

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels
A pleasant hutong hotel located in central Beijing. Reasonably priced and good service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A big disappointment

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels
For our stay in Beijing we decided to ignore the 'western' hotels and opted for a courtyard experience. Unfortunately it was a disappointing one. The photos make the place look pretty fantastic but don't be fooled by them. The hotel is clean but somewhat shabby - I wouldn't categorise it as anything other than a basic B&B, or maybe a hostel offering private rooms. This in itself isn't that bad - if you want a courtyard hotel experience then the Elite Hutong has plenty of character and charm. However, it is horrifically over-priced for what you get. We stayed in other 4-star western hotels in China for less than half the price we paid for this place. If it charged a third of what it does then it would be fine. Way, way too expensive!
3 out of 5
by David from new York

Posted Aug 29, 2013 on Hotels
Not impressed. Overpriced for its hutong charm. There are better Hutong hotels with better prices and overall services. Location is convenient. Not much with amenities. Courtyard is quaint but quite jammed if more than a handful of guests showed up. No hot water for morning showers and breakfast is very plain but overpriced.
5 out of 5
by Dan&darren from London

Pretty good

Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2013 by Doris, Hotel Management
Thank u for your comment and wish you come again.
4 out of 5
by Jd

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Steve

Beijing family vacation

Posted Oct 14, 2012 on Hotels
I stayed here with my wife and 2 teenage children in early October 2012. We wanted something beyond the highly functional, but "boxy" and rather charmless global chain hotels and we certainly got it here. This hotel is located in a small Beijing back street or Hutong and designed to make us feel like old time Beijingers. Hence, the rooms are very small, I mean very small, but this was great. The breakfasts were simple but just right. The staff spoke very good English and were both attentive and helpful. The small courtyard was charming and a lovely place to sit in the evening with a bottle of beer or mug of green tea to reflect on the day's activities with the other guests. Location is spot on, a very good local restaurant 30m away around the corner (RMB300 for a family of 4, including drinks), 5 mins walk from the Heptingmen subway station and 10-15 minutes walk from Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. I would highly recommend to book your tours to the Great Wall via the hotel and specify exactly what you want, in our case, to avoid the scams of being taken to shop!. The Wifi is free and very good. My only complaint was that in our kids room there was a little damp and mouldiness, but I am being very picky. Great place, will stay again should our travels take us to Beijing.
3 out of 5
by Peter

Very interesting location and building

Posted Jun 7, 2012 on Hotels
Some of the rooms are incredible small, which can make them very cramped for more than 1-2 nights. The staff are incredibly friendly and warm, but unfortunately our trip was hampered by construction works kicking off at 7 or 8 in the morning and the general lack of privacy. This will not matter to many (indeed, the 'cosiness' will be a feature for some!), but if you value your privacy, I'm afraid this is not really the place for you!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2012 on Hotels