Ratings based on 1,053 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Great location for touring the Forbidden City. A fair walk to the subway however. The staff were very helpful in organising tours and spoke excellent English.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose

Nice small international hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2017
The rooms are comfortable but not as clean as you would expect from an hotel of this category, a lot of dust and a lack of care in the bathroom. The breakfast is very good with a large choice. The staff could speak English better but is very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Cons: Breakfast selection
It is a great hotel right next door to the Forbidden City. Room was very spacious and comfortable with big bathroom and huge bathtub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brasilia, Brasil

Noce hotel! Well located!

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The staff was very helpful and kind. Mr Winter booked us a tour and gave us many tips about places to go and what to be careful with.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Totally it's not 4stars,maximum it's 2-3 stars.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: No way to like it
Cons: The price should low down to $30-40.
Location: It looks convenient' location, actually it's not.
The hotel just like regular office, not even have a loading area, cheap furnitures and cheap every thing, but we paid too much!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Location requires some walking but everything else are great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A very nice hotel with perfect location.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Location, Cleanliness, friendly staff, luxury rooms.
Cons: For a family of 4, breakfast for two guests were provided. Kids over 5 years of age have to pay for their breakfast (half price though).
Location: Very close to some beautiful shopping centers, food street, forbidden city and many other things.
My family and I had a memorable stay at Beijing thank to Hotel Kapok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel staff and good location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Location Good Value
Cons: Nothing major to take note of, however see through glass wall of the shower and toilet might not be welcomed by guests.
Location: Near to Tiananmen Dong Subway Station, Tiananmen Sq, Forbidden City, Wangfujing shopping and foodstreet.
The hotel is just a 5 minutes walk to shopping area such as Wangfujing and Wangfujing Food street. And a 10 minutes walk to Tiananmen and the entrance of Forbidden City. Nearest train station would be Line 1 at Tiananmen Dong. The staff is friendly and showered us a lot of information of places of interest. The room is spacious and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a bit far from subway station, kinda old

Posted Mar 7, 2017
- 15-20 min to the wang fu jing station on foot. But if you are a person enjoying walking, it would be ok. (I recommand you to save energy, Beijing is Huuuuuge!) - I found some hair and a sunflower shell on the bath room floor when i first check-in to the room. Disappointed. - Courtyard.... it was such a disappointing. I chose this hotel because ros have its own courtyard with reasonable price, but it was dusty and looked like no maintenance has been done during the wintertime. The pair of chairs and the table seemed like break down soon. I even didnt go out to the courtyard at all. Furthermore, the the wall of the courtyard is see-through. who wants to see strangers next door at hotel???
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't book there

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The hotel staff needs customer services training.
The hotel is located in a restricted district, it's very difficult to get a Taxi to come into the street where the hotel is located. You have to walk out a block away to the main street to call for a taxi. The hotel is also very far from the subway, it take at least a 20 minutes to walk to the nearest subway station. I stayed 4 nights at the hotel, to be honest it is not up-to 4 start standard. During my time of staying there, the corridors where under renovation and a lot of construction materials laying every way. The smell of the new carpets released a lot of toxic volatile organic compounds into my room which gave me rashes on my body. Another issue is their customer service, their staff is terribly trained and unprofessional. The front desk staff took my credit card under the counter and processed the payment three times on my card. The first time they process the payment without me entering the PIN and when I ask them for the receipt, they said they don't know it went through or not. And they don't get customer receipts until they check out of the room. So the front staff processed another payment, when I questioned them why are they charging again, the staff could not give me an explanation thus I quickly cancel the transaction on the machine. The third time the another staff came in and told me that he will cancel the transaction and then he processed another one. lastly, when I ask the staff if they can call Taxi for me, they told me I have to do it myself.