Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

So-so hotel but in a fantastic location

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Cons: The service and cleanliness of the rooms, especially cleaning to get rid of smoke smell.
I've stayed at the Beijing Hutong Hotel (Zaoyuanju) many times over the past 8 years and it hasn't changed. It's a cheap hotel, with only so-so conditions (small rooms, sometimes smelly, bathroom doors that don't close, etc.), and few amenities except that it's in probably the best place in Beijing if you value being down a hutong that is right next to the metro and a stone's throw from the Drum Tower, with a lot of wonderful restaurants, coffee places, etc. The thing I noticed on my most recent trip, when I came with 5 family members, is that the staff has become increasingly unfriendly and difficult. They must have made a pact lately to try to be unhelpful to guests. They are surly, seem unhappy, and instinctively say NO if you ask them anything. If you speak Chinese, that helps, as it did for us. In the end, we were able to get what we needed most of the time (like changing a room when it smelled like a broken toilet) but if you need a fair amount of help or advice, and/or are picky about good service, this probably isn't your place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Close to subway

Posted Apr 5, 2017
It was great location in old Beijing but the staff didn't help they cause a lot of problems when we had a tour as we booked else where. Bed was rock hard we were in a non smoking room how ever it stunk of smoke . Heating was good hot water was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In nice hutong near attractions. English spoken

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean and comfortable.
Location: Great location
In nice hutong near many attractions (drum and bell towers and shopping). Receptionist spoke great English which was helpful. Be careful as they charge you for what you use in the room (bottled water for example).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible horrible horrible horrible
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for tourist, not what's promised.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
It's a great place. Lots of stuff to do within walking distance and close to public transit for further things. Clean room. Staff is somewhat helpful. Downsides. You don't get what's promised and they try n charge you more. When I booked I was promised free coffee n tea, free breakfast and a complimentary bottle of water. Got non of that. Coffee n tea is in lobby n about 5rmb a cup. You have two bottles of water in your room which I was charged 10 rmb for and my free breakfast they wanted me to pay 20 plus yuan for. I just went to waffle place on corner for 9 n way better food. Over all nice place n I'd stay again but watch out for the nickel and Dimon on stuff that's supposed to be included.
4 out of 5
by Ryan

good for your money

Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay here, the only issue was that there was no breakfast when we were there early December. The staff were nice and the room was clean and cosy. The area is good for he sights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Grace, Hotel Management
Thank you for your support,and welcome to come again
3 out of 5
by ina juul

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
Nice littel place in old traditional chines style
1 out of 5
by Annual TN Traveler

Absolutely Disgusting

Posted Nov 19, 2015 on Orbitz
The room that my mother and I stayed in was absolutely disgusting. As soon as we opened the door, we were hit with an unexplainable odor. The smell was so strong that even after opening the windows to let it air out for an hour, you could still smell the awful odor. We were woken up several times at night from the smell. The beds were so disgusting that both my mother and I slept on top of the covers with all of our clothes on - we just used our jackets are blankets. The walls around the bed had mold to the point that parts of the wall were black and soft to the touch. The beds were rock hard. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I have stayed at hostels that were more appealing than this accommodation.
3 out of 5
by teik chooi from Penang, Malaysia

Good location

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
Generally ok. Hotel condition is that good as expected. But, location wise is good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Paul K.

Great base for seeing the sights

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Ebookers
Stayed for a week with a Chinese friend. Surrounding lane-ways are part of old Beijing and it's near the Drum Tower. Bus stops two minutes away, subway 5 minute walk. Staff pleasant but with little English. Hassle-free stay