Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not recommended

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
in a narrow and small alley; not easy to get there. the facilities are shabby. many things are broken. the interior decoration looks great but that's all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the $

Posted Oct 13, 2016
The pictures on the website make it appear to be warm and open - it's NOT - it's cold and noisy
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel hidden in hutong area, Angdinmen

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
The ambiance is very traditional Chinese -- the reason why I chose to stay here. It's tricky to find though. The taxi driver found the main street but couldn't find the hotel entrance, and the people she asked in the area couldn't point it out. Since I was afraid to get off the taxi without knowing where we were exactly, I asked her to drop me off at Andingmen Subway Station instead. Looking at the vicinity map at the station, I oriented myself to the general direction of where the hotel is located, and asked a police officer when I felt lost. So from Andingmen Station Exit A, cross the highway in the opposite direction of the river, turn right following the linear park walkway, after about 150 m there is a street (marker is the small building with #15), turn left then look for the alley with the red LED sign board "No. 16 Hotel". Some rooms were being refurbished at the time of my stay so it was a little dusty at the common area, and as early as 6:30am I could hear noise from the construction (the windows are not soundproof but the buzz from the aircon sort of muffled the sound of people talking in the common area). The aircon was excellent in warming up the room (I was there end of March which was still chilly). Alice, one of the staff, was very friendly and gave me recommendations where to eat nearby.
5 out of 5
by Edward Carl from Busan, Korea

Greatly exceeded expectations!

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
Will stay here every time I visit Beijing. Amazing value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

French Family from Perth, Australia

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The staff, helpful and relaxed. The quiet room. Lots of character.
Cons: Fix the shower screen so that water doesn't leak over the bathroom floor.
Location: Great location with an easy walk to the metro. From Andingmen station, everything in Beijing is readily accessible via the interconnected metro system
The Imperial Courtyard Hotel is a small, quirky oasis within walking distance from Andingmen station on Beijing's central metro. Located in a laneway off a side street it has a unique character that is like a well worn home. Given it's location it is remarkably quiet in the rooms. If you don't speak Mandarin don't worry. Communication is by gesture and smiles. On one night we needed some headache tablets. One of the young staff members worked out what we needed, wrote it out in Chinese and "we chatted" the location of the local pharmacy so we could find our way there and back. The concern and support was genuine and appreciated. On a brighter note, if you are chilling out through the day you will probably hear the manager playing his guitar in the atrium courtyard. Amazing acoustics. Given the abundance of multi lingual books and travel guides in the atrium lounge gives a sense that everyone is welcome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was helpful and friendly, but their English skills were limited and both parties needed to be patient yet struggled to communicate fluidly. The atmosphere of this hotel is most certainly lovely in the spring and summer with nice weather, but in the cold of January we found it cold and dark.
2 out of 5
by Russell from China

Poor form hotels.com

Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Hotels
Book and paid in full for this hotel. Spend 2 hours in a taxi to get there. No rooms available. Went to hotel.com website and it still listed rooms available. Major problem between hotels.com and this hotel so double check the room is actually free before making the long journey to this hotel. Not happy at all with hotels.com handling of this muck up. Basically deserted me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tx

Tiny hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2015
The hotel name was not properly posted and translated between Chinese and English .it takes much longer to find it. The room wall paper was fallen.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from east bay

Locate in a very hard to find neiborghood

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Stay away
The pictures I saw online were so much different than the real place. The room was very small. They spray the perfume to cover the bad smell. The insulation was bad, people talk loud outside even after midnight, and they in and out their room slam their doors without consideration. Over all it was the worst place I ever stayed.
4 out of 5
by Hok Ning Mavis from Hong Kong

Very good experience

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
Very good experience, the staff was nice and the hotel was beautiful