Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing, roomy room with clean bath

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: High standard of service and quality of hotel room environment
Cons: welcome fruit or opportunity for experiencing hotel restaurant might be a great offer
Location: Convenient location
Enjoy pool and relaxing stay at roomy room that quite satisfied with and meet expectation of Intercontinental brand
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your comments of your recent stay with us! We are glad to see our facilities and location delighted you, we join the whole team thanking you for acknowledging our efforts in creating memorable hotel experiences. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Best regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted May 16, 2016
Bathroom: • Faucet was loose, • The mirror was very small (narrow) and placed in inconvenient way (on the side at an angle. • No magnifying mirror • Not enough room for toiletries (would be helpful if there were shelves underneath the counter) • Hair dryer made terrible noise • No Kleenex/paper tissue • Toilet: needed to hold the lever to flush it otherwise it didn’t flush Room: • No outlets on the nightstand, couldn’t plug the Iphone or any other device. • Arm chair had greasy spots and was disgusting
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2016 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Dear TK, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us! It is with regret to learn about the shortfall of the facilities in your room and bathroom. Please be assured that we have addressed the issues and are working on the necessary improvements in order to provide all our guests with an excellent staying experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again and to experience our improvements made! Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to the financial district

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Menu pricing in the restaurants is very high when compared to others just up the street.
Location: Location is excellent for business but also reasonably close to the Forbidden City and Tienanmen Square.
The hotel was excellent. Staff was fantastic. Would stay there again. Next time I would bring my own power converter (220 to 110v) as their converters weigh 4 kg or more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robin from Dallas

Everything was wonderful

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Pros: staff
Cons: food
Location: Subway
Hotel wonderful....food good ----did not know what American Oatmeal was
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JR

Excellent hotel in financial district

Posted May 5, 2013
We stayed at the Intercontinental for a couple of days while on a family vacation. Overall, it was an excellent hotel. The hotel had an excellent fitness center, and the breakfast was really good- a good variety, everything fresh, good service. I'd say that for a tourist the location was good. The concierge was very helpful to us in planning day trips. The metro is a bit of a distance, and we had to take the cab to get to tourist sites, but not far. The immediate neighborhood was mainly offices for financial service firms. Location overall was very comfortable. Our room was a nice size. Shower was very good, sheets and towels were also high quality, and toiletries were fine. We noticed that overall the maintenance of the facility could be a bit better- rooms and halls were in places in need of some touchup paint and small repairs. Still, rooms were very clean, and I'd happily stay at the Intercontinental on my next trip.
3 out of 5
by gb from las vegas

ok but no thanks

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Pros: concierge, gym
Cons: overall
Location: ok but at the end of businnes financial district
we arrived in the evening, no one outside to open car door or to help with luggage,it was april but weather was cold, lobby also cold, no heating on for guests? reservation was not found(it was pre paid) and took two days to sort out... hotel is pretty run down although of recent built, gym is superb and spacious in the spa they do not offer manicure or pedicure, jacuzzi lukewarm and jets very weak, also many( more than 12) mini tiles broken and floating at the bottom of the jacuzzi, they are not sharp but very unpleasant to step on, sauna was ok( 84 celsius) while steam room did not work at all, staff is willingful but communication is very difficult, do not disturb sign was not honored 3 times, an exception is the concierge team, top notch( chinese manager) and restaurant manager ( from mexico if i recall correctly) i tried intercontinental in venezuela,philippines and switzerland and will stay with them as a company again but sorry, next time in beijing i will try another hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gulay from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Great short stop over in Beijing

Posted Feb 14, 2013
Pros: The Staff were great. The concierge service was excellent in organising tours and outings.
Cons: Not everyone was able to speak English.
Location: a good location to get to most things
Fantastic hotel and assoicated services- The Spa service was excllent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2012
My husband and I stayed at this hotel while he was on a business trip. It was pretty close to some of the companies he met with and a bit of a distance from others. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The breakfast down in one of the restaurants was absolutely wonderful. Excellent food and wide variety. We also ate at the steakhouse in the restaurant and it was really good as well. Great wine selection and everything we ate was excellent. Great service as well and live entertainment. Getting a taxi was absolutely horrible. Although this was not a problem with the hotel, it's just Beijing in general.To be honest, next time we go to Beijing we are going to just hire a car from the hotel for the whole trip. Because taxi's in Beijing are a nightmare. It takes forever (minimum 30 minutes) to get a taxi and then when you are out if you need one back to the hotel they will charge you a minimum fee which is over triple what it should cost. But the concierge at the hotel was great. The only problem that we had was when we got to the airport, our driver dropped us off and asked for the money for the ride. We had already paid the hotel. So the driver had to call the hotel. It took forever to sort that out and then they said that we owed them money from the car ride to the Great Wall. They had said that we were all set and that they charged us for all the car services but apparently that did not happen. Communication with that situation was awful. But overall great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nils from Rome, Italy

Very good value proposition

Posted Apr 12, 2012
great hotel. Central location, but not within wallking distance of the sights. Some staff with limited knowledge of English. Excellent buffet at the club - definitely pay the $20 extra to get access to the club lounge which includes breakfast and happy hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good. highly recommended

Posted Apr 10, 2012
The staff was very nice and professional. Everything was great. The service was excellent. I'll stay the same place again if I go next time.