Ratings based on 628 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Great location
Cons: Facilities,friendliness of staff.
Location: Tiana men square,forbidden city and shopping district all close by.
Sport Facilities stated on website and on hotel booklet no longer exist.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel location

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Hotel is very near to forbidden city and about 10 minutes walk from subway. However, the location is opposite of subway exit, which means when u come out from subway exit u have no idea how to get there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool UK

Good location

Posted Mar 24, 2017
The Forbidden City was in walking distance. Staff had some English. Our room was comfortable though decoration was tired. Food in hotel at western prices but good cheap local food over the road. Staff helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. I felt safe.
Cons: It's an older hotel with a fair amount of wear and tear. They could consider giving it a refresh.
Location: Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City were very close. It was also just a few blocks from lots of shopping and restaurants.
If you're looking for a hotel close to the shopping, Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City, this place is great. It's also good for any tours you may sign up for, as far as the pick-up and drop-off. The hotel staff was friendly, and there were enough on duty at the front desk and restaurant, that could speak/understand English to be able to assist a non-Mandarin speaking person, like myself. And if they didn't understand me, they found someone who could assist me. I felt perfectly safe, as a female, traveling alone. While there was some wear and tear on the room, it was clean and quiet. Although, I don't believe I had anyone in the room next to me, and I was at the end of the hall. It could be different with someone next door, as on my last night there, I could hear people talking, and when I went outside my room, it was some men in a room, at the other end of the hall, who had their door open, and were talking loudly. I was only in Beijing for three days, and I appreciated being able to get to everywhere I wanted to go on foot and or by transportation provided through the tours I signed up for ... minimizing expenses here and there for taxis and or public transportation. I would recommend this hotel to others, with the disclaimer to not expect all the frills. Just a friendly, safe place to stay, close to a number of the sites they'd likely want to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manila, Philippines

The best hotel that i've ever stayed.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The location, amazing staff and the most clean and comfortable room.
Cons: Everything is perfect.
Location: Near the historic site of old Beijing. The restaurant nearby are superb. Shopping areas are just a short walking distance from the hotel.
This hotel should have been rated a five star hotel. With great and friendly staff, clean rooms (the cleanest room that i've ever stayed in all my travels), nice bathroom, superb room amenities, and the best comfortable bed available. All these plus the location which is near the historical places like the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square and great restaurant's which is just along the road from the hotel. Located in the center of Beijing this hotel is the most convenient in terms of services and location. I would never booked another hotel if it is not the same the JADE GARDEN HOTEL!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close and comfortable

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Very good location, about a block from the Forbidden City. Comfortable beds, nice and quiet, and an amazing deep bathtub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A seemingly true no smoking hotel in China

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: No smoking!
Cons: I'd like the nicer rooms every time I stay!
Location: Forbidden City right next door. Perfect for tourists
The thing I really love about this hotel is that people have to smoke outside, as we are used to in Europe. Most other hotels there seem to turn a blind eye to smoking in lobbies, corridors and rooms. This one lacks the smell of smoke that is present in all others I have stayed in. For that alone I would recommend staying here. Apart from that, it is a quite lovely hotel and very handy for the Forbidden City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A.

Great staff. Close to main entertainment

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Staff was exceptionally helpful at night. Hotel is only 5-10 min walk to main shopping center &hotels. Helpful tours desk info in lobby. Restaurant inside. Buffet next to lobby. Clean sheets and clean bath.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Review

Posted Jan 9, 2017
When we got there, we were so thankful to the reception team because the majority of them spoke enough English to help give us directions to our touring sites. It was quite helpful and they acted very professional about it. We kind of found it strange that our room cleaners never took our tips we left them. It's standard to take money that is left behind. We immediately thought how "safe" our room was because if they didn't take the left out tip, then we knew how honest the cleaning crew was. It showed a sign of trust, which will definitely draw us back to staying at the Jade Garden Hotel if we ever return to China.