Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Stephen from Louth

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Quaint with a great courtyard and friendly staff. Clean and tidy but the bed in my room was way too hard!
3 out of 5
by Gabrielle from Memphis

My stay was okay!

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
Pros: Andy,the front desk agent spoke English very well and went above and beyond to help with tours and transportation. Cons: You have to enter the hotel through a dirty alley. Also, the beds are very firm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Nice and clean Hotel, peculiar position. Unfortunately, the staff couldn't speak a good english and comunication wasn't easy.
5 out of 5
by Chase from Nanjing

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
It was a great hotel located just behind the Forbidden City -- rooms are clean, beds are firm but that is standard in China. Helpful staff, great location, beautiful courtyard.
4 out of 5
by Von from New York City

Good Hutong Hotel Experience

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel overall for those wanting the hutong experience. A little hard to find, but they have installed signs to help direct within the hutong. The wifi is completely useless and shouldn't even be advertised. Some rooms have a cool view from the bathroom of the Jingshan park pagoda. Breakfast is decent with good coffee. All in all it's a local favorite of ours and we keep coming back.
4 out of 5
by Diana from Eugene

Jingshan Garden

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
This was our second stay at the Jingshan garden. The first time was in June, during the summer. This time was during winter. Although we stayed here for the same reasons as we did for summer, site seeing etc. this hotel is better suited for the summer traveler. The outside courtyard is not covered and was very cold sitting outside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
Cold. Space heater helped some, but overall uncomfortable stay. Not much activity in this hutong, which made walking around feel unsafe. Hard to find a cab at airport willing to transport us. Five told us it was too far. When we asked an official who was directing people in the taxi cue to help us, he found us a cab driver for 250 rmbs (cost 100 rmbs upon return). Positive-near jinghen park which offered great views of forbidden city at sunset.
4 out of 5
by Theresa from U.S.A. but teaching in Anhui Province

The Hutong Experience

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
It was close to the sites and close to shopping. I loved staying in the hutong area. I felt like it was the real Chinese experience.
4 out of 5
by Donald

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location in Beijing Hutongs - Affordable

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: Location, breakfast (western-ish options) with à la carte eggs :), price.
Cons: Providing foreign tourist with a phrase paper written in Chinese and English with "Please take me to JingShan hotel" with the address and large font.
Location: Hutongs exploration, Forbidden palace, Lama palace (suggest to take a taxi), Tiananmen square, WangFujing shopping district, etc...
The hotel is great for adventurers who are looking to immerse themselves in the Beijing Hutongs (residential houses). One piece of advice is to find the address of the Hutong street instead of the Hotel just in case the taxi drivers do not know where it's located. The taxi will drop you off at the entrance of the Hutong and not in front of the hotel. There is a bit of walking involved. The neighbourhood may look intimidating at first, but the locals are super friendly. Expect low heating in the breakfast hall during winter. There is an electric heater in your room with the bare minimum. Hotel staff is very friendly, with limited English proficiency (a luxury for local hotels). Hotel rooms face the traditional courthouse and staff is always ready to help. Great location near Forbidden Palace and in the heart of downtown. Staff was able to let us in after midnight.