Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Theresa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Please clean the toilet/bathrooms more neatly.

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
No wifi was the biggest discomfort, plus the smell of tobacco smoke at night.Smell of urine via air conditioner. Dirty bathroom made me keep out of shower. No English speaking staff. Otherwise, if you speak Chinese, and you are going to sightseeing and shop, it is for you. Subway station Xidan is 2 blocks away, shopping mall Joy city is next door. But again for that amount of money, they could clean the rooms more tightly. Air conditioning was good, working and functioning fine. The room had an iPad, which was amazing. Through which I could probably check the internet. But since I had my laptop, I did not use it. The internet cable provided was broken, so every time I had to stick it back to reconnect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HK

fair play

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: the air garden look cool, very close to xicheng tax bureau
Cons: the hotel overall looks old, it should make some renovation, especially inside the room. The heater could be stronger and clean the water pipe
Location: is great, near by tax bureau, which works best for me to get working along with the tax officials
facilities were well depreciated except the air garden
3 out of 5
by Chisako from Japan

Maintainance required

Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
It is connected to a huge shopping mall called Joycity. At first I was glad that I booked it, but then it gradually turned to a disappointment. The room wasn't very clean. The fridge broken. I requested to change it and they said yes, but the serviceman didn't show up. The TV also had a problem which was fixed soon. They couldn't call a taxi at 6am in the morning, saying I should book the one provided by the hotel. I later found out that the application they are using to call a taxi one wasn't the popular version. There was a taxi waiting to be called just outside. The hotel facility is okay, but there are a lot to be updated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location, rundown facility

Posted Oct 29, 2015
The hotel is in a great location - 15 min walk to Forbidden City, T Square, a lot of shopping. Has a Starbucks attached to the lobby, as well as several malls nearby. The room was spacious, but completely rundown. We had issues with the electricity not working in the kitchen, tvs not working when we arrived and the shower being stopped up. However, the staff was quick to arrive after a call to resolve the issues. I can speak Chinese, which was a huge advantage as I do not believe the staff speaks English. There was renovations happening when we were there, so perhaps the newly renovated rooms will be more appealing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location to visit Forbiden City & Qianmen

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
We were a family of 4 for 5 nights! Joy City Hotel is comfortable, appartments are huge and the location is awsome! Xidan subway station is just nearby and you have a lot of shopping Mall (nice food Court!) Cashiers are not very welcome but the Concierge speaks english and great!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to Forbidden City

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: location security
Cons: to bring the price down.
Location: shopping, and eating, in Joy City mall ( 6 levels above ground plus2 levels under ground) or in the neighboring areas, lots of shipping centres around
In the inner circle of the city, convenient for shopping and dining out. spacious rooms (maybe unnecessarily). comfortable beds and linens.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 nights at Joy City Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent room - very clean and comfy. ideal location. nice and peaceful sleep considering location. only downfall was Starbucks closed as they were doing it up, this is linked right next door to hotel. we travelled about 5 mins to the next Starbucks so not really a big deal. had dry cleaning service they brought clothes back nice and early! well recommended booking in Beiging.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels