Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Vinay from London

Busy location close to bus stop far from trains

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
In a back street surrounded by shops. Good for walking to sights
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very poor WIFI
4 out of 5
by Bryan from Manchester uk

Safe city

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
In the hunt for a close hotel to the forbidden this hotel is a good basis for visitors to Beijing. The charging for reception of the keys a bit too much, but in end came in for taxi trip to airport . The rooms are very warm. Your key is used to check if you are entitled to a breakfast. No restaurant or bar was open during are stay. Breakfast you have to claim stare to get to the breakfast area passing what looked to be the bar area which was in need of a good clean. But room is reasably clean and water is hot. The staff are hit or miss on the English side.
3 out of 5
by Catherine

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel tried to change the price per night at check in. This was rectified after a tiring discussion and sticking to the prices quoted me in my reservation which I could show the manager. The staffs english was VERY limited, which caused frustrations on both sides. We left our reservation 3 days early due to these frustrations. 'The hotel did give us a refund for the unused portios of our reservation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as it seems

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was not as it was described. It smelt and wasn't very 'modern' at all. The beds were hard and uncomfortable with paper thin walls. Service was nothing to rave about and although I put a "do not disturb' on the door, the maid still came in and cleaned with is very uncomforting. They offered tour services which was good, but the neighbourhood was very "authentic" which you may like or hate. I wouldn't stay here again. The best thing about the neighbourhood was a cat cafe up the street that accommodated for westerners.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland, nz

far from subway.

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: Room was ok. Bathroom is dated and in need of renovation.
Cons: Clean & modernised the bathroom!
Location: In a hutong, so the street next to the hotel is not the cleanest and have a local area market in the evening.
I would get a place close to a subway station. Best way to get around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Evaluation

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Very good. i suggest to improve the quality of the reception cervice, the handling of the customers. If it is a language problem i is good to do some thing on it.
4 out of 5
by Matthew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good location - walking distance to Forbidden City

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: maintenance
Location: Walking distance to to Forbidden City, good dumpling restaurant near by and number of convenience stores
Reasonably good hotel. Little bit dated interior room design. Some maintenance needs to be done, washroom especially. Our shower head needed to be replaced. The hotel is located in a back alley, make sure that you have a working Google maps. There are 2 locations for the same hotel on Google maps, the closer one to Forbidden City is correct. The east part of the street that leads to the hotel is fairly poor, however, street food there is affordable and tasty.