Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Tan from Malaysia

Charming but will avoid in the winter!

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed 2 nights, charmed by the history and review, but no joke that plumbing is bit ancient, no hot water for shower and floor is flooded after a shower as water flows from shower area to the handbasin area. Firm beds, very clean linen, a bit of a shabby but proud ambience. didn't bother with the hotel breakfast, better fare after you turn left and walk for 10 minutes. great location for the pedestrian area, with MTR station about 20 minute walk (note China MTRs have loads of stairs up and down), bad location for taxis.
4 out of 5
by Cedric from NJ

Great location for a great price

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel in a great, central location. Would recommend, especially for the price I paid. They could improve the cleanliness and the comfort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by Jackie, Hotel Management
They could improve the cleanliness and the comfort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Pretty good.

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Location -Close to Nanluogo Xiang Subway station
Cons: Need small sticker post under each switch so i don't have to practice and practice to find out which switch controls which lamp.
Location: Good location and close to subway station. We eat, eat, eat alot of local famus snacks.
I have studied the Google Map to find this hotel. It is close to subway station and famus Nan Luo Gu Xiang. This lane is always crowed, shoulder to shoulder. All shops are famus Beijing snacks. People is eating crazing like pig, more than a pig. Their mouths keep biting, chewing snacks. Ma Ma Mia!
4 out of 5
by shane from NEWCASTLE NSW Australia

Live long and prosper

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
Was ok A bit expensive Great location Metro close and has 2 lines Good bus service also
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by Jackie, Hotel Management
感谢您入住我们的酒店。我们努力带给您愉快的入住体验,非常感谢您的反馈!
4 out of 5
by JASON from USA

good location

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Very traditional hotel, we had a room with a door to the courtyard which made it really nice to sit outside and enjoy a beverage/read. Hotel was very close to the Nanlouguxian line 6 train station (take East exit)which is very convenient and takes you to just about any sites/markets. We were able to walk to the Drum/Bell Towers and the Lama Temple. Receptionist spoke English and helped us book train tickets to Pingyao. We did not try the breakfast since it wasn't included with our room but I think they offered it for 60 Yuan which I thought was a little too much since you can get cheaper outside the hotel. The room was a little old but we had a lot of space to move around and they will clean your room everyday if you choose and stock it with tea/coffee/water bottles. There is a nice alley close to hotel and right by the subway station with a lot of restaurants and shopping, convenient stores nearby. We took the fast speed train from the Beijing West Terminal train station to Pingyao, on our return trip to Beijing we discovered an Airport Express Shuttle bus which was very convenient for only 26 Yuan that makes a stop at every terminal. We would stay here again, it was a very good value
5 out of 5
by Christopher from London

Tranquil, Convenient, Historic, and Great Value

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
The Lu Song Yuan is a very reasonably priced hotel in the alleyways of old central Beijing. It very good value for money; tranquil; and very close to public transport. The rooms do not have mini-safes or fridges (nor would you expect that for the price), but they are clean, have free and effective wi-fi, air con and heating, and include tea and coffee-making equipment, a TV, etc. The breakfast buffet includes both Chinese and Western food. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the hubbub of Nanluoguxiang tourist shops and cafes, but very tranquil, and organized around courtyards that are a pleasure to sit in during the summer. The subway from the Nanluoguxiang station will get you around the city efficiently. You can walk to the historic lakes in 15 minutes. The staff are very helpful. I wouldn't use this as a business base normally, but it would be an ideal tourist hotel for someone seeking a historic and reasonably priced option. Don't expect 4-star luxury, but do expect excellent value and local authenticity
5 out of 5
by Brian from Dallas

Great hotel in the Hutong area

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
Had a great stay here. The room was clean, nothing was out of order, and the location can't be beat!
5 out of 5
by Credence from Canada

Quaint with a Historic Feel Great Service

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels
Best service ever, better than the 4 star I stayed at the previous night and 1/3rd the cost great atmosphere and everything. Neighbourhood a touch sketchy but the hotel is top notch
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Nice location but less comfort

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Location is great
Cons: Facility and room condition
Location: Many restaurants near by
It is in a very nice location and hotel staff are friendly. However, the hotel room temperature is very cold. It takes all night to finally warms up the room but the restroom is still cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Good place for a short stay

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pretty simple place with a touch of heritage, stuff is helpful but no hot water...