Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Just a bed to sleep. No windows!

Posted Aug 2, 2016
The reviewers who referente to this hotel as "a nice and basic Chinese hotel" are being far too kind. Probably because the staff are indeed nice, but having lived in China, I can say this hotel is very basic even by Chinese standards. We got a room on the ground floor which had no windows. Few things can be more depressing than a windowless room; if you add to it subpar cleanliness and furniture so shabby I am convinced they once had a flood (the bathroom cabinet was falling apart from water damage) the experience was dismal. The rug on the lobby staircase is falling to pieces and the walls have probably not been painted since... Ever. You can stay in much nicer places for this price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely family owned hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2015
The hotel is located in a small back street but close to local amenities, near the centre of Beijing and Dongsi metro. The staff were friendly, their english was reasonable and they tryed to help in anyway they could. If you read the hotel description it does sound like the rooms have a kitchenette which is a bit miss leading but I don't think that is intentional there are shared cooking facilities. The only bad point I experienced was the obnoxious inconsiderate french guests that stayed for one night who obviously did not like the hotel and dicided to wake everyone up at 4am then 5am by slamming doors and talking loudly in french but they did leave to the great joy of the rest of the guests. I can't hold that against the hotel you get inconsiderate people everywhere of all nationalities. In all I would say a nice reasonably priced place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
For a cheap place perfect, staff is kind, location is good, but I would like better conditions of place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old fashioned,far from the city center.

Posted Mar 29, 2015
I had a terrible experience at the hotel.Getting in and out of the hotel was a nightmare.I simply will not recommend it for anybody visiting China for the first time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC Canada

It is nice to live and it is convenient,

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: good
Cons: no
Location: It is conveinient.
We lived there is confotabe and nice. it is a nice for holiday
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Inexpencive Stay in the Heart of Beijing

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Great Location.
Cons: Fix drains in washroom. Allocate non smoking rooms. Floor heating will help to improve the comfort. Decorate rooms in traditional Chinese Style.
Location: Location is excellent. Near "DIY" tea house with great selection of bakery and milkteas on Dongi str. towards the Dongsi subway is excellent.
Yes this hotel is really cheap. It's very hard to find if you are first time on your own. We took a cab from Dongsishitiao for 100RMB (fifteen minutes bargaining with taxi drivers from 200RMB) None from the taxi stand wanted to take us using meter. Eventually young driver, said, okey, let's go on my taxi using meter. When we loaded our suitcases, and sat into the cab, he asked for 100RMB flat without using the meter. We had two little and tired children with us, frustrated I agreed. Although realised lately that its only 10RMB this way cost. Location is unbeatable, close to subway, in the heart of Beijing. Rooms are dump during the cold nights in November. Although very quiet during the night. Hotel is suitable for backpackers, and on the budget clients.I checked rooms in hotel acros the street, they are smaler but air is drier and warmer,price is a bit higher. We didn't move out. I think it was good experience for children. Later we stayed in Pingyao Cheng Jia hotel, and it was really different experience. This hotel is also Hutong Style, but nicely decorated in traditional chinese style, with heated floors, large kang bed, red light in bathroom, styled sink, hot water drinking faucet, beautiful yard. It was totally different experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

N.E Hotel Beijing

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: The only thing i would say about this hotel is it is near all the atractions if going by the local metro. Nearest tube is Dongsi station use exit B!!
This is an honest review. Please read carefully. Just got back from Beijing and stayed at this hotel for two weeks. To be honest this is no where near a 3 star hotel. More like a hostel (even hostels have standards). From my experience the N.E hotel is well below standards, All the rooms smell, as there is no policy or rules stating no smoking in rooms. So be aware. I was in that room for two weeks and it still smelt. It made it worse because there is nowhere for the air to escape. If you do decide to get a room here, please try and get an upstairs room. As the ones downstairs do not have any windows, which can get quite dark and smelly. Please don't book here if you do not speak any Chinese as none of the staff speak any Chinese. Also they take a 100rmb deposit which is refundable when you leave but please keep hold of your receipt. It is quite hard to find initially if booking a taxi there as most of the taxi drivers havent a clue where this place is. so best get the taxi driver to ring the hotel direct. A taxi from the airport will roughly cost £15 converted. If getting a yellow taxi. You will get taxi touts offering rides but expect to pay double. So a round up if you stay here please try get an upstairs room. Dont be fooled by the photos it looks alot run down now. Dont expect alot. be warned.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Korea

You'll never find it and will regret it if you do.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: I liked that it had hot water and a roof. That's all.
Cons: A sign could be posted on the door warning visitors of the pets/bugs inside and the hideous conditions.
Location: It's very far from anything worth seeing. You do get a sense of the culture, since there is a public toilet across the street - gross!
Do not choose this hotel. I thought it was in the main Wafuijing area; it is not. It is too far from any sites to walk to. No one, including taxi drivers, local businesses, and hotels in the area have ever heard of this hotel. Google has it wrong on the map, so even numerous printouts of Google maps didn't help us find it. When we FINALLY did, after much prayer, it was bug-infested, smelly, and not clean. The bathroom doors don't shut, the shower leaks all over the place, and the toilets don't flush properly. The staff speaks no English and even refused to forward calls to our rooms when our tour guide called to arrange pick-up times. They really were not helpful. I've stayed in three-star hotels before and I don't expect the Ritz. I do expect clean and no bugs. This was neither.
2 out of 5
by Ray from Vancouver, Canada

Surprisingly Modest

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Pros: The price and location.
Cons: cleanliness of bed sheets without asking just like they do the towels of the bathroom. And a bit more thoroughness on cleanliness of floors in room.
Location: Close to subway, Dongsi (line5 and 6) and Zhangzizhonglu (line5). 8 minute walk to any. Also walking distance to food street and Wangfujing
It is true, the price is very low. About $200CAD for 8 nights. Not bad, right? But you pay for not getting the room you had asked for. By time you argue they "say" there are no rooms like the one you had asked for available until next day. They keep moving their excuse every day until you give up (at least I did on third day). Still not a big deal for the price. But, they don't clean the bed sheets every day. Only until you ask. I ask for the cleaning of bed sheets until the third night. The room I got had no window (not big issue for the price) but the humidity was a lot that the door had to stay open for a while when back in the room for the night. The shower had very poor water drain but at least the bathroom was cleaned every day. The towels were old, torn and grayish but seemed to be cleaned. Note: My OKs on top should be slightly lower than a normal OK but above the disappointing as I was expecting something not as fabulous for the price paid in center of Beijing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not perfect, but...

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: The staff. Friendly and helpful.
Cons: Not the cleanest place, a little run down and shabby.
It is a bit secluded and hard to find, and the place is a bit run down. But the decorations and atmosphere is kind of cool, and the staff was actually quite helpful in accommodating us. They arranged tours, like to the great wall for us which were rewarding and reliable.