Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Can't choose anything nice in the room or the nearby area as it was really not a good option for us. The room facility is poor and it's located far away from the streets. The only thing good in the hotel is probably the price (and maybe the public area if you'd like to chill at the lobby). Ok.. the coffee machine which offers free coffee is perhaps the best thing we had in our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Old Beijing Square,we are sorry that you did not have a good stay here.Because our hotel is over 300 years old,many bulidings are really old.Coffee and cookies are free.Thanks for your comment,we will do better in the future.Wish you have a good time!
4 out of 5
by Debra from New York

Perfect stay in the houtong.

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
This is a little hotel in the houtong area in Beijing. It is NOT a fancy area. It is where the people live and go about there everyday lives. It is very interesting and easy to walk around. There is a very lively night street to eat and mingle with the crowds. The rooms at the hotel are clean but not luxurious. There is ac and English TV. Breakfast is simple but filling and tasty. The staff is lovely and always wants to help. They will teach you Chinese calligraphy and how to play ancient Chinese instruments. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to get to know the people and culture of China.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smiling service

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
A nice experience however it could do with a little more attention to detail. The ambiance was lovely, the service was excellent. However, beds lacked comfort, could do with more pillows, and the rooms are small. It is nice for a night or two but for longer stays i would reccommend elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by huimin wang, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comment and sorry for all the inconvenience we caused during your stay. We admittedly agree what your say about our hotel and we have been on the way to solve the problems step by step. U can feel our progress during your next visit. Wish you a good day!!
3 out of 5
by Bhagwatee from Toronto

unique..old charm.staff going the extra mile.

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
Lychee and Martin were invaluable to me. Helped me with vegetarian food from the kitchen and did not charge for them. They won't accept a tip at the end either. Helped me with my luggage. I really loved this place with its old charm and offerings of seasonal fruit. The only downside is the common areas were very cold. As soon as you arrive the hotel card should be offered to guest. I got lost the first time out . 9
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2015 by huimin wang, Hotel Management
We appreciate so much for your patient comment and feel so sorry for the inconvinence we caused. We will take it seriouly and solve it out. Looking forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel in scenic area

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Friendly English speaking staff, clean rooms, hotel situated in one of the most scenic areas -the hutongs- of Beijing, a winner! Breakfast might feel a bit basic but with so much cheap and tasty food all around shouldn't reall be a problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by huimin wang, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comment. Wish you a good day!! Welcome to come back again.
4 out of 5
by Gideon Mersereau from Fredericton, NB, Canada

Traditional Chinese Courtyard Inn

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
The staff was very accommodating and place looked clean & orderly and nicely decorated with traditional musical theme and objets d'art. Stayed in a king bedroom with dim overhead light and barely sufficient space to move around the bed. Otherwise, the room had all the amenities including compimentary bottled water and herbal tea packages with phone, kettle, TV and multiple toiletries in the well-lit and well-appointed ensuite shower-bathroom. Close to street food take-outs and small family restaurants. Of special mention is Mr.Shi's Dumplings which tho' pricier than average gives good value for tourists looking for a clean place to eat with a decent menu offering.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015 by huimin wang, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comments.We appreciate so much for your all object comments given above and we will keep on what we good at and improve what should be improved. Our hotel provides you with all the necessary equipments for your connvinence.Looking forward to see you next time and wish a good day.
4 out of 5
by Jeremy from Ballarat

Great atmosphere

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely old traditional hotel in the middle of the Dongcheng District hutongs. Very good service but make sure you book a room with an ensuite as the descriptions can be a bit misleading. Very helpful staff and a great atmosphere
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traditional experience

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was really traditional and very enjoyable. But the sewer line had some issues that made the room smell a little. Other than that it was very good experience
2 out of 5
by Andrew M from New York

nice location but not-so-great rooms

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at the Old Beijing Square Hotel for three nights. The hotel is located at a fairly convenient location near Houhai and the Drum Tower. The walk to the nearest subway station was approximately 15 min, which was very nice since we got to see the traditional Hutong style lives. The staffs at the hotel were very nice although we found that they were not all native Beijing-ers so several people we talked to didn't know much about the local attractions that we were interested. We stayed in the Yang Qin room for two nights and had to be switched to a smaller room on the last day because of a booking issue. Both rooms were clean but always felt damp. Both rooms had numerous mosquitoes so be prepared to be bitten! The walls were all covered with dead mosquitoes and other bugs. The cleaning staffs didn't even bother to clean the blood stains off the walls. The hot water took more than 10 minutes to be ready and was broken on our last day there. My wife had to use the public shower (with no dividers between shower stalls!) in the next door hotel. The small room that we stayed in on the last night was so small that we couldn't even fit all our luggage inside the room. The hotel did provide us with complementary breakfast (after my wife complained about the booking issue) and the selections were decent. Our overall impression with this hotel was not that great since we stayed at a much nicer place during the same trip and the other place cost the same price.
3 out of 5
by goodstuff8463 from Charlottesville

Good location, so-so room

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels
Fine location and helpful staff. Bed uncomfortable. Door to room left open before my arrival and mosquitos were in there. They bit me during the night. Shower flooded the bathroom. Internet works fine. No tea in room. Comfy couches.