Ratings based on 994 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel central to Wangfujing.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and well maintained. The staff were friendly and did whatever they could to to help.
Cons: Some details were lost in translation when trying to get directions from staff- make sure you have your destination written in Chinese if using a taxi
Location: A gentle 20 minute walk from the main shopping area; night market. Easy access by taxi to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square etc.
We had a 3 night stay at the hotel, and overall had a very enjoyable stay. We used it mainly as a base for our whistle stop tour of Beijing, so didn't get to experience all of the facilities such as the Spa. Do not expect a picturesque view as the hotel is situated on a main road, surrounded by side roads, but don't let put you off as you cannot hear traffic noise and I would stay here again if we were to return to Beijing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Location
the hotel was very nice and clean. It had a few staff that could speak Englis. What i did not like was that I cold not charge my tablet because I needed a special adapter for that country but hotel did provide it after I asked. Staff were friendly but did not understand English. Location was very nice, close to the places I needed to go to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SG

Bad choice (Bad staff, Bad room)

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Room condition: The room had a spoiled lamp upon arrival. A day after another side lamp went out. There's a computer that isn't working as well. Gave up getting help to fix the issues. Staff: Had a situation where my Sister was pick-pocketed on the train. Had to contact my mum who was in the room. Called the number written on the hotel card to get assistance to head up to the room to get my mum. But received a plain "Not part of my service" as a reply. It took effort in convincing someone to do so because it's an EMERGENCY. Like seriously? Isit because I speak mandarin and you think that I'm less significant and credible? Maybe I should have blasted on the phone a whole string of English to make myself sound like I'm really a tourist. Speaking mandarin is a form of respect to YOU. It's suppose to make your life easier in understanding my request. However, I must give credit to Linda who took the effort subsequently to settle the matter. For the rest, speechless. Location: 10mins walk from nearest mrt. 20mins walk to Wangfujing. Not too bad Overall: It's an old hotel that requires much refurbishment. A bad stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Smoking in corridors and rooms

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Despite the rooms being nonsmoking, many local Chinese guests blatantly smoke cigarettes in their rooms and corridors. Some will leave their room doors wide open while puffing away inside. Very unpleasant to inhale 2nd hand smoke while trying to sleep at night and wake up to 2nd hand smoke in the morning. This is a prevalent problem in such a locally managed hotel, even if it is declared 4 or 5 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon, UK

Great hotel that has everything you need!

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Great hotel with good city views, friendly staff who speak decent English and nice big rooms with a comfy bed. Breakfast is at a very good price and good choice for everyone. 5 min walk from a central metro station as well so really convenient. Would stay here again if we go to Beijing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: The location was good. The lunch buffet was quite nice, a bit pricey but had a lot of variety of food, drinks and dessert
Cons: Certainly the cleanliness of the rooms. Perhaps change the rugs.
Location: Right on Wangfujing street where there are high end shops and local street vendors, snack alleys; close to Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square
When I saw a 4.1 overall rating, I had high expectations. Unfortunately my expectations were not met. The rooms had a dingy smell and were not very clean. Smelled of smoke. The rugs had stains and furniture seemed old. Expected a refrigerator in the room but there was none.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Nice older hotel, but clean.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Pool
Location: Forbidden city and Mao mausoleum is 30 minutes walk.
Close to forbidden city and Mao mausoleum - walking distance. A lot of store near by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Old hotel but well located in Wangfujing

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Desk staff are great but the other staff are often surly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston ,Tx

Needs to be upgrade

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Air conditioner not working safety box broke we have to move to another room I really need to be upgraded
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle, washington

Very nice hotel, with great location

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Orbitz
My first time in Beijing, and hotel was perfect for me. Great location, not far from Subway, Mall's, Forbidden City, and tianemen square. Very nice hotel, the rooms, service an d dining area were excellent. I was very pleased and the price was right. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here on my next visit.