Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Marlis Newton from Boise Idaho

Horrible & unsafe

Posted Jun 7, 2015 on Hotels
When we arrived we were given a room with one double bed and bunkbeds. The next day we return to our room and our door was ajar. Nothing had been cleaned and no new towels. I don't know why they were in our room. They asked us to change rooms so we did. The next room was horrible. It has one double bed with it's own bath. The room door has to be looked from the outside with a padlock. The inside of the door doesn't have a doorknob and locks with a little latch usually used for sheds. There is a huge gap under the door. You can stick your whole hand under the door. There are electrical wires sticking out of the wall with electrical on the ends. The light switch cover is missing and you could easily get shocked. The floor is slanted from water damage. The room has an armoire with someone elses clothes left inside. Socks left hanging on the bathroom pipes and dirty wet rag on the floor. DO NOT STAY HERE!
5 out of 5
by Patricia from Derby, United Kingdom

Amazing Experiance!!

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels
To get to the accommodation is so easy. Get the metro to Nanluoguxiang, exit at gate E, turn left down Nanluoguxiang Road and half way there is when you turn left to Shijin road south (i think that's the correct spelling) and down that road, the Purple Courtyard is right at the end. Its a ten minute walk from the station and I was able to walk to the Lama temple and the drum and bell tower from there. The owners are real nice. They made me feel welcomed. As for the accommodation, you shouldn't expect high quality with it being China. Their standards are completely different to the western worlds. You pay for the experience. The beds are just a hard surface with a foam mattress that's a few inches thick and it is extremely hard. But that’s just the way China is. They like their hard beds. The room that I had was beautiful, it was so pretty and it is the best bed I’ve slept in. I've spent 7 months travelling south to north of China and the bed, compared to others, was quite comfy! The cleanliness was to Chinese standard. But i gave it full marks because they still try. You're just experiencing a hútòng experience. The shower room is outside and staying there in the winter, made it cold, but with the aircon being good in the room, it didnt bother me at all because my room was always warm. I plan to return to sometime in the future, and when i do, i will come back to this accommodation because it was in such a convenient place and they were nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jessica from Sydney

Excellent Location, room was fine.

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: The location mostly. I like that it is amongst where local people shop and eat but very close to busier areas and train station.
Cons: Facilities such as the bathroom could be newer but were perfectly functional.
Location: Its amongst Hutong laneways, 5 mins walk to the subway, around the corner from local market stalls and shops, close to Qianhai Lake and Beihai Park.
An excellent location amongst the Hutong area, as long as you don't mind taking a few twists and turns down the alleyways to find it. Only 5 minutes walk to the train station and the Qianhai Lake restaurants and bars. The hotel was cute, basic but very adequate to sleep in. Air con was great, Wifi a bit patchy but did the job. Room was secure with a key card. Staff were friendly and helpful although limited English. They arranged a few tours for me and were happy to make phone inquiries for me. I would recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
by enjay55 from Sydney, Australia

Posted Feb 9, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent value. The Room satisfies all the basic needs of a traveler in a great location being reasonably close to the main tourist attractions. You wont be disappointed unless you are thinking you'll get *** amenities for this price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chubby from Manchester, UK

Great location the best...

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Friendliness
Cons: None...
Location: Brilliant old Hutong area to explore
No bad experience, great location, friendly staff too, especially arranging sightseeing tours.. Will be back and stay next time when i going to Beijing without doubt..
4 out of 5
by Lisa

Posted Oct 29, 2012 on Hotels
What a fantastic location. I loved staying in a place amongst the locals. It is fun to get up early and people watch. The room is very basic, but clean. I have found all the beds in China to be hard and the Purple Courtyard was not exception. Heaps of places to eat close by and convenient to many attractions.
4 out of 5
by Christina

Great location, fair hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2012 on Hotels
The location of this guesthouse, in the hutongs, and near some fun pedestrian shopping areas, is what makes it a good place to stay. I didn't feel like the rooms were as clean or serviced as they could have been. However, the guesthouse owners were helpful and arranged a car and driver for us to visit the Great Wall.
2 out of 5
by Bob S

Little to Recommend

Posted Oct 1, 2012 on Hotels
The room was dingy and depressing. Wallpaper peeling; in need of some paint. The key-card lock didn't work. Proprietor had to let me in with a key every time I returned to the room; wouldn't give me a key. Bathroom very dark as only one of three bulbs was present. Shower head didn't work. Water leaked out of hose; had to use that to shower. There are tables to sit outside but the urine smell was too intense. I'd pass; there are better options for the price in Beijing.
5 out of 5
by L.C.

Great Location, Nice people

Posted Jun 21, 2012 on Hotels
Perfect place to be in Beijing. 5min walk to Houhai (great nightlife, restaurants), 2 minute walk to another street lined with specialty shops, restaraunts, bars within the hutong. There are many other "local" shops/ restaraunts just a few minutes away. Short bus/taxi ride to the Forbidden City, Heavenly Palace. Had them take me to Mutianyu part of Great Wall, which they ended up taking me on a short hike around the main gate into a unrenovated area of the wall which was very COOL! We eventually ended up the main area. I would suggest having them pick u up because it is a fairly tough place to find and it will save you time. I used Houhai park as a place of reference when I got lost and had to ask locals for directions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for the money.

Posted Jun 18, 2012
Good value for the money. The rooms are as advertised, the staff is friendly and very helpful.