Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Linnea from stockholm

Great location.

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
Great location! Couldn't be more happy about the area and the location of this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Patricia from Derby, United Kingdom

Amazing Experiance!!

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels
To get to the accommodation is so easy. Get the metro to Nanluoguxiang, exit at gate E, turn left down Nanluoguxiang Road and half way there is when you turn left to Shijin road south (i think that's the correct spelling) and down that road, the Purple Courtyard is right at the end. Its a ten minute walk from the station and I was able to walk to the Lama temple and the drum and bell tower from there. The owners are real nice. They made me feel welcomed. As for the accommodation, you shouldn't expect high quality with it being China. Their standards are completely different to the western worlds. You pay for the experience. The beds are just a hard surface with a foam mattress that's a few inches thick and it is extremely hard. But that’s just the way China is. They like their hard beds. The room that I had was beautiful, it was so pretty and it is the best bed I’ve slept in. I've spent 7 months travelling south to north of China and the bed, compared to others, was quite comfy! The cleanliness was to Chinese standard. But i gave it full marks because they still try. You're just experiencing a hútòng experience. The shower room is outside and staying there in the winter, made it cold, but with the aircon being good in the room, it didnt bother me at all because my room was always warm. I plan to return to sometime in the future, and when i do, i will come back to this accommodation because it was in such a convenient place and they were nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by YY from 香港

很方便的住所

Posted Jun 24, 2014
地點特方便,位處南鑼鼓巷旁,走路到鼓樓、前/後海也很方便,飲食選擇極多。鄰近南鑼鼓巷及什剎海地鐵站,交通便利。 服務員友善,樂意幫忙。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Très bien placé

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels
Le personnel est très accueillant, l'hôtel est à 100 mètre d'une rue très prisée et à 500 mètre du métro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jessica from Sydney

Excellent Location, room was fine.

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: The location mostly. I like that it is amongst where local people shop and eat but very close to busier areas and train station.
Cons: Facilities such as the bathroom could be newer but were perfectly functional.
Location: Its amongst Hutong laneways, 5 mins walk to the subway, around the corner from local market stalls and shops, close to Qianhai Lake and Beihai Park.
An excellent location amongst the Hutong area, as long as you don't mind taking a few twists and turns down the alleyways to find it. Only 5 minutes walk to the train station and the Qianhai Lake restaurants and bars. The hotel was cute, basic but very adequate to sleep in. Air con was great, Wifi a bit patchy but did the job. Room was secure with a key card. Staff were friendly and helpful although limited English. They arranged a few tours for me and were happy to make phone inquiries for me. I would recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by enjay55 from Sydney, Australia

Posted Feb 9, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent value. The Room satisfies all the basic needs of a traveler in a great location being reasonably close to the main tourist attractions. You wont be disappointed unless you are thinking you'll get *** amenities for this price!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Charlotte from France

Trés mauvais rapport qualité/prix

Posted Jun 13, 2013 on Hotels
Nous sommes resté 6 nuits dans cet hôtel et nous avons été extrêmement déçus, chambre non conforme à la description, aucune aide pour les sorties à l’extérieur, propriétaire très mal poli, chambre sale jamais nettoyée, serviettes de bain jamais changées, gros insectes dans la salle de bain, poubelle jamais vidée, chewing-gums collés au mur, la clé électronique ne marchait pas, il fallait constamment appeler le personnel pour ouvrir et fermer la porte derrière nous, il ne se donnait dés fois même pas la peine de la fermer quand nous partions alors que nous leur demandions. Les toilettes étaient bouchées nous pouvions à peine les utiliser. Le propriétaire est venu une fois pour essayer de les déboucher, il pleuvait, il a foutu de l'eau partout dans la chambre avec ses vieilles pantoufles, il est parti de la chambre sans nous dire un mot, si c'était opérationnel ou non (il a juste dit par la suite à sa nièce à la réception que c'était bon alors que c'était faux) il a vaguement essuyé ses traces avec une vieille serpillère dégueulasse qui trainait dehors, du coup c'était encore plus sale qu'avant et ça puait, et les toilettes n'étaient toujours pas débouchées, il a fallu demander à nouveau à sa nièce pour que quelqu'un d'autre essaye, on nous a dit à nouveau que c'était bon mais ça ne l'était pas! On a fait cinq hôtels en chine, c'est le seul qui nous a déçu, nous déconseillons vivement ce lieu, beaucoup trop cher pour ce qu'il est en vérité...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karel (56) from Utrecht, Nederland

Fijn hotel

Posted May 26, 2013
Pros: De ligging in Beijing, bereikbaarheid, de fietshuur en de excursie naar de Chines muur.
Cons: De badkamer
Location: Midden in een traditionele Chinese woonwijk (hutong) en het dagelijks leven vand e Chinezen
Fijn, maar eenvoudig hotel op een mooie locatie in Beijing, midden in een hutong. Het dagelijks leven van de Chinezen in dit wijkje wordt zo goed zichtbaar. Veel restaurantjes op loopafstand evenals een markt in de ochtend. Goed bereikbaar met de metro (lijn 2), en daardoor is veel in Beijing goed te bezichtigen. Klokkentoren en drumtoren zijn bijna om de hoek. De beheerders zijn erg behulpzaam en aardige mensen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chubby from Manchester, UK

Great location the best...

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Friendliness
Cons: None...
Location: Brilliant old Hutong area to explore
No bad experience, great location, friendly staff too, especially arranging sightseeing tours.. Will be back and stay next time when i going to Beijing without doubt..