Ratings based on 603 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Good location

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: The common areas were cold since it was winter but we found that in most areas in China.
Location: Close to the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square.
The hotel is in a good location within walking distance of the Forbidden City. The staff at the hotel was very nice and very helpful. The breakfast at the hotel was very good and worth adding to your stay. The other restaurant and bar within the hotel was also very good. Beijing is very big but there are many things within walking distance of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Many thanks for having taken the time to share another superb feedback about your stay at Raffles Beijing with the Expedia community. Thank you for your superb review of Raffles! We really appreciate your kind words about our hotel, especially in regards to our prime location and that you liked our breakfast. Thank you once again for your positive review and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Warm regards, Christian Sack – General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Raffles attentive service in a tired hotel.

Posted Jan 27, 2016
The professional and attentive service in Raffles Beijing is compromised by tired facilities in need of some refurbishment. Having stayed at Raffles hotels around the world, my expectations of Raffles Beijing were high, but nothing more than I had xperienced in other Raffles Hotels. Professional service of very attentive staff is impeccable and personalised without being intrusive. Unfortunately, the general condition of the rooms and facilities fall some way short of expectations. Heating in the rooms is on or off with no temperature control. Rooms are of a good size but the decor is tired and worn. Wifi is available but is only sufficient for basic email. If you want to catchup on world news, a wide selection of channels is available on the TV but reception is often of poor quality making it very difficult to watch. Breakfast is what you get in most branded chain hotels, a self service buffet with a wide and varied selection of a reasonable quality. I did not use hotel restaurants so I can't comment on quality, selection or service. I did make extensive use of the business lounge where service met all my expectations of the Raffles brand. The afternoon tea in the business lounge was rather disappointing with a poor selection of average quality sandwich and pastry bites, more often dried out where left for too long. I did not use the gym or spa facilities so I can't comment on those. The hotel pool is unheated and doesn't appear to be very clean or well maintained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Christian , Hotel Management
Dear Guesrt, Many thanks for having taken the time to write a very detailed expedia review. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall especially that you appreicated the service we had to offer. We are even more grateful for the detailed recommendations that we will certainly take into consideration during our next renovation. As a matter of that, we are currently working on a number of projects to upgrade our hardware in all guest rooms, which should assist us targeting and rectifying the shortcomings mentioned. I am certain that on your future visit, you will notice these positive changes. In addition, we are delighted to announce that we have launched a new executive menu which was implemented last week with various selections of chinese and western delicacies. Your candidated feedback has also been shared with our Director of Food and Beverage as well as Executive Chef. Thank you once again for your feedback as only by candid comments such as yours are we able to improve. It would be our pleasure to host you again. Warmest Regards. Christian Sack General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful staff

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: Staff,position, food, quality of the room and general amenties.
Cons: Room was a little warm at times. Towels could be better.
Location: Top location with every major attraction on your doorstep.
The hotel staff could not do enough for you. So attentive and so well trained. Food was great and facilities top order. The location of the hotel is fantastic. We will definitely use the hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2016 by Christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of Raffles Beijing Hotel. I was delighted to read your review and appreciate your positive comments about us; I am especially grateful for your praise about our food, comfort of room and the service, what really defines Raffles. Thank you once again for your very detailed review and we hope to welcome you back soon! Christian Sack - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with excellent staff and amenities

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms, nice amenities, special service.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is very close to the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square.
Our rooms were all suites, which was fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2016 by Christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of Raffles Beijing Hotel. I was delighted to read your review and appreciate your positive comments about us; I am especially grateful for your praise about the charm of our property. Thank you once again for your very detailed review and we hope to welcome you back soon! Christian Sack - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Amazing suite, world class service

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Hotel was extremely accommodating and had great service. We got upgraded to a suite which was huge and very well setup. Room was clean and quite. Also walking distance to Tienanmen Square and good restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2015 by Christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your superb review of Raffles! We really appreciate your kind words about our hotel, especially in regards to our prime location and room comfort. We are looking forward to welcoming back in the near future. General Manager Christian Sack
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Posted Nov 22, 2015
This hotel was nothing short of amazing. We were treated like royalty and I honestly could not find a fault with this hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning on staying at a central location in Beijing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2015 by Christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of Raffles Beijing Hotel on Expedia.We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that you were impressed with all our offerings Thank you once again for your strong recommendation of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Christian Sack – General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from baltimore, md

Very close to shopping and sightseeing

Posted Nov 19, 2015
The hotel is the true definition of traditional Beijing meeting modern. We loved our suite and the service there was spectacular. Had a hand written welcome letter at check in from the GM. Fresh flowers and fresh fruit in my room. On the morning of my leave, I ran out of Chinese RMB (I didn't want to take extra back to USA) the clerk was super helpful and simply charged my card for my desired amount in US dollars and gave me exchanged RMB on the spot. Although the towels at the hotel had major holes in them.... I overlooked it and focused on the other goods of the hotel.My next visit, I will definitely be staying at this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2015 by Christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of Raffles Beijing Hotel. I was delighted to read your review and appreciate your positive comments about us; I am especially grateful for your praise about the charm of our property. Thank you once again for your very detailed review and we hope to welcome you back soon! Christian Sack - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

歩行者天国に近いホテル

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: 安らぎが得られるホテルです。
Cons: 水洗トイレがあれば、もっと素敵です。
Location: 地下鉄の駅「王府井」がホテルのすぐ前ですので、移動にはとても便利です。
全体的に西洋風(特にホテルの外観とロビー)ではあるが、中国的な調度品が室内に随所配置され、優雅さが突出しているホテルという印象でした。多数ある北京の高級ホテルの中においても、異質的な存在と思う。機会があれば、再度泊まりたいホテルです。
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2015 by Christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Christian Sack – General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

お勧め出来ます。

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
天安門広場に歩いて行く事が出来、裏は王府井で買い物・食事も至便。タクシーにも”北京飯店”と言えばまず間違えない。部屋は1日2回整えてくれ、家具のメンテや広さもOK.良いホテルですね。
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2015 by Sherry, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of Raffles Beijing Hotel. I was delighted to read your review and appreciate your positive comments about us.Thank you once again for your very detailed review and we hope to welcome you back soon! Christian Sack - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a central location

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location. Quiet and comfortable room. Courteous staff.
Cons: Price of food was outrageous.
Location: Forbidden city, Tiananmen, lots of shopping and food within blocks. Subway station and bus stops right outside the door.
Very nice hotel, in the perfect location. Very pleasant staff. Nice quiet rooms. I was told we had one of the smaller rooms in the hotel, but it was one of the largest suites we saw on our whole trip to China. The only complaint I have is to the cost of the buffet breakfast. It is a huge buffet and very god staff, but it costs $45 per person. That's just too much for any breakfast. We went to the hotel next door for half that price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2015 by Christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for having taken the time to share the encouraging feedback, We are thrilled to learn that you liked our hotel especially that you were impressed by our rooms. In regards to the restaurant prices and to maintain our competitive position within the local market, we are conducing bi-annual market surveys and adjust our pricing accordingly. Based on your feedback we will be preparing a third survey in order to see if there have been any unforeseen market adjustments that we need to respond to.Thank for again for your review and we are looking foreard to seeing you again in the near future. Christian Sack-General Manager