Ratings based on 546 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional = old?

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: - Delicious in-room dinning. - Big rooms. - Courteous staff. - Nice location. Cons: - Will benefit from a renovation. - No courtesy in-room coffe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2015 by Christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Many thanks for having taken the time to write a very detailed tripadvisor review. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall especially that you apprieciated about our service and rooms. We are even more grateful for the detailed recommendations that we will certainly take into consideration during our next renovation. As a matter of that, we are currently working on a number of projects to upgrade our hardware in all guest rooms, which should assist us targeting and rectifying many of the shortcomings mentioned. Coffee machines are currently served in all suites only. I am certain that on your future visit. you will notice these positive changes. Thank you once again for your positive review and we look forward to hosting you once again soon. Warm regards, Christian Sack – General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice spacious hote

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Every think nice except the conceige they charge too much for every thing
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2015 by Christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your recent review of Raffles Beijing Hotel. I was delighted to read your review. Furthermore, we have also taken good note of your comments towards our Concierge price items mainly in regards to the tour,tickets and limosine arrangement. Having analyzed our pricing earlier this year, including competitor’s pricings, we actually believe it is very competitively priced. However, we will definetly review the price again including the third parties we are working with according to your comments.Thank you once again for your very detailed review and we hope to welcome you back soon! Christian Sack-General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, Colorado

A soothing oasis

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The tasteful décor, excellent service.
Cons: Written instructions for guests to give to taxi drivers on how to find the hotel.
Location: The location is fantastic. An easy five minute walk to the Forbidden City and Tianmen Square.
The Raffles Hotel was an excellent experience in Beijing. For tourists the location can't be beat -- walking distance to the Forbidden City and Tianamen Square. The amenities and service at the hotel are top notch and the experience was relaxing and enjoyable. I especially appreciated the tea service at checkin when I was exhausted and tired. In contrast to the rest of the city which feels polluted and hectic, getting back to Raffles was a soothing and enjoyable experience every day. My only critique - which is not of the hotel but of taxi drivers in the city - despite providing written directions in Mandarin - I had 3 taxi drivers that were unable to locate the hotel. Perhaps a map or written instructions for taxi drivers on how to find the hotel?
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2015 by Christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of Raffles Beijing Hotel. I was delighted to read your review and appreciate your positive comments about us; I am especially grateful for your praise about the charm of our property. In specific we have noted your comment in regards to the difficulty and inefficiency of taxi services. The taxi situation around the location of our hotel has been challenging since the day I joined this hotel. There are a number of restrictions in place that limit our flexibility and freedom to receive taxis, compared to other major areas of the city. We have been unsuccessful until this moment with local taxi drivers to find a way around these restrictions. However, this shall not be an excuse for the shortcomings you experienced but an explanation and motivation for us to continue our ambition to finalize an alternative arrangement with a limousine provider that will allow us to provide safe, reliable and continuous transportation in front of the hotel by having entry level limousines such as VW Passat available for our guests at very competitive fixed rates to the 2nd 3rd and 4th ring road areas. This is an added service, for which the hotel will not take any revenue share as we see it as a necessity and basic service for our guests. Thank you once again for your positive review and we look forward to hosting you once again soon. Christian Sack – General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

world class service in a great location

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Again, the service is world class.
Location: Steps from Wangfujing, the "ginza-like" pedestrian street. In the other direction, 3 blocks from the Forbidden City, Tianamen Square and the Egg.
The level of service at this hotel is extraordinary. Relatively small (I think under 200 rooms) so this provides personalized attention from a well-trained and helpful staff. Concierge staff and hotel ambassador are not just attentive, but anticipate your needs. Even housekeeping staff is extraordinary, making sure that little things that you may not even notice are attended to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2015 by Christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of Raffles Beijing Hotel. I was delighted to read your review and appreciate your positive comments about us, especially in regards to our service. Your comment was already shared with all hotel memers especially John, our hotel embassador and concierge team and every was most appreciative. Thank you once again for your very detailed review and we hope to welcome you back soon! Christian Sack-General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ein Hotel mit Geschichte

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Ich hatte ein sehr schönes weiträumiges Zimmer
Location: In unmittelbarer Nähe zum Platz des Himmlichen Friedens und zur Verbotenen Stadt Gleichzeitig ist die Metrostation nahezu vor dem Hoteleingang.
Das ehemals "Grand Hotel of Beijing" hat ein wunderschönes Foyer. Man merkt sofort, dass in diesem Haus viel Prominenz sich aufgehalten hat und es immernoch tut. Eine schöne Kombination aus Klassisch und modern
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2015 by Christian, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your superb review of Raffles! We really appreciate your kind words about our hotel. Thank you once again for your positive review and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Warm regards, Christian Sack – General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Hamburg

Traditionsreich mit ein wenig Patina

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Die "Peking Enten-Pizza" im Restaurant "East 33".
Cons: Der Limousinenservice vom Flughafen könnte ein wenig pünktlicher sein,
Location: Das Hotel ist sehr zentral gelegen und befindet sich in fußläufiger Entfernung von der Verbotenen Stadt.
Das Raffles Beijing Hotel ist wohl das älteste (westliche) Hotel in Peking, weißt dementsprechend auch eine reiche Tradition, aber auch schon ein wenig Patina auf. Die Zimmer sind ordentlich und sauber ausgestattet, weisen aber auch schon einige Abnutzungserscheinungen (klemmende Türen, lose Telefonkabel, etc.) auf; teilweise ist die Zimmerausstattung nicht da, wo man sie erwartet (Minibar-Preisliste auf dem Nachtisch; Fön im Kleiderschrank). Das Personal ist durchaus bemüht, spricht aber großteils ein eher landestypisch beschränktes Englisch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Demi, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Many thanks for having taken the time to share you feedback about your stay at Raffles Beijing with the expedia community. We are certainly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and even more grateful for the recommendation that we will certainly take into consideration during our next renovation. Your detailed descriptions of the settings of our hotel are greatly appreciated. Thank you again for your positive review and we look forward to hosting you once again soon. Warm regards, Christian Sack – General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb location, friendly staff

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Hotel is within walking distance to Ti'anmen square, Wangujing shopping district, and lots of restaurants and street food vendors. Room was spacious and comfortable, with a large sitting area. A quiet retreat from a fully day of sight seeing. Staff was friendly and attentive, we arrived early morning, before room was ready, stored our luggage with Concierge, check-in was fast and hassle-free, also helped us with arranging taxi on day of departure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2015 by Demi, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for the review following your recent stay with us at Raffles Beijing. It is great to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the historic atmosphere and all the convenient elements we have to offer. I truly appreciate the time you took to share your experience about at our hotel on expedia. We hope to see you again in the near future. Warm regards, Christian Sack – General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 東京

優雅でクラシックなホテル

Posted Jun 15, 2015
エントランス、ロビー、団体客などはおらず、落ち着いた優雅な雰囲気。3日間滞在しましたが、最後の日にジャスミンティーの補充が忘れられていた以外は完璧でした。 ただ朝食は今のレートだと日本円で5000円近いです。今回の旅行はあまりお金をかけないと決めていたので、(それで何で5つ星に泊まるのかと思う人もいると思いますが、Expediaで中級ホテルと1万円ぐらいしか違わないプランがあったのです!!),なんと朝食については日本から持っていったパンや向こうで買ったヨーグルト、果物で済ませてました(ホテルにとっては嬉しくない客だったでしょうね)部屋の冷蔵庫のジュース等もめちゃくちゃ高いです。でも小さなミネラルウォーターの瓶は毎日2本ずつサービスで置いてくださってました。 コンンシエルジュはまあまあです。でも、多くはないけど必要十分な情報を提供してくれ、紹介してもらったツアーや観劇も楽しめました。
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2015 by Demi, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Many thanks for having taken the time to share you feedback about your stay at Raffles Beijing with the expedia community. We are certainly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and even more grateful for the recommendation that we will certainly take into consideration during our next renovation. Your detailed descriptions of the settings of our hotel are greatly appreciated. Thank you again for your positive review and we look forward to hosting you once again soon. Warm regards, Christian Sack – General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Siu mui from Hong Kong

great location

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
Good location and hotel is classic but interior little bit old.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2015 by Sherry, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Many thanks for having taken the time to share the feedback about your stay at Raffles Beijing with the tripadvisor.com community.We are even more grateful for the detailed recommendations that we will certainly take into consideration during our next renovation. As a matter of that, we are currently working on a number of projects to upgrade our hardware in all guest rooms, which should assist us targeting and rectifying many of the shortcomings mentioned. I am certain that on your future visit. you will notice these positive changes. Thank you once again for your positive review and we look forward to hosting you once again soon. Warm regards, Monica Ji Executive Assistant
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2015 by Sherry, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to share your sentiments on Expedia. We are certainly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and even more grateful for the recommendation that we will certainly take into consideration during our next renovation. Thank you once again for your positive review and we look forward to hosting you once again soon. Warm regards, Monica Ji- Executive Assistant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Loved it! Can't beat location, excellent service

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
no thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by Sherry, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for the review following your recent stay with us at Raffles Beijing. It is great to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the historic atmosphere and all the convenient elements we have to offer. I truly appreciate the time you took to share your experience about at our hotel on Expedia. We hope to see you again in the near future. Warm regards, Christian Sack – General Manager