Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Quaint and Charming

Posted Jun 27, 2017
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is quaint and charming. It's a little oasis in the middle of bustling Beijing. Close to the subway and shops and within walking distance of Forbidden City, Tianamen Square and a fabulous Peking Duck restaurant! The staff was lovely and the details of this hotel gave our trip a cozy personal feel which was really special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great hotel, good location

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Great staff, good restaurant, nice rooms
Location: Tourist sites, shopping, restaurants
Great staff, a gem in downtown Beijing. Restaurant offers a patio
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Gem in downtown Beijing

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Courteous staff. Fitting décor.
Location: Located downtown and walking distance to shopping and many tourist sites. Plenty of eating places available.
Great hotel located in a quiet neighbourhood. Great Staff, Patio restaurant and within walking distance of may tourist sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK

Excellent boutique hotel in central Beijing.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The service is sensational and thankfully every staff member's English was considerably better than my Mandarin.
Cons: Food and drink prices aren't the cheapest (although quality is very good).
Location: Central Beijing on your doorstep - you're a few minutes from the Metro and Ghost Street. Also within staggering distance of 2 local microbreweries.
From check in to check out the Red Wall Garden provided us a level of personalised service we've yet to receive anywhere else. The staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating, chasing up a tour operator on our behalf when out transport to the Great Wall failed to show and providing us with maps, directions, tips and itineraries for everything we were looking to do during our stay. Without being prompted (I assume they worked it out from our passport details) they also laid on a cake and some flowers when we returned to our room on my wife's birthday. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Staff, restaurant, ambience
Cons: Shower facility
Location: Wangfujing Road is close by. Good subway access
Great hotel in a very good location. The staff were simply amazing - polite, friendly and helpful (particularly the front desk girls). The restaurant served excellent food, (we ate there every night) reasonably priced in a lovely calm setting. We absolutely loved the decor and ambience. A few small things which did not affect our stay particularly - the shower heads would benefit from descaling along with the drain being cleared to allow the water to flow out faster. In all we absolutely LOVED this hotel and would absolutely return! After all ... they gave us a gift on departure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland, Australia

Extremely friendly and helpful staff

Posted May 4, 2017
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful also very proactive in Providing useful helpful information. My husband was unwell and needed to see a doctor. Within 5 minutes staff had organised an appointment with a Western doctor and arranged a taxi. Room was large, clean and nicely furnished - great bed, with lots of little added extras. The hotel is only small which means you are treated as an individual rather than a number. Every time the staff saw me, they asked after my husband - this would not happen in a big hotel. We did not use the restaurant as my husband was not up to eating however it was always busy and the food looked excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you enjoy personalised attention and an environment with character.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional courtyard feel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Loved this little boutique hotel, tucked into the residential Hutong neighborhoods. Great location to explore Beijing. Rooms were great with communal areas to hang out. The customer service was absolutely amazing they helped us with anything we needed. I would never stay anywhere else in Beijing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect choice for few days in Beijing

Posted Apr 7, 2017
All been said here already. Location, staff, property all charming. Recommend trying their bike rental (free) service - downtown Beijing is utterly flat - but you need to be confident on a bike to enjoy the chaos 😀
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Hotel with the oriental feel and friendly staff

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Ideal for those who desire an oriental ambiance stay in Beijing. The rooms are big and comfortable. Hotel staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable as they patiently recommended area of interest and guide us how to get to the various locations. Good access to public transportation as the train station is about 10mins walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Red Wall Garden Hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The hotel was lovely, in a traditional style but was clean and had western facilities. Breakfast was a mix of Chinese and western foods for those who didn't fancy rice and dumplings in the morning. The staff were all super helpful and friendly and spoke English which was great. They booked theatre tickets, restaurant reservations and even gave us a tea ceremony towards the end of our stay.