Ratings based on 598 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brusbane

Four walls, a roof and a locked door

Posted May 22, 2016 on Wotif
The hotel might have been a 3 star rating 20 years ago. Since then the only refurbishment has been to replace the television. The whole interior needs to the stripped out and renovated. The shining light was the laundry which removed a bad stain from a shirt.
5 out of 5
by JAMES H from Oklahoma City

In Beijing last week

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
The staff is professional and do make the efforts to be hospitable and accomadating. Be patient and smile and the same will be returned. Beware of the money exchange rate. When the various drivers say '3' be sure it is not '300'. It may be $.50 or $5.00. Get the hotel to call you a cab. Men: beware of women who ask "where you from". These little darlings, work at getting a lot of your money. Get it, it is a scam. Overall great visit. Schedule time to rest, the excursions can be exhausting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, close to forbidden city

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Reception stuffed our booking and put us in a twin room, we booked a double room for a 6 night stay. At first we thought we'd just roll with the punches but upon closer inspection, the beds were dirty (still had hair from the previous guests in them), the bathroom was filthy. Asked to change room, hotel put us up in a different wing, in a cleaner-ish room but closer to the street. On Saturday and Sunday morning, it gets very noisy from the tour groups and tour buses on the street. The tour desk at the hotel were a joke. We booked an acrobatic show and rented a private car to go to the Great Wall. The driver didn't speak English (we assured he would) and literally begged for tips. The acrobatic show was a one-way drive, we wouldn't have minded if only we were told about it when booking. We had to arrange our own taxi for the return leg. Taxis seem to be very picky with fares in Beijing. For the Great wall day trip, again, we weren't told that we would have to fork out extra for the tolls (both ways). That's after deciphering what the driver was trying to say. Not his fault this time, but the tour operator somehow "forgot" to tell us these 'minor' details, even after we asked for confirmation that everything would be taken care of.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Terrebonne, Oregon

Great Location

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Older hotel but well maintained .
Location: Forbidden City around the corner and also close to subway Dongsi station. Small convenience stores close by as well as restaurants.
I had a very good stay and hotel staff were very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Jackie, Jane & Scott from Brisbane, Australia

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: It's location and they have a nice Chinese restaurant although some meals are very Chinese.
Cons: Does need a little upgrading, a new lick of paint etc
Location: This hotel is really close to the Forbidden City and a short walk to Wangfujing Street. We walked around and explored from our hotel.
We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. As we hadn't paid much we were a bit concerned however the room was clean and the staff made up the room everyday. The staff were friendly, even with the language barrier we managed to work things out. Lots of smiling, signing and nodding. The hotel is a little shabby around the edges and could use an upgrade but don't let this put you off booking.
2 out of 5
by Douglas from Tokyo

Past it's prime

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is well past it's prime. Dark hallways, peeling wallpaper, unfriendly staff. Despite showing my Hotels.com reservation confirmation it took five staff and twenty minutes to find my information. Close to the Forbidden City and only worth the money if you pay less than half of the insanely high regular room rates.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kon L.

Great location near the Forbidden City

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Orbitz
Great location, within walking distance of the Forbidden City. The lobby/check-in area was nice. Room was small and lighting was quite dim. Breakfast was buffet style with good Chinese and Western selections. Concierge was very helpful, helped us arranged a private car and driver for a day trip to the Great Wall at Mutianyu and the Summer Palace at a very reasonable price. If you will be out sight-seeing most of the day, this is definitely a practical and economical lodging option.
3 out of 5
by John from Dubai

Non English speaking

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was just OK. Hardly anyone speak English. Room is very small size Taxi and Motor riksha drivers near hotel dont speak English and are very rude. Taxi and motor riksha drivers near hotel cheat you asking for Euro and US$
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from China 10 years

Good location but crap service and facilities

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: The location is fantastic - it's a five minute walk from the corner of the Forbidden city and a little known tourist fact that there is a back door.
Cons: less deception, if I wanted a single bed I would have asked for one.
Location: Go to the back of the Forbidden City and enter that way to avoid crowds. Also walk the opposite direction about 15 minutes to Wangfujing food street
I booked the economy King sized room to find that not only was it the size of a postage stamp but the bed was not much bigger than a single bed. the entire room stank of smoke and when I complained about it was told there were no other rooms available, despite the hotel appearing to be less than 20% full. Certainly there were not many people wandering around the hotel corridors or lobby at an time and the reception didn't appear very busy. The guaranteed high speed internet didn't work and we were connected a slow speed router for wifi, the IT guy was great getting it fixed up and operating in s very short period of time but then apologising for the slowness of it. Final complaint about the size of the bed: when I asked the cleaner if they had any smaller beds she replied this was the smallest and when I asked the reception why I didn't get a King sized bed they replied this is our hotel's king sized bed. Even the large rooms I saw when looking around were quite small, this is an overnight stay hotel, not a few days. Obviously what they write in their advertising and what they present to their clients are not the same.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Last time, never again

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Jingshan Park and Forbidden City
Cons: Everything.
Location: Location has recently been swamped with domestic tour groups, stay a little further away.
Stayed here many times before, however hotel has spent little money on upkeep/maintenance. Very disappointing to see wall paper peeling off the walls and rooms smelling of fresh paint (touch ups less than 24 hours prior to having guests staying in them). Many good hotel in this area, let alone Beijing, so spend your money on a better hotel.