Ratings based on 441 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

位置離地鐵站較遠,職員很友善

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: 職員很友善
Cons: 設施有點舊,浴室空間小,要等一段時間才有熱水且水力小
Location: 故宮,南鑼鼓巷
酒店位置離地鐵站較遠.需走20分鐘才到地鐵站.酒店設施有點舊,浴室空間小,要等一段時間才有熱水且水力小.但酒店職員很友善,整體也算舒適
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Amazing location!

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: Location!
Cons: Staff communication, but we are in their country after all so maybe that isn't fair.
First of all, the location of this hotel is great. It is on a busy little Hutong style street. You can walk to the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square and the entrance to Jinshang Park is literally steps away. The room we had was a little small by US standards but plenty big for 2. The bed was a little hard but that seems typical in Asia. The staff didn't speak English particularly well but they tried using their phones to translate. It was complicated to ask them directions and we ended up not asking any more after a few confusing answers. Overall though, we really enjoyed it. The street is just wonderful, with fresh produce stands and street food carts up and down it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Near it all

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Pros: Located in market area next to "temple park". Walk to Forbidden City and Wanfuji Street shopping district. Alley cafe has western food & atmosphere.
Cons: Breakfast has local fare and limited western fare (fried eggs, bacon, toast, coffee); always seemed to be cold and somewhat limited in quantities.
Location: Visit Wagfuji Street shopping, Forbidden City, Tian Anmen Square, Hutong Alley Markets, other historical sights, and local bars and restaurants.
The Shatan Hotel is close enough to walk, ride bike/scooter, take a cab or bus to any of the sights. The staff was always polite and as helpful as possible. Whle the room had air conditioning, it didn't seem to have heat (all control information was in Chinese characters). This is not a high-end hotel to "hang-out" in, yet a great base of operations for the active sightseer/shopper.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Patrick from London

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was very centrally located, the room was clean and spacious and the staff was friendly. The only issue was that the room had no window so no view to the city or natural light.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Katrine from Oslo

Nice and clean hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
We were four girls from Oslo staying three nights at this hotel. Despite their poor english, we had a nice stay. The rooms were clean and big. The breakfast was very chinese, but okay. Overall, a nice stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Nightmare

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Close to downtown but dangerous area...The worst hotel in the world, and rude staff, they are not bilingual (sings all the time) They demand deposit for terrible service.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Nanna from Aarhus

God beliggenhed men ringe service. A

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
Vi havde et værelse uden vindue, hvilket vi vidste på forhånd. Men vires aircondition virkede ikke så der var en tung luft derinde. Vi blev lovet en fan men den kom aldrig på trods af at vi spurgte til den flere gange. Beliggenheden er perfekt i gåafstand til mange seværdigheder.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Zeinab

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
by tony from france

bofff

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
médiocre
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel near Tieneman square

Posted Oct 6, 2015
This hotel was a disappointment. The short flooded the bathroom, they refused to let you have an extra toilet paper. They did not replenish with clean coffee cups. Hotel staf was not very accommodating. I would never return to this hotel