Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, La.

Very Personal Hotel Close to City Center

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Location. Small, personal size. Welcoming staff. Very comfortable.
Cons: Maybe a small bank of drawers in the room for socks, t-shirts and other small items.
Location: Within easy walking distance - depending on weather, of course - to many activities and sites.
Overall an excellent experience. Most of the staff speaks some English, which is great since I speak no Chinese. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The meals I had at the hotel were good and reasonably priced. When I was overcome by Beijing air pollution one day and had to stay in, the staff was nice to check on me and offer to get some medicine. Location was great for tour bus pick-up for some day trips I had planned. But the hotel is also close enough to other attractions that you could walk to many sites. The Forbidden City is less than 1km away. Markets are close enough to walk to, as well. It was Autumn Festival when I was there, and there was a lot of activity at near-by lakes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel!!!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The architecture is what we wanted to experience, the main room is so beautiful, and our bedroom was incredible. Very nice, clean and comfortable.
Cons: Make sure the tours they offer are supervised by them and not from a third party. The lady from the tour company (Dana) was very unprofessional
Location: Take the subway or taxi and you will be at the Tianamen Square in less than 10 min, also Forbidden City, walking distance hutong by the water
Wanted to experience the Chinese Culture and this hotel gave us that opportunity. Really close to subway and this was an easy way of transportation around the entire city and also close to the points of interest. We decided to take the Tour to the Great Wall, and that was the only disappointment. If you are ok with waiting for 2 hours until the tour buses take off to the Great Wall, then the tour is for you. Other than that everything was really good, all hotel staff member were AMAZING, Joanna, Carrie, Seven were just incredible and they really helped us all the time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Great Hotel to experience Beijing culture

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Good location, impressive Ming style furniture, and super service.
Cons: The shower water flow. When the code water is added in the hot water, only a bit code water will significant lower the temperature.
Location: convenient metro to anywhere. very close to Prince Gong Mansion.
The hotel is located in the center of Beijing Hutong area. 5 star services with nice facilities. The daily changed breakfast can provide decent western and Chinese food. On the day we left earlier than the breakfast time, the hotel even packed a nice breakfast for us. We are very pleased with the service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016
Wonderful stay in fun area! Beautiful hotel with very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Authentic courtyard hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: The courtyard style, the styling generally.
Cons: Wifi connection, reception staff should be trained to speak quietly at night and in the early morning.
Location: Hutong area is charming and relatively compact, so easy to walk around. The lake is pretty.
This hotel is gorgeous! The rooms are exquisite, with real attention to detail. Being a courtyard hotel, all ground level rooms and suites open off the courtyard, which is charming but can be very noisy. My room AO1 backed onto reception, which meant I could hear people coming and going at all times of the day and night. Certain guests and staff were sometimes very noisy which was a little frustrating, but I'd still much rather stay here that in a standard hotel. Wifi was often poor, but I've found that to be the case in China generally. The staff were very friendly, although their English is very limited. The Hutong area was fantastic and very manageable, compared to the vastness of Beijing as a whole. The only downside is that taxi drivers did not always want to drive you back there, although there was never a problem hailing a taxi from the Hutong. I highly recommend this hotel for an authentic experience in Beijing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Place to Calm Down

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Very old area and your hotel is inbetween local living, so no shopping-area,nor any sightseeing area. Though forbiden city and parks are a 30 min walk
My Room had a very high ceiling and everything in that room/apartment was made out of real things. That gave me a great feeling of being "home" and calm. Would go there anytime again when I would visit Beijing again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, Michigan

Best boutique hotel I've stayed in

Posted Jul 3, 2015
I don't normally write a review unless I am in love with the place or stayed in a terrible hotel. This hotel is super cute and just absolutely beautiful. I mean drop dead beautiful. It's very traditional Beijing style or also known as siheyuan style buildings. The device is great and can speak English very well if needed. The free breakfast in the morning was awesome. I always got the Chinese breakfast while my boyfriend, who is from Tianjin, always got the American breakfast. Both are yummy and served in the little courtyard of the hotel. The only complaint I would say I had was the windows facing the courtyard are thin and let in some noise. Because he courtyard is enclosed the sound gets amplified making it way into the room while others have breakfast. Not a huge complaint because it wasn't to loud, but something noted if you're a light sleeper and want to sleep through breakfast that ends at 9:30. Basically the hotel is fairly new, maybe built/renovated a few years ago, and cleaned very nicely everyday. This hotel I will definitely stay again with my boyfriend when I come visit Beijing again. Note: it's a type of hotel that's meant for couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great Boutique Hotel Near Houhai Lake

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The staff, the rooms, the breakfast, the location, the price.
Cons: In the hotel, sound travels. If someone is having breakfast in the morning you can hear it in your room sometimes. Also, faster Wifi would nice.
Location: Near the Lake area: bars, restaurants, shopping. Beihai Park. Close to subway (think transportation not sandwiches)
My girlfriend and I stayed here for 9 days. It was wonderful. One of the their staff members (I'm not sure of her title), Lisa was incredibly helpful. She showed us where to eat and some of the activities in the area, and she helped us arrange a tour bus to the Great Wall. The whole staff was great but Lisa was a standout to us. The rooms themselves were really nice. The hotel used to be an official's home way back when and it's a traditional courtyard. The courtyard itself is covered so it stays nice and warm but still let's in a lot of light. They serve breakfast in the mornings, either Western or Chinese.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Like at home in old time

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Most have the impression Department attentive staff, their friendly attitude (including their parrot), the room is also a non-ordinary experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jac from UK

Authentic and modern

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Water pressure in the shower was a bit low
Location: Located away from central Beijing but only a cheap cab fare if that's where you need to be. Plenty of restaurants near the Hotel
My wife and I both enjoyed every minute of our 4 night stay in May 2014. The staff were friendly and efficient, the facility was exactly as advertised and it has a genuine old China atmosphere.