Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Close to communications

Be happy, with good service

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful stay. Dedicated staff (service-minded; A-lvl of english) and extremely good decor within the hotell - I'm definitly staying here next time as well!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget stay in historical area, but nothing more.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The hotel is located in a historical area with preserved buildings. The hotel has retro-style decorations though the building is rather new. As a whole it had good atmosphere, and shadow arts performance was nice to see. However, during my stay, there were many kids staying and enjoying various activities till late at night. Soundproofing was so poor that you could hear them from the other side of the building. The room is small but relatively clean considering it is a budget Chinese hotel. It was well kept but never without flies. Hotel staff spoke some English, but you should not expect much. They were all young and sometimes useless as service providers. The biggest problem of the hotel was transportation. Taxis did not want to come near the hotel because the roads around the hotel were so narrow. Even the reception could not get any taxi to come (apparently they only used Uber to call taxis) and told us to walk to the main road to catch taxi. The hotel was not well-known, so that I had to explain direction to drivers at times - rather difficult for non-Chinese speakers. There is no train station nearby either. It may be fine if you travel light, but I would not recommend if you are carrying around big suitcases. Overall, this hotel would be a fine choice if you are seeking experience of staying in the older part of Beijing. If your trip is more than that, you probably should choose somewhere else.
4 out of 5
by Yuen Shan

Nice small hotel with special theme

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel, cleaning is ok, room is comfortable. But it is a bit far from underground, and it takes you 15-20 mins walk to the nearest restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Good location but hard to find

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Good location but hard to find. Shadow art performance is impressed. Closing to lots of major tour interested points
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel, helpful staff

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Helpful staff, clean rooms, puppet show
Cons: Maybe having the name and address of the hotel in Chinese when confirming booking
Difficult to find as located in old area of Beijing with narrow alleys, so hard for taxi to negotiate. long walk to subway. Area itself good, close to lake. Hotel great and staff very helpful and the puppet show was great. Well worth seeing. Recommend arranging pick up if unable to communicate in Chinese. Fortunately found some people who were helpful in finding the hotel and once we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. Menu of 'snacks' limited, but the dumplings were delicious. Lots of restaurants in walking distance. Found areas around lake where local chinese had outdoor entertainment such as dancing outdoor cinema etc. which were interesting to see.
5 out of 5
by Annabelle

Great room and amazing service!

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
From the time we got to the hotel, the staff was extremely friendly and eager to help us. We got their prior to our check-in time, but they checked our bags so we could go do some sight-seeing prior to our official check-in; we even got to eat breakfast that morning! The next day, the front desk staff was extremely great about helping us contact our tour guide company and even packed breakfast for another couple who happened to be our guide company as well and who was running late that morning. Those little services really added up throughout our stay, and we were very impressed with the staff and quality of the hotel--especially for the very reasonable price for which we booked our stay. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel an would recommend it to anyone and everyone. The only hiccup was that when we checked out, we did so at 5:00am, and we were told that they could not refund our deposit on our credit card until 7:00am that day. When I looked later, there were no issues with the refund, so even this did not bother me!
5 out of 5
by DRSTI from Johannesburg

Fabulous experience!

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
we booked at Shichahai because the concept of staying in a Hutong among the locals seemed intriguing and it did not disappoint. the hotel is out of the city center however we had no problems getting around as it is close to a main road. it is also a 5 min walking distance to Honhai Lake which was spectacular and comes alive at night. the room was standard and clean. the bathroom was spacious and toiletries were provided. the booking also allows a free shadow art show which is unique to Chinese culture. the staff really tried to assist even though their English is limited. we did the dumpling course and the chef was very sweet and accommodating. it was overall the experience we wanted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Live in Old Beijing in Modern Comfort-

Posted May 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: I loved in charm and location--great staff willing to go an extra-mile for a customer.
Cons: The performance of the traditional Chinese screen puppets could have been much longer with more additional English explanations.
Location: It is a few blocks from Houhai Lake District and near Prince Gong's mansion.
The hotel is located in a picturesque working-class houton. One wanders through narrow lanes that have changed little since in the Qing Dynasty just a short walk to Houhai Lake/Entertainment District. However, the romances comes with some downsides. It is almost impossible to get a taxi to take you through the narrow lanes to the hotel. So, while you can get picked up in front of the hotel, expect to walk back a few blocks from a major street. InIt is a tiny boutique hotel, with an interesting Shichahai Shadow Art show, informal dumpling making classes, and a good bar. The rooms are small (average for Beijing hotels), clean, and modern. There is not a real restaurant. But, the hotel kitchen serves up a burger or Chinese dumplings at a moments notice:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, the performance is a nice extra.

Posted Apr 26, 2016
I was just passing through for a couple of days and didnt really spend a lot of time choosing the hotel, this hotel ticked all the boxes and exceeded expectations. The Shadow Art performance (30 minutes) is a nice fun extra - be aware it's only 3 evenings a week. English speaking staff are available on the front desk too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great little hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Great decor. Although a bit hard to find at first, it is in a really good spot: the neighborhood seems real and not touristy.