Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley, CA

Nice hotel in historic area

Posted May 26, 2017
This hotel is very clean, nice service, etc Be aware it is located right in the middle of a local are with very narrow passage ways and can be a bit hard to find. Other than that very nice...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exelent location

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Exelent location right in the middle of the houtongs where you see daily life where the locals live. Felt perfectly safe day and night wandering the little alleyways. Try to go to the park near the lake at the bottom of the road (right out of hotel) at night to experience some local culture. Don't miss the Shadow puppets performance it's unique. Don't expect the Waldorf but then you should be out exploring this escape from the Gucci type high street than spending loads of time in your room. This will not disappoint if you want to see real China in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

A must stay hotel !!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Unique and a great opportunity to be in the middle of a local Beijing neighborhood.
Cons: Instructions for heat and air conditioner which were not in English. Shower door opens the wrong direction.
What an enjoyable experience! Great shadow arts performance show, wonderful breakfast and great staff. I highly recommend a stay here during your visit to Beijing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flagstaff, AZ

Nice for families

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Quaint
Cons: Cleaner bathroom shower.
Location: Hochai Lake is a nice place to walk or use exercise equipment at the park. Many fun karaoke bars, great hot pot restaurant and lots of shopping.
Our family enjoyed our stay here for our last three nights in Beijing. We liked staying in the Hutong district because we enjoyed our walks to Houhai Lake for shopping, eating and getting to know the local culture. The closest subway station is a little bit of a hike but we did use it a couple of times during our stay. The Shadow puppet show is such a treat! Our kids enjoyed painting an actual shadow puppet to take home for a small purchase.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast, Australia

Great Hotel but Depressing Room

Posted Apr 1, 2017
This is a lovely little hotel in a very interesting area. The subway is close and super cheap. The lakes and hutong areas offer so much ( Beihie Park, Nanlouguchiang St, Houhai, rear entry to Forbidden City,etc). We ate in super-cheap local restaurants and met lovely people and felt safe walking home at night. Very peaceful and a real insight into real Beijing. The staff are all very helpful and we were more than satisfied with the breakfast. However our room was really small and the bed was built into the corner of the room. There was no indication of this on the booking site. I am a fit '60s something' but don't enjoy crawling across the bed to get in and out, especially during the night. This is a 2 star feature. The one other irritating feature was the air conditioning. We had an internal room and even in cool early spring Beijing we were stuffy and hot. We asked reception several times to help but it made no difference. Thank goodness we didn't need to spend too much time in the room. The bathroom was fine. I would still recommend it if you are able to choose your room. It's a great alternative to soulless big city chains on big busy roads.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Coolest hotel ever. Made the trip

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Great hotel very impresssed. Loved the shadow puppets. Great service. Almost don't want to give a good review because I don't want the prices to increase haha. And they also have the best lotion smells Amazing! def a good experience culturally and so much better than staying at a Marriott. This is one of a kind hotel
5 out of 5
by Kimberley

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
This was a lovely hotel. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was very nice and had plenty of choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from VA

Very good hotel in Beijing

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: People, location.
Location: Many points of interests like Shichahai, Gongwangfu et al.
Very quiet place in Old Beijing Hutong area near Houhai. Also very close to the metro station 'North Beihai' within 1000 meters. People there are very nice and welcome. Staying in the hotel, I can almost touch the 'old days' of Beijing people which is in contrast with that in other modern cities of China. In sum, it is a great place with a reasonable price and I think I will choose it again if I visit Beijing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Quiet and great for exploring

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: have mentioned that
The hutong area is quiet and great for exploring. Shadow puppet evening a delight (they even let the kids have a go afterwards!). You can walk from hotel to back of the Forbidden City in about an hour if you so choose.
5 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels