Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from VA

Very good hotel in Beijing

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: People, location.
Location: Many points of interests like Shichahai, Gongwangfu et al.
Very quiet place in Old Beijing Hutong area near Houhai. Also very close to the metro station 'North Beihai' within 1000 meters. People there are very nice and welcome. Staying in the hotel, I can almost touch the 'old days' of Beijing people which is in contrast with that in other modern cities of China. In sum, it is a great place with a reasonable price and I think I will choose it again if I visit Beijing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Quiet and great for exploring

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: have mentioned that
The hutong area is quiet and great for exploring. Shadow puppet evening a delight (they even let the kids have a go afterwards!). You can walk from hotel to back of the Forbidden City in about an hour if you so choose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A classic place to stay in Beijing.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Had a very good experience staying at this boutique hotel. The staff is extremeley accomodating and makes you feel very much at home. Very convenient location and gives you a very warm feeling with cultural feel of China in the traditional hutong area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Old Beijing

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The hotel has a modern/old twist. 2 minutes away from the lake. 15 mins walk to nearest subway. Hotel hidden in the alleys so hard to find and navigate without google maps or a map. At night is gets very dark and there is very little light to guide you. Scary to walk at night but it is a residential area and people are in the homes. Hotel inside is pretty but furniture and carpets are very old and dirty when you take a closer look. Special rooms are in good size for single person. Bathroom and bed was clean. Overall cute boutique hotel but not what I expected. Ok for 1-2 nights max.
Cons: Public area furniture and carpet was very dirty and smelled bad.
Location: The lake is 2 mins away and is a good walk around for the evening when lights and cafes are open. 15 min walk to nearest subways station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee,WI

Unique Hotel W/ A Lot of Culture

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Shadow Puppet Show was very interesting and unique. The hotel was very clean and appealing. The hotel staff was very helpful and nice.
Cons: The television in our room wasn't working but we didn't stay in the room long enough to want to use it anyways so it wasn't a big deal.
Location: The resturants near the hotel are very good, Prince Kung's mansion which is a great site & shouldn't be missed, and it is close to the subway
The hotel is in the middle of a traditional style hutong and exposes all visitors to a unique experience unlike many hotels you could ever visit. The hotel itself is very well kept, the breakfast is great, and the hotel staff was very nice and polite. The hotel offers a shadow art puppet show for free for all guests which shouldn't be missed. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget stay in historical area, but nothing more.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The hotel is located in a historical area with preserved buildings. The hotel has retro-style decorations though the building is rather new. As a whole it had good atmosphere, and shadow arts performance was nice to see. However, during my stay, there were many kids staying and enjoying various activities till late at night. Soundproofing was so poor that you could hear them from the other side of the building. The room is small but relatively clean considering it is a budget Chinese hotel. It was well kept but never without flies. Hotel staff spoke some English, but you should not expect much. They were all young and sometimes useless as service providers. The biggest problem of the hotel was transportation. Taxis did not want to come near the hotel because the roads around the hotel were so narrow. Even the reception could not get any taxi to come (apparently they only used Uber to call taxis) and told us to walk to the main road to catch taxi. The hotel was not well-known, so that I had to explain direction to drivers at times - rather difficult for non-Chinese speakers. There is no train station nearby either. It may be fine if you travel light, but I would not recommend if you are carrying around big suitcases. Overall, this hotel would be a fine choice if you are seeking experience of staying in the older part of Beijing. If your trip is more than that, you probably should choose somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, the performance is a nice extra.

Posted Apr 26, 2016
I was just passing through for a couple of days and didnt really spend a lot of time choosing the hotel, this hotel ticked all the boxes and exceeded expectations. The Shadow Art performance (30 minutes) is a nice fun extra - be aware it's only 3 evenings a week. English speaking staff are available on the front desk too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great little hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Great decor. Although a bit hard to find at first, it is in a really good spot: the neighborhood seems real and not touristy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2016
This hotel is in a Hutong where it was not easy to find. But the breakfast was very nice and the shadow art performance was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, Va.

An oasis of the neighborhood

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: The staff was great! I use a cane to walk. The staff helped me all the time, especially at breakfast. Also, some of the younger girls "adopted" me
Cons: Grips in the shower.
I stayed there 13 nights. It was very relaxing. The staff was great. Although most of the staff had some knowledge of English, there was bound to be someone who spoke enough to get your questions answered. For the most part, the hotel was quiet at night. The breakfast buffet was very good.