Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ermelo

Zeer slecht hotel Smerig .

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: zeer slecht
Cons: niemand aanbieden
Location: goede locatie ook qua subway, verder niets
Prijskwaliteit zeer slecht. Dit hotel mag en moet je de mensen niet meer aanbieden. De badkamer en het toilet werd op heftig aandringen schoongemaakt. De kamer wordt niet schoongemaakt., dikke lagen stof. Het ontbijt, zeer beperkt werd geserveerd in de kelder, kil en onprettig. Wij waren de enige gasten. Nooit meer. Wij bieden een beter alternatief namelijk hotel SIHE Courtyard Hotel. Ligt een paar hutongs zuidelijker. Schoon, goede verzorging, vriendelijk personeel en qua prijs de helft goedkoper.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not for westerners

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed three nights at Spring Garden to get the hutong experience. The staff we helpful but the neighborhood had only two restaurants. Getting a cab was about impossible though staff did help. Not real close to anything. The room was nice. The furniture was all broken and chipped, and had probably not been dusted in a few years. The bathroom was semi clean. The biggest thing that westerners will not like is that the used toilet tissue was put in trash bin not toilet. Probably not for the faint of heart.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice surprise

Posted Jul 23, 2012
Pros: beautiful, old, historic, well-kept building. lovely traditonal chinese decor. good made to order breakfast.
Cons: most taxis had a hard time finding hotel. i found it was best to walk out a block to a main road to hail a cab.
Location: a bit too far from hou hai to walk but overall very good hutong location
We usually stay in a big, business hotel in Beijing. We had no idea what this hotel would be like but were very pleasantly surprised at how nice it is. A bit more expensive than other courtyard hotels but worth it. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Matthew from Sydney NSW, Australia

A beautiful reminder of old Beijing

Posted May 3, 2012
It was wonderful to return to the peace of the Spring Garden Courtyard Hotel after a busy day amid the crowds, dust and noise of Beijing. The staff were always friendly and exceptionally helpful. They were happy to book taxis, call restaurants and answer queries. The 500-year-old courtyard house is quite beautiful and reminds one of how much has been lost in a city ravaged by ring roads, tower blocks and seemingly endless construction sites.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from España

Hotel Sring Garden Courtyard: recomendable para visitar Beijing

Posted Jul 3, 2011
El hotel está cerca de una estación de metro en un barrio tranquilo. Es una zona céntrica adecuada para visitar la ciudad. La decoración y el ambiente son agradables, de estilo chino. El personal es extremadamente amable y hablan buen inglés. Solo que pedimos una habitación triple y era pequeña para tres.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pescara

Good Traditional Courtyard Hotel

Posted May 3, 2011
If you are looking for traditional place in Beijing, well this is the place that need. The rooms are beautiful, ours was a bigger one and it was very nice with traditional furniture.In the morning you can hear sounds of bird song. The front-desk staffs spoke English well, and were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were rather basic but adequate (choice of Chinese or Western). In terms of accessibility it is close to the subway (Ping'ali or Xisi - line 4) and reasonably central to the major sights. In terms of price it seemed on the high side but appropriate when compared with other options.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris France

Spring Garden Courtyard Hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2011
Hotel très atyique, style chinois traditionnel, avantages : peu de chambres (8) donc peu de monde, inconvénients : éloigné du centre de la ville, adresse peu connue des chauffeurs de taxis (des problèmes pour rentrer le soir), peu ou pas de service hotelier (lavage du linge, restaurant) et finalement prix très cher comparé à des hotels plus occidentaux type Novotel . Le personnel de l'hotel est très sympathique et toujours dispo pour rendre service ou donner des renseignements.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Goed hotel in het midden van Beijing

Posted May 10, 2010 on Hotels
Het hotel is prima gelegen al is het qua eetgelegenheden minder, maar met de metro ben je ook zo bij gedeelte van Beijing waar het wel goed toeven is qua restaurants. Het is al meer opgemerkt in de beoordelingen, dus wij waren voorbereid: de matrassen zijn erg hard. Als er nieuwe matrassen op de bedden zouden komen, zou dit hotel kunnen worden aangemerkt als een prima traditioneel chinees guesthouse, waar het goed toeven is. Nu hebben we het -ondanks de bedden- ook prima naar ons zin gehad. Heel vriendelijk en behulpzaam personeel dat behoorlijk Engels sprak
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great option

Posted Apr 15, 2010
Very cute and authentic, quiet hotel. Only about 10 rooms or so. Good western or Chinese breakfast. 24 hour door. Beautiful rooms. Hard beds, but thats the norm in China. Excellent location right by Hou Hai. Much better deal than more expensive and boring western hotels in Beijing.