Ratings based on 1,087 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Size of room

Posted Jan 11, 2017
In the Expedia website, the hotel described the room size as 700 square feet. I travel and stay at hotels every month. The room size was not much bigger than 500 square feet, a little disappointed as I like large rooms. I have stayed at the Swissotel before, other than the room size for this particular reservation, the hotel is clean and the staff are very nice and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to subway

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Nice hotel that is convenient for transport, food, supermarkets and 24 hrs convenient stall. Super good for tourist... especially for cold weather.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never stay in there!!!

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
in European countries many Swissotels are just perfect, clean, nice and comfortable; but this Swissotel was terrible, everything building, furniture and all facilitates are very old. Plus, service people were not really friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for staying with us at Swissotel Beijing. I am sorry you were not happy with your recent experience at our destination. Although our hotel has 26 years of wonderful history and located most conveniently to all the attractions offered by Beijing, it has seen better days. We are in midst of updating our facilities and look forward to greeting all of our guests in the new year. Regards, Mani Moinzadeh Swissotel Beijing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Central and convenient--but a little worn
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay!

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Central heating temperature setting was not operational, only on and off. Even when it was shut off, the room was extremely hot and I had to open the window to cool the room down. However, with the window open, you hear the construction banging noise in the middle of night and air pollution coming into the room. So it wasn't able to sleep during my stay there. Also, the toilets and drainage were constantly making flushing noise and emitting unbearable sewage smell from time to time. It was totally disgusting because the room was hot and it smelled like a dirty washroom. I've been complaining about the heating and cooling inssues for the past 10 years! They still haven't fixed it for some of their rooms. This is a 4 star hotel and the condition of the room from time to time is worse than a 2 star. I think the issue with the heating is it's centrally controlled and the thermostat must locate in a cooler part of the building. When I complained to the reception during my check out, she was laughing and didn't take me seriously.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your stay at Swissotel Beijing. We appreciate your repeated stays at our property. I am sorry the heating and cooling system were still not acceptable to you. Unfortunately most older hotels in Beijing carry a two pipe system which only allows either cooling or heating to work during different seasons. I always advise my guests either to shut off the air conditioning or open the window when the pollution permits. We also have a thermostat control which can lower the heating element and allow for some heat if you do not want a very cold room. Thank you again, Regards, Mani Moinzadeh Swissotel Beijing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Very good hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Orbitz
Clean and comfy room, nearby subway station and 7 eleven. Nice staff! Will stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel close to metro

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Cons: The lady at the front desk offered us an upgrade to a room on the 16th floor. We went for it, but upon reflection it was not worth it at all. I don
Location: The Beijing subway is very convenient. There is a McDonald's and a Starbuck's close by, in case you want breakfast.
I appreciated the fact that this hotel was only about 50 meters to the dongsishitiao metro station. It had a high standard in general.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Very close to Metro

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Convenient to the Metro
Location: Exit C at Metro Dongsi Shitiao
When I arrived I was told my reserved room type wasn't available but they upgraded me to an apartment which was very spacious with a kitchen, living area and bedroom. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is just a few steps from Exit C at Metro Dongsi Shitiao. I couldn't find nearby food so I traveled 1 metro to Donzhimen for food and supermarkets. The Gym is also well equipped.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient ,clean and great hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
I had a short stay in Beijing and picked up this hotel for the great location, friendly staff. great access to the capital Airport (PEK).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel in good location

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at this hotel several times, mostly because of location. There is a metro stop just outside the hotel, and for taxi coming and going, the hotel is very close to 2nd Ring Road There are many good restaurants an easy walk from the hotel. Walk east on Workers Stadium North Road or go out the back of the hotel and walk south on Dongzhong Street (turns into Jishikou East Road)