Ratings based on 1,101 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Old but convenient

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Major update needed compared to other modern hotels in Beijing
Building looks old and is old, room is small and outdated; however, it is right next to subway station, very convenient to travel using subway
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb Hotel close to Metro station

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, Great access, Very good attention.
The hotel is great with very comfortable and clean bedrooms. The staff is very helpful. Very expensive breakfast. Close to metro station to transport you to main attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

nice hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
Beautiful hotel and centrally located next to the subway. Within walking distance to several markets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Almost swisshotel

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: location, cleanliness, tv, wifi, english speaking staff.
Cons: the room smell so horrible and the hair dryer does not work
it was a pretty decent hotel with nice pool and gym. perfect location. good internet connection that i can access blocked sites without VPN. lovely staffs. prompt cleaning. HBO on the TV. >>>>> all is well EXCEPT the cigarette smell in my room it was so horrible it makes everything worse.<<<
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bahamas

Very good. Need to include breakfast

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Was comfortable and price well but it should of included breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Size of room

Posted Jan 11, 2017
In the Expedia website, the hotel described the room size as 700 square feet. I travel and stay at hotels every month. The room size was not much bigger than 500 square feet, a little disappointed as I like large rooms. I have stayed at the Swissotel before, other than the room size for this particular reservation, the hotel is clean and the staff are very nice and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to subway

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Nice hotel that is convenient for transport, food, supermarkets and 24 hrs convenient stall. Super good for tourist... especially for cold weather.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never stay in there!!!

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
in European countries many Swissotels are just perfect, clean, nice and comfortable; but this Swissotel was terrible, everything building, furniture and all facilitates are very old. Plus, service people were not really friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for staying with us at Swissotel Beijing. I am sorry you were not happy with your recent experience at our destination. Although our hotel has 26 years of wonderful history and located most conveniently to all the attractions offered by Beijing, it has seen better days. We are in midst of updating our facilities and look forward to greeting all of our guests in the new year. Regards, Mani Moinzadeh Swissotel Beijing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Central and convenient--but a little worn
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay!

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Central heating temperature setting was not operational, only on and off. Even when it was shut off, the room was extremely hot and I had to open the window to cool the room down. However, with the window open, you hear the construction banging noise in the middle of night and air pollution coming into the room. So it wasn't able to sleep during my stay there. Also, the toilets and drainage were constantly making flushing noise and emitting unbearable sewage smell from time to time. It was totally disgusting because the room was hot and it smelled like a dirty washroom. I've been complaining about the heating and cooling inssues for the past 10 years! They still haven't fixed it for some of their rooms. This is a 4 star hotel and the condition of the room from time to time is worse than a 2 star. I think the issue with the heating is it's centrally controlled and the thermostat must locate in a cooler part of the building. When I complained to the reception during my check out, she was laughing and didn't take me seriously.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your stay at Swissotel Beijing. We appreciate your repeated stays at our property. I am sorry the heating and cooling system were still not acceptable to you. Unfortunately most older hotels in Beijing carry a two pipe system which only allows either cooling or heating to work during different seasons. I always advise my guests either to shut off the air conditioning or open the window when the pollution permits. We also have a thermostat control which can lower the heating element and allow for some heat if you do not want a very cold room. Thank you again, Regards, Mani Moinzadeh Swissotel Beijing