Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Convenient to PKU but already showing some wear

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: Convenient location. Good, English-speaking staff.
Cons: They could pick up the room maintenance.
Location: PKU and Tsinghua universities
This is a good hotel, and especially convenient for visitors to Peking University (or Tsinghua probably). But despite being less than 10 years old it is showing some wear. I had no hot water the first evening, and the desk chair was broken (wouldn't go up/down so I was stuck with a chin-level work desk!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beijing near Peking University

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: The facilities are first class.
Cons: English help is a little hard to find, but I was in their country, not mine.
Location: Literally next to Peking University and short walk to an electronics mart.
Hotel itself was beautiful. Room very nice, as nice as you would find anywhere. Staff very friendly and very helpful, but few spoke English. They helped arrange cabs and made great suggestions for walking tours of Beijing. Food in hotel excellent. The swimming pool and health club is first class. I would highly discourage renting a car, no parking anywhere and driving a little crazy. Location of hotel is not near shops or restaurants so taxi or subway necessary to get to downtown or other sites. Same for restaurants, only one about 2 blocks away. Taxis are bad but subway only $3 anywhere. The city itself is a bit grimy but the people are almost universally helpful and friendly. The historical sites are amazing. You can often find unofficial guides at the sites and strike a rate there. We were fortunate and had no smog.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel near Peking University

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip. Room was large and clean and the bed was comfortable. Staff were polite and efficient.
3 out of 5
by Happy Wanderer from NZ

East meets West

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Located close to Universities.
Cons: More English speakers would be helpful.
Location: Located close to Tsinghua and Peking Universities.
Room was large. Airconditioning was too hot so I turned it off and resorted to opening the window (smog wasn't too bad). Minimal English spoken so dealing with issues like gluten free food was a challenge. The hotel felt sterile
3 out of 5
by RH from San Francisco, CA

Convenient to PKU and Tsinghua, but that's all

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: If you have business at PKU or Tsinghua, it's extremely well located. You can walk to either one. It's not a good location for most other potential de
Cons: Maintenance is definitely in need of improvement. They could do with some new carpet (or at least an occasional steam cleaning).
Location: PKU and Tsinghua Universities are right outside the door (or across the road).
In principle this is a nice new hotel, built around 2005/6 maybe. But it's already showing signs of decline. The bathroom sink leaked water from the drain onto the floor, and the shower drain was blocked (so also flooded water all over the bathroom floor). The room carpet looks like a herd of cattle recently passed through (with digestive disorder). And I discovered on the last morning of my stay that the electronic lock on the room door hadn't been locking itself as I left the room (I don't know if it had been like that throughout my stay - but anyway, nothing was stolen from my room). Internet connection is free, but gets really slow during the evening hours. Staff were attentive and helpful, and most spoke sufficient English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Dan from Philadelphia, PA

Nice hotel for stuff at PKU

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: The room was very comfortable and kept in a great condition. Nice, hot showers.
Cons: Open up the complimentary breakfast for more levels of guests.
Location: Most appropriate for events at Peking University but offers relatively easy accessibility to rest of the city by the nearby Number 4 line subway stop.
Stayed there for 3-day class at Peking University. Found the accommodations to be comfortable and clean. A little far from the city center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by single traveler from philadelphia-king of Prussia

A nice place to stay in Beijing

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: contemporary style and very well done...
Cons: The breakfast is largely buffet, which is the largest I have ever seen. But, it is a bit too much if simply wants a small breakfast, and is expensive.
Location: Peking University
It is located next to Peking University and next to some very accessible streets (if this is possible in Beijing). I found the hotel well kept and the staff very helpful and friendly. I enjoyed staying there very much and made my stay in Beijing very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Charlie from New York, USA

Non-smoking policy

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: Location and spacous room
Cons: Enforcing non-smoking rules so that guests in non-smoking rooms could be truely non-smoking. Also make the hotel restaurant non-smoking too.
Location: Summer Palace is nearby via #4 subway.
The hotel staff is afraid of enforcing non-smoking policy. Consequently, some guests violate the non-smoking rule and force other non-smokers to inhale smokes. The hotel also strangely provides ash tray in non-smoking rooms, a total contraditory message to guests in non-smoking rooms. The hotel is very conveniently located near the #4 subway station "Peking U East Gate", and the room charge is not cheap when comparing with USA standard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel at Beijing University

Posted Oct 1, 2013
very nice place to stay. comfortable and delicious breakfast. Beautiful pool too. But, staff speaks very little English which makes it challenging at times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Cons: Help travelers by holding luggage for part of the day.
I needed to go to another location on the day that I checked out (checkout at noon), and I asked the hotel if they could hold my luggage till the 3-4 in the afternoon but they refused. This was an inconvenience. I had to haul my suitcases around the whole day. You would think that a hotel of this caliber could have made some accommodations.