Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Convenient Location

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Location: Tienanmen Square, Forbidden City. Close to subway Line 1 which leads to any part of the city.
Walking distance to Tienanmen Square, Forbidden City.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meow Meow from San Francisco, CA, USA

Decent Hotel Close to Everything

Posted Oct 9, 2012
Pros: Location - at the heart of the the city
Cons: Hotel room lacks repairs - bath tub is leaking water
Location: Situated at the center of the city - close to shopping and major attractions
It is a decent hotel in great location. The hotel room, especially the bathroom need major overhaul. The bath tub is leaking water - the hotel did fix the leak after few nights we were there. I was able to pickup free Wi-Fi signal in the hotel room even though Wi-Fi is only available in the hotel lobby. Our room is facing the courtyard resturant, may be this is the reason why. Overall, if you don't mind a little run down room, this is a good hotel to stay in Beijing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Yorktown, VA

Convenient for Wangfujing shopping

Posted Jul 31, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: hard bed, noise
Location: very convenient for Wangfujing shopping street
Hotel is very conveniently located right at the south end of Wangfujing shopping street. Room was clean but the bed was hard, more like a Chinese business hotel than a tourist one. Hotel has a central atrium so noise from below carries up to the higher floors, especially for rooms that face right onto it. Not good if you want to take a nap during the day but actually it was not a problem at night. Some annoying music on and off during the day. Some advertised hotel features were not available during my stay. Front desk staff had passable English but calling other numbers such as housekeeping was hit and miss. Beware the taxi drivers lurking outside the hotel, they all wanted to go for fixed fee at a much higher rate than the actual metered fare. Hail a cab from down the block on the main street or ask the doorman to get one for you. Allow plenty of time during busy periods as it can take a while to get one.
2 out of 5
by Graham from London, UK

Great location but the service is awful.

Posted Jun 17, 2012
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: The service
This hotel was very disappointing. The staff's grasp of English was barely adequate (in a country where all university student learn English), and their understanding of what is expected of a modern hotel almost non-existent. The physical aspects of the hotel were adequate if you exclude the toilet flush held together by a paperclip. The beds were ROCK hard. Compared to the hostels I stayed in in Shanghai and Xian this hotel was VERY expensive and offered inadequate services. HOWEVER, the location is excellent (but don't believe Expedia's map link - it is hopelessly wrong) right by the main shopping area and well placed for the metro.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, but only passable rooms/service.

Posted Jun 13, 2012
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: Quality of the room was only so-so.
Location: Excellent!
The location was excellent! However, the overall quality of the rooms and service was only adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jose from Cascais

Well located, comfortable and clean

Posted Apr 11, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Internet Connection
Location: Good
Good location. Spacious and comfortable. Staff should know English a little better as communication sometimes is difficult, especially in the F&B areas. Bed a bit too hard but guess this is like a Chinese standard. Internet connection is a joke. Can´t access Google or Facebook. Not suitable for business travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kimmie from Sunnyvale, California USA

Wonderful Location, Great Value!

Posted Mar 11, 2011
I stayed at the North Garden Hotel for five nights in February. I highly recommend this Chinese hotel. This hotel is in an excellent location, off the Wangfujing, behind the large Wangfujing Bookstore and next to the Oriental Plaza Mall. The hotel is ideally located near alot of shops and restaurants. There are alot of great food courts in the area with delicious and cheap food(one on the lower level of the Oriental Plaza Mall and there's another one below the McDonald's across the street from the hotel). There is a subway station minutes away from the hotel (in the lower level of the Mall). You can walk to Tianneman Square in about 10 to 15 minutes or it's one subway stop away. The room is clean and comfortable. The bed is firm but that's the way I like it. The bathroom was nice with lots of hot water and good water pressure. The only thing about this hotel that surprised me is that there were no toiletries. They did provide a bar of soap but if you want toiletries you have to purchase a toiletries pack (toothbrush/paste, shampoo/conditioner, comb, face towel etc) for about 30 RMB. Otherwise, I had a great stay, great location, great price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 10, 2009
The hotel is large and modern with good quality facilities and helpful staff. It is situated about a 100 metres from the most important shopping street in Beijing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, Missouri

A very nice hotel with an excellent location

Posted Aug 5, 2009
I found this hotel to be very nice. The location is great, the room was nice, and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. While most of the staff understood some English, it was sometimes difficult to communicate. Despite this, they did everything possible to help us get around and make our stay enjoyable. There is a travel desk where tours can be booked. We took two tours booked through the hotel and had a good time. The breakfast buffet is fairly expensive and western travelers should not expect a western style breakfast. However, the interior courtyard area where breakfast is served is very pretty. I would definately stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, but currently Bangkok

decent hotel in good location

Posted Apr 24, 2008
for its price, this hotel was very good. it's centrally located right off the main shopping street, wanfujing, and two minutes walking from the subway stop. the room and bathroom was nothing fancy, but adequate and clean. the gym and spa are less than desirable, but those can be overlooked. there are some english-speaking staff, so communication was not really an issue. for the price that i paid (about US$106/night), i would stay here again.