Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Nice Hotel close to metro and forbidden city

Posted May 17, 2016
The hotel was under renovation when we were there; however, it is still my favorite 5 Star hotel on our China vacation.The Peninsula Beijing was a nice place to return to after touring the city. The bed was comfortable and they provided everything we needed. They even provided a few extras. It was no problem to mail my Mother's Day card to the United States. It's close to the metro/subway and within walking distance of the forbidden city and other tourist sites and of course taxis and cars are easy to get. The staff is friendly, fluent in English, and always professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2015
There was lobby construction during our stay. Hence, a cramped feeling. But it's understandable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seoul

Nice hotel but very few conveniences

Posted Jul 9, 2015
This is a high end luxury hotel with tons of high end stores in the lobbies. However, good luck trying to find a snack at midnight or a bar buzzing with nightlife. It was dead after dark location is good and cost was not too bad for a 4 or 5 star in downtown Beijing. I would not stay here again if I had the choice of another hotel with some more character and liveliness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Upscale hotel at affordable price

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Close to everything; Very comfortable; Upscale without a huge price tag.
Location: Forbidden City, etc. are all close walk
Very nice hotel with great service - cheaper than the other high-end hotels around - and close to everything - walkable to Forbidden City, Parks, etc. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oundle ,UK

Close to centre and almost distance to Tiannamen S

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Position cleanliness
Cons: Prices in the bar
Location: Forbidden City
Staff very helpful and friendly It's a good place to stay - the city is so big you have to travel to most things
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
it's ok overall but the shower head need to be changed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Luxurious and stylish hotel in central Beijing

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The room. It was well equipped with a TV and other equipment and the bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious and well appointed.
Cons: Nothing springs to mine.
I had a very enjoyable stay at the Peninsula. The room was spacious and comfortable. The swimming pool, gym and other facilities were in excellent condition. Throughout my stay, the staff were polite and helpful. The location was also good with a metro stop only 5 minutes walk away and wangfujing (the food market) also close by. I would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Hotel's in a great location. Very clean, great amenities. High end shops inside the hotel. Helpful & friendly staffs. The only complain I have is there are no chairs in the lobby but otherwise I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york city

Very expensive posh choice in a great location

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: The service was exceptional. You call for something and it was there almost before you put the phone down. Great location.
Cons: The internet was awful could hardly get a connection and very slow. Made it hard to stay in touch with the office.
Location: Tiananmen square is a short walk. The night market was two blocks away. Every store in the world was within in a few blocks. The metro was near too.
I was here with my wife and two teenagers. We had two rooms. The hotel seemed dated it could use a refresh they had an old fax machine in the room. It was like a glamorous woman just past her prime. Some of the luxurious touches like fitted leather stationary trays with staplers and tape made it seem regal. We asked for a no smoking room but it still smelled of smoke. The room rate was modest and better than many of the other similar hotels however the other cost such as laundry, meals and bar tab were extreme. A single meal without drinks was more than the room rate for one night. The service was fit for an emperor. The location was perfect for getting around town and near all sorts of things. Internet connection was awful. The staff was very helpful. The front desk staff spoke perfect English, the door staff could use a few more English lesions. The concierges were inconsistent some helpful some not so much. It felt like we were treated differently depending on how we were dressed. The hotel's arcade included the finest shops from France and England my teenagers were thrilled by the fancy shops. Cars worth hundreds of thousands crowed the driveway. It could all be very posh. The lobby was always filled with fashionable people from around the world.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Stay at he Peninsula

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Location, bedding
Cons: Mini bar fridge temperature
Location: Forbidden City, shopping
Nice location older established hotel. Only issue is that the beverages in the mini bar are very warm. Needed to request ice and put it in sink to chill beverages. Not to close to any convenience stores.