Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Shane from Portland OR

Enjoyed the hotel and my stay

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was very old and nostalgic and I loved that; others may not like it as much. Area was great - central Beijing, right next to Tiananmen. Hotel staff was super helpful and friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shanghai, China

Travelers Beware! Do not stay here!

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: This should never be a recommended hotel on Expedia. The pictures are out dated and the amenities are incorrect.
Location: The location of this hotel is incorrect from the map above. It is on a back alley that is not friendly to tourists.
Easily the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my life and throughout my months of being in China. They advertise breakfast and free wifi? They have neither of these things. coffee maker? none. Free toiletries in the "luxury honeymoon suite"? More like half used bottles of shampoo and pellets of soap. The towels were mismatched and ragged with other hotel's embroidered logos on them! I arrived to a hotel in disarray and was FILTHY. Does not look anything like the advertised pictures. My room had no windows in it (unless you count the giant hole in the bathroom ceiling that was open to the outdoors). There were used tissues on the desk and trash in the bins in the room. The bathroom was disgusting and the shower was covered in mold (did I mention NO shower drain?). Under no circumstances would i recommend this to any traveler, no matter how "rugged" or "basic" your travel hotel requirements are. It became very clear during my stay that this in fact a family home that simply has a few rooms for rent. I was the only guest during my stay (NOW i know why!). This hotel is located on a back alley (not where the above map suggests the location is) and is not in a tourist friendly place. I did not feel safe taking my shoes off in the hotel room due to the bathroom. The sink faucet was broken and required you to pry the handle to turn on the sink. I wish there was a way for me to upload pictures of what this hotel REALLY looks like now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Tiananmen Best Year Courtyard Hotel is nice

Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
The entrance to the hotel was on a real backyard but inside it was really cosy and the rooms were very nice and had a personal style. The beds were quite soft.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sebastian from Germany

Location, Location

Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is really ok. Of course, what you pay for is 70% for the location. Speaking of location as of April 2015 the location given in Google Maps and thus hotels.com is quite wrong. Obviously it is NOT behind Tiananmen Gate.... Search Tiananmen East station, from there go north on Nachizi Street (sometimes called South Chizi Street), and walk straight for some time until you can turn right into Denglongku Hutong/Pudusi Front Alley (that is when on the left in your walking direction on Nachizi you see the JingDu Hostel) It is really easy, and the courtyard of this hotel is quite cosy. So it should be worth it :) Also, nice staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

汚いです

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
立地はよいが、胡同の奥で見つけられない。中国語の話せない人はやめた方がいいです。 部屋が全く清掃されておらず、髪の毛、埃そのままです。ホテルの体をなしてないです。四合院の良さもないです。 この値段を出すのは馬鹿らしいですよ。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Volker from Ratingen

verkehrsgünstige Lage

Posted Dec 27, 2014 on Hotels
verkehrsgünstige Lage nur wenige 100 m von Tiananmen Platz und Verbotene Stadt entfernt. Achtung: die Positionsangabe in hotels.com ist nicht korrekt, der Hutong, in dem das Hotel liegt, ist in Wirklichkeit etwas weiter östlich (Denglong Ku Hutong ist in einer kleinen Seitenstraße, die östlich abgeht von der South Chizi St - South Chizi St ist jene Straße, die am Ostrand der Verbotenen Stadt entlang führt). Hotelzimmer sind angeordnet um ein verglastes, überdachtes Atrium. Nettes, zuvorkommendes, englischsprachiges Personal.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Stephen from Singapore

Does not fall below expectation

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels
Considering the proximity of the hotel to Tian An Men and the Forbidden City, this hotel is OK if you don't mind the somewhat spartan room.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Renan from Costa Rica

No for westerners

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels
No for westerners. This would be OK for internal chinese tourists but no for us. Strong odor coming from the bath drainage, believe me you don't want to be there. The location was OK to visit Forbidden City but it was really overpriced for the quality of this hotel. I will never go back and don't recommend this "Hotel". If you have booked and read this, you must change the plan now, otherwise will be too late.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

KEIN Geheimtipp

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: das Personal
Cons: neue Bäder
Location: Verbotene Stadt; Tianamenplatz; Metro; Einkaufsstraße fußläufig zu erreichen,
versteckt liegendes, ruhiges Hotel in Nähe der Verbotenen Stadt. Eingang zugestellt. Empfang war herzlich, Personal bemüht. Das eigentlich gebuchte Zimmer war mit Himmelbett und Riesenschreibtisch zugestellt, kein Tageslicht. Mini-Bad war mit Duscharmatur ausgestattet, jedoch beim Duschvorgang wurde nicht nur das Bad (WC, Waschbecken) sondern durch die verschlossene Türe auch der Fußboden des Zimmers nass. Der Waschbeckenunterschrank war schimmlig und feucht. Als wir am nächsten Morgen um ein größeres Zimmer baten, wurde uns im 2. Stockwerk ein größeres Zimmer gezeigt. Dieser Raum war relativ groß, das Bett war gemütlich, Matratze sauber, Tageslicht vorhanden, die Vorhänge defekt. Der eigentlich Schock war jedoch das Bad. Die Dusche war eine schimmlige, bereits schwarze Holzdusche mit Glastür. Lüftung des Bades war nur durch die offene Badtür möglich. Frühstück gab es keines, die Nähe zur Verbotenen Stadt und die vielen Stände und kleinen Essenstores der Umgebung ließen darüber hinweg sehen. Der eigentlich gemütliche Innenhof wurde von uns aus Zeitgründen nicht genutzt. Das Personal hat uns am Abreisetag einen Taxifahrer zum Flughafen besorgt und war auch ansonsten herzlich und freundlich. Insgesamt können wir diese Unterkunft nicht weiter empfehlen.