Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amman, Jordan

Nice little central hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Location and rooms
Cons: free parking and better noise insolation
Location: The location is great. it is off Hamra street where is there is good shopping and great eats.
Nice hotel with friendly staff, big rooms, and excellent condition. The location is central in Das Beirut / Hamra street. Good value for the money. There is a parking fee in hotels own parking lot. It has a gym but no no swimming pool. It is slightly noisy from the adjacent streets. However, all in all, it is a nice and pleasant hotel and good value for the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your positive comments and highly appreciated 4-star rating. Your valuable feedback is important to us as and we are glad to know that our hotel and team members were up to your expectations, and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Kindest regards from the whole team and we would be delighted to welcome you again sometimes in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice location, walking distance from Hamra st

Posted Aug 19, 2017
This 2nd time I stayed in coral El hamra, staff very friendly and helfull.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Fatima Hijazi, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the time to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. Your valuable feedback is important to us as we constantly strive to improve our services and product. Your satisfaction is our goal and we would be glad to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Thank you again and kind regards from the whole team.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beirut

50 Euros Stolen, Terrible Clearning

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer satisfaction Cleanliness
We were staying in the hotel for 11 nights in a Business Suite. The guy at the reception gave us a free upgrade to an Executive Suite. Few days before we leave, we went out for 2 hours and asked for room service, only come back to find that 50 Euros were stolen from my Wife's purse, along with a plastic box used for earrings. The security officer's response was that they are not responsible about anything that is not put in the Safe, and that they never had such an incident before. I wasn't expecting to get the 50 Euros back, but a different response from him would have been appreciated. Lastly, cleanliness. On some days, it took them around 6 hours to clean our room. Most of the time, coffee cups were not removed from the bedroom. Once I went out at 6PM, there was food leftover from the room facing us next to their door. I came back at 11:30PM to find out that food was still there. On a postive note, the location is great and you can usually find a parking spot in the streets around the hotel, which is rare in Hamra, and the staff in the reception are nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, which I read with greatest concerns, since the comfort, safety, and security of all our guests are our priorities. I am extending my sincere apologies because there is no justification for having failed your expectations from us. Please be reassured that I am personally investigating the matters of your recent experience and that I have certainly addressed each of the department managers for corrective measures and training sessions. Once again, we are truly sorry for having caused a negative impression; yet we would not only be grateful but also honored to have you return to our hotel sometimes in the future. Sincerely and with kindest regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Everything was great. the bill boy hussein went above and beyond with the service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback that is important to us. We look forward to welcome you again in the future. Kindest regards from the whole team.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Ok hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017
They charge more than the total price on expedia so i pay taxes twice.and they won't give me the 14% discount of expedia
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time you have taken for today's personal conversation. We would be more than glad to complete our investigations once we received the discussed documentations, and please be reassured of our full commitment to provide you and all our guests with the utmost attention and services. Thank you again for your feedback that is important to us. Kindest regards and we hope to have you return to our hotel in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not helpful staff

Posted Jul 15, 2017
My resevation was confirmed online then flight to Beirut airport and got to Coral by a taxi to find my resevation is cancelled and the reason that is full....this put me in trouples...its my first time to visit Lebanon....terrible... Not helpful staff...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you 'Traveler' for sharing your experience with us. We are awfully sorry for the inconvenience you had faced; unfortunately, it seems you had overlooked the status of your reservation that stated 'non-guaranteed'. Therefore we would be more than glad if you would choose the option 'guaranteed reservation' for future bookings, and we would be glad to have you return to our hotel sometimes in the future. Kindest regards from the whole team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Damascus

could be improved

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: spacious room , location
Cons: points above
Location: nice
The towels are located on the top of the toilet far from the shower. The air refresher or the detergent used have a very strong unpleasant scent,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback that is very important to us as we are constantly striving to improve our services. Please be assured that we addressed all issues in your review, including the detergent scent. We would be honored to have you return to our hotel in the future and would be glad to welcome you again. Sincere regards from the whole team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall good

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Good hotel , same like pictures but bAlcony view is not nice. Room is clean , well equiped , vallet parking & wifi .. Only problem faced was then delivery boy was not allowed to go to the rooms nor the hotel staff will pick the food for you due to Hotel policy !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Fatima Hijazi, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time to share your recent experience with Coral Beirut AL Hamra Hotel. Your valuable feedback is important to us as we work hard to be better each day. Please be informed that delivery men are not allowed to go up to the rooms for the safety of our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we wish to welcome you again soon. Warm greetings from the whole team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from zada

Nice hotel close to the downtown and business cent

Posted May 29, 2017
It was a very good staying in the hotel and very comfortable and clean
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear 'Traveler' Thank you very much for sharing your 4* rating with us and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We look forward to welcome you again soon. Kindest regards from the whole team.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad experience

Posted May 23, 2017
Very executive in compare to other hotels in Hamra, I stayed one week & paid 68$ per night without breakfast while other better hotels in the same area have lower than 55$ per night with good breakfast, they didn't comply at all with their offers in Expedia. No free parking and very old furniture. I wanted to cancel my reservation at the same day and pay for one night and they said "it's non refundable reservation and I have no choice" Once I finished my days with them, I moved to another better hotel in Hamra with 54 $ per night and even my friends told me it's much better than the old one. I don't recommend it at all
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear 'Traveler' We appreciate your feedback and always welcoming constructive criticism that helps us to improve our services. Please be reassured that the time we have taken to respond to you was utilized for thorough investigations, which is hard to do without a name or reservation number. Nevertheless, we are truly sorry for any inconvenience that might have been caused by the hotel or hotel personnel, while all terms & conditions are clearly stated during the booking and reservation process. We do extend our sincere apology and would be honored to have you return to our hotel in the future, which would be also a great opportunity for some clarifications and getting it right. Thankfully and with kindest regards from the whole team.