Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful little jewel in Beja.

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Again, with not much time to explore Beja, we found the town charming and authentic. Mostly spent time looking at the varied churches.
This hotel is an architectural gem. The common spaces are vast, perfect for a function or wedding, with many smaller rooms for reading, resting, or sipping a drink. Though we did not have time to enjoy the outdoor spaces, they look equally well appointed, including a pool. The building and all of its amenities, and the very warm and competent staff, made for a lovely stay. We only wish we had been able to spend another night or two.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by marco.madaleno@pestana.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit to Alentejo, Portugal. Best regards Marco Madaleno | Unit Supervisor
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and quiet hotel.

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice pousada and with good location. Food was fine and good parking in courtyard. Beds were VERY hard and uncomfortable as always in Spain and Portugal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit to Alentejo, Portugal. Best regards Marco Madaleno | Unit Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Comfertable historic hotel in centre od town

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: The historic nature of the building, the tasteful and comfortable way it has been adapted and modernised for use as a hotel, and the spacious grounds
The hotel was fine but Beja itself did not have much to offer. Therefore would not recommend it for more than a one night stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2016 by marco.madaleno@pestana.com, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Martin, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit to Alentejo, Portugal. Best regards Marco Madaleno | Unit Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

Lovely oasis in the heat

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Delighted to find a rather extravagant, cool and welcoming accommodation after a hot walk up the hill, in a place, where we were not sure quite what to expect - a big relief. The pool was a welcome bonus and very much appreciated. The staff were welcoming and helpful. A special thank you to the very kind gentleman on night duty at reception who helped me out when I ran into a bit of trouble with a 'lost' husband!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by marco.madaleno@pestana.com, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Shauna, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit to Alentejo, Portugal. Best regards Marco Madaleno | Unit Supervisor
5 out of 5
by Joanne from Albox

Better value than the Paradors

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Luxury at an affordable price. Better value than the Paradors. Super friendly staff. Beautiful building. Free parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Joanne, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location, decoration and rooms. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit to Alentejo, Portugal. Best regards Marco Madaleno | Unit Supervisor
5 out of 5
by Luis

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Estimado Sr.º Luis, Desde já agradecemos o tempo dispensado na partilha dos seus comentários. É com enorme prazer que percebemos o seu grau de satisfação com a generalidade dos nossos serviços Esperamos poder recebê-lo novamente num futuro próximo nesta ou outra Pousada de Portugal. Atentamente, Marco Madaleno | Supervisor de Unidade
5 out of 5
by Brian from Bethany, Ontario, Canada

Great choice.

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
Great reception service, very helpful. Amazing Posada, beautiful breakfast buffet. Well located, lots to experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Brian, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our location and us breakfast service. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Beja in your next visit to Alentejo, Portugal. Best regards Marco Madaleno | Unit Supervisor
5 out of 5
by pierre from Faro

A 24 hour escape in Beja

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
A very warm yet professional reception. The hotel is very grand of course, and it is a pleasure just to roam the various hallways and public rooms. A very good breakfast as well. The rooms are a bit Spartan but you have to remember that it was a monastery. Wish I were there in the warmer months to enjoy the beautiful swimming pool as well. All in all, a very enjoyable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2015 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Pierre, Thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review in our page. They are words such as yours that actually encourage us and motivate us to continue and improve our work. TripAdvisor is nowadays a powerful tool to promote places and destinations. Share your experience with other travelers. Please use above link, and then select the phrase “Write a review”. http://www.tripadvisor.com.br/Hotel_Review-g189102-d239324-Reviews-Pousada_de_Beja_Sao_Francisco-Beja_Beja_District_Alentejo.html Your sincerely, Fernando Coelho Manager
3 out of 5
by Kevin from Leeds

Big hotel sounds like a Parador but isn't.

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
we stayed at this hotel thinking it would be on a par with the Spanish Paradores, the rest may be but this one isn't. The building is very big. The public rooms are massive, so big that you feel a little overwhelmed by the space. Our room was quite pokey but adequate. We made the mistake of eating in the hotel. The food was really poor and not cheap. The waiter said that the food was typical of the region - if that's true I'd take a sandwich. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful. There is a bar but to get the barman you have to call him on a phone and wait for him to arrive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2015 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review. We apologize to have not reached your expectations. In fact, the opinions and comments of our guests and customers it's the best way to help us to try to improve every day to meet the expectations of those who have the privilege of receiving the Pousada Convento de Beja | Historic Hotel. Once again we would like to thank you for supporting us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Fernando Coelho, Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Martha M.

Beautiful Historic Building

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Orbitz
This former convent is saturated with history and beautifully restored so that it is perfect for a modern traveller who loves the old but likes the conveniences and luxury of 21st century life. We slept in a cell with a gorgeous bath attached and outside the spacious old hallways of the comvent. Excellent breakfast in the vaulted ceilinged dining room.