Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice getaway

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Orbitz
The staff was very helpful and friendly, they made our stay there feel like home. We enjoyed all the food and there was plenty of food. I will go back again for sure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by NICHOLAS RALPH from Johannesburg

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
The location is amazing. However, we found the place a bit tired and need of a makeover. It's not a suitable venue for couples...it's very family friendly.
4 out of 5
by HERVE from Johannesburg

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic buffets with ever changing dishes
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Saw 4 of big 5 in one outing!

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay, lots of animals, nice pool area and bar! Would recommend!
4 out of 5
by Garth from Pretoria

Mabula

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Mabula was awesome. Especially Juan, our game ranger. Staff at reception were average though.
5 out of 5
by Justin from Johannesburg

Weekend at Mabula

Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
A great stay! Reception was very helpful, our game ranger was great. Sundowners in the bush was a nice touch as well. Food is good, but could be a little better
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pretoria

Delightful Game Lodge

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: The simple but tasteful room Food was very good Lovely big swimming pool
Cons: There are not nearly enough sun loungers by the pool
Location: Excellent location just 2hrs from Pretoria.Easy driving
We booked for just 1 night and arrived mid morning . We were told we were booked into the tented accommodation and the lodge was fully booked This was not an option for us and we had proof of our booking for the lodge so after some waiting a room was found. The reception manager was at all times polite and friendly and managed to resolve the situation Everything about the stay was very good the room was lovely, the game drives excellent we watched elephants playing in the water. The food was very good we enjoyed the Indian corner Would highly recommend the lodge
4 out of 5
by Somewhat dissapointed from Pretoria

Personnel

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels
The bathroom floor was dissapointingly dirty. The king size bed was great and very comfy. The food was unfortuntely limited in choice and mostly tasteless and red meat at dinner to tough to eat. The restaurant staff unfortunately disorganised at breakfast and unable to cope with demand of many guests all returning at once after the morning game drive. At the rate you are paying one would expect better quality of the food The staff at reception was extremely efficient and very friendly and made a huge impression. The game ranger "Tallon " was the highlight of our visit. He is very well informed on the wildlife in the reserve as well as the plants and trees. He made the game drives great fun with his interactive way of transferring his knowledge to guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vabhatia from New Delhi

Nice hotel + nice game safaris

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: Comfortable stay and very hospitable staff.
Cons: Airport transfer rates were too much.They should provide shuttle transfers at nominal rates whenever possible.
Location: Go for quad bike safaris.
Stayed here for only 1 night. Should have stayed longer. At least 2 nights recommended. Safaris were great. Driver who took for safaris was also super. Made all the efforts to help us watch big 5 as close as possible. However they don't provide the best rates for airport transfers at first go. You have to bargain with them.