Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little Hostel-like.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Amenities were not overwhelming and the street noise was sometimes an issue, but it was comfortable enough and priced about right. The staff was very helpful but cleanliness was an issue.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Friendly staff, convenient location, average hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and the location was good - bars and restaurants all around us and close to the Botanic train station.
Cons: The breakfast was below average, there were only two usable plug points in the room, the TV was tiny, the bedroom window overlooked the neighbours
Location: Great cosmopolitan feel to the area. Bars, restaurants, take away food, convenience stores and very close to the university and botanic gardens
We arrived in Belfast on 27th June and stayed until 3rd July. Belfast is an amazing place - really interesting, lots to do and very friendly. The Titanic Exhibition was a particular highlight but all the other trips and tours we did were well worth it. The Giants Causeway is more commercialised than I expected but the tour of the north coast is to be recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Convienient position to bars Just a 5 pound cab ri

Posted May 18, 2016
Great Close to everything Just 5 pound can ride to cathedral bar district
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London, ON

Great Hotel with a Wonderful Staff

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Great food, helpful staff, fun location.
Cons: It could get a little loud at night, so that might be a problem for lighter sleepers.
Location: Across the street from a Starbucks! Short walk to the city centre, and the sightseeing tours can be picked up at the nearby University.
My fiancé and I have a wonderful time staying the Madison's Hotel this past week. The staff was friendly and very helpful and the cleanliness was superb. It's a bit of a walk from the city centre, but being close to the University gives the area a great vibe. The breakfasts, which were delicious, were included with the room price. Overall it was a very pleasant experience. Thanks!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Hotel is not "boutique". Night porter was incredibly rude and obnoxious, loud, live music until 3am on a Tuesday night, even though we were 2 floors up. Staff don't care, response was "it says on our website that they play loud music". Room shabby and shower curtain was mouldy. Not worth the cost and don't stay here if you actually want some sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, Canada

Central to train station

Posted Aug 17, 2015
This hotel is older not much that can be done to upgrade that. No A/C, no hair conditioner, beds are very small singles and cannot accommodate more than two per room. Tv channel selection adequate, cookies by the coffee/tea center nice touch. Front staff very helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel well located in central Belfast

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Would recommend room at the back side of the hotel, not on the front, is quite noisy well past 3 am
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, England

Good Hotel with very helpful and courteous staff

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: decor modern and clean, the staff friendly and extremely helpful. It was good value for money. ordering hot breakfast not buffet style a definite pro
Location: Plenty to see and do within short distance. Titanic and Giants causeway not to be missed. Beware car park charges. We were charged £20.50 in centre
We booked this hotel for a short mother and daughter break to the emerald isle and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very clean and spacious and for once provided a 'real' hairdryer not one of the styles that you have to keep your finger on all the time and be a contortionist to reach the back of your head with. The view from our window left a lot to be desired but we didn't book it for the view! Breakfasts were included and substantial. We enjoyed a typical bar meal one night. The £3 cocktails until 10pm were a pleasant bonus and we took advantage of them to enhance our stay! Close to the centre and most visitor attractions. Other reviewers have complained about the night club and people smoking outside and creating a noise. To those people I would suggest that they read the information on the hotel before booking it. We were not staying when the night club was open but if we had been I would've brought ear plugs so that I wasn't unnecessarily disturbed. As for noisy smokers outside, the law being what it is that is a problem where ever you go these days and was not excessive. Yes there were a few persons the worse for wear who did make a bit of noise, but no more than any other hotel in the world that has an open to the public bar. If you go looking for something to complain about you are almost guaranteed to find something. If something is very clearly wrong then complain to the people who can do something about it rather than complain on a website about things
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Kelowna

Hotel is above a very loud bar/nightclub

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Average size room. Nice big king size bed. But what you don't realise before it's too late is this hotel is right above a very loud busy bar on week nights and a nightclub on weekends. We couldn't fall asleep till after1am due to the ridiculously loud music from downstairs. This was on a bar night. I can imagine it would be even worse when the nightclub is open. We wouldn't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Good location

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Location, bar
Cons: Bathroom, coffee supply
Location: Take your pick, great location. Loads of bars, right next to the University. Good transport links, busy area but no problems with noise.
Great location near to good bars and restaurants - of every conceivable nationality. Room could do with a makeover. The TV is specially designed to show thumbnails and microfiche. Bathroom needing some work done. Great bar downstairs, good food both at night (we arrived late) and in the morning. Coffee refill provided reluctantly (come on guys, it was only standard filter stuff).